Metal detectors.

Hibs Soldier

So I'm either going through a midlife crisis or just bored with walking on its own to keep me fit. Was looking at metal detectors and there's many options out there. My heeds all over the place with it. Any recommendations here?

Can't give you recommendations but my mates laddie does the detecting and he has found some decent artefacts.

Look at what this lad found. Penicuick I think it was....

Can't give you recommendations but my mates laddie does the detecting and he has found some decent artefacts.

Look at what this lad found. Penicuick I think it was....

That's some find that. Mental it was dismissed at first.

There's an auld standing stone at Auchendinny. I would think pre Christian folk would have gathered there.

I used to known a geezer who was heavily into Pitchish Culture. He told me that most very old churches were at Pagan/Celtic worship sites as it was easier to get folk to attend.

I've got a couple of metal detectors in the hut.My mum must have picked them up at an auction or something.I don't know if they work.They were a couple of things I was always going to get round to trying out but never did.If I get them working you can have one @Hibs Soldier.

Oh man that would be fantastic 😁. Just DM me if you've had any luck.

You might be surprised at the Laws and stuff around metal detecting.

Assume all land is private and you need the landowners permission to go detecting. You can assume no-one owns the beach - almost!

Decide how much you're willing to spend on a detector then add about £50 to £100 on top of that for other stuff.

I spent £200 on a second hand Minelab Vanquish 440 (now is a good time to buy as there are a lot of unwanted Christmas presents around), £50 or so for a pointer, £20 odd for a spade plus a finds bag and other sundries!

Your most important accessory is a car 😆

The "scene" is full of likeable nerds, really serious detectorists, fair weather sorts and various others with nothing better to do 😆

There are two clubs in Scotland, one in the west and one in the east. The Scottish Detector Club which I'm a member of, very cheap, sort of based around Edinburgh. (Both are affiliated to the UK national thing the NCMD.) They organise digs on farms and stuff. There are a fair number of Facebook groups organise digs as well and charge £10-£20 for a day dig. Some put the money to charity.

You're supposed to have insurance in place and this is basically included in the SDC/NCMD membership.

I have a friend who I found all the kit for who no longer seems interested I could ask him if he's selling.

Any questions just ask.

Wow that's some list to go through before you even leave the hoose.

See if yous are out in a group. If a decent find was made is it an individual find or does it become a group find?

Assume all land is private and you need the landowners permission to go detecting. You can assume no-one owns the beach - almost!

Decide how much you're willing to spend on a detector then add about £50 to £100 on top of that for other stuff.

I spent £200 on a second hand Minelab Vanquish 440 (now is a good time to buy as there are a lot of unwanted Christmas presents around), £50 or so for a pointer, £20 odd for a spade plus a finds bag and other sundries!

The "scene" is full of likeable nerds, really serious detectorists, fair weather sorts and various others with nothing better to do 😆

There are two clubs in Scotland, one in the west and one in the east. The Scottish Detector Club which I'm a member of, very cheap, sort of based around Edinburgh. (Both are affiliated to the UK national thing the NCMD.) They organise digs on farms and stuff. There are a fair number of Facebook groups organise digs as well and charge £10-£20 for a day dig. Some put the money to charity.

You're supposed to have insurance in place and this is basically included in the SDC/NCMD membership.

I have a friend who I found all the kit for who no longer seems interested I could ask him if he's selling.

Any questions just ask.
The crown “owns” the beach and so far out, maybe 20m 🤷‍♂️

Any questions just ask.

I gathered there would be laws. Get caught and possibly a fine.

That minelab vanquish 440 is some high end bit of kit.

Pointer? I've got a wee garden spade and rucksack for starters anyway.

Thanks for the info dude much appreciated.

Any questions just ask.
What find has gave you the biggest source of joy?

The first find of anything must be up there.

Wow that's some list to go through before you even leave the hoose.

See if yous are out in a group. If a decent find was made is it an individual find or does it become a group find?
Rules are different in England and Scotland.

Here it's finders, keepers sort of. You're supposed to enter a contract with the landowner and between you, you decide. Rule of thumb is 50/50 and although the landowners might be interested in what's been found won't be that interested financially in most finds, rubbish 😆.

IF you're lucky enough (and there's a lot of lucky about) to find anything of historical interest (and TT are interested in loads of stuff) then you must register the item with the Treasure Trove (that's TT). If they decide its of such historical interest they're keeping it for the nation then an independent panel decide its value which you then receive. If they don't want it you get whatever it is back. This can take years! Although they are getting better.

I gathered there would be laws. Get caught and possibly a fine.
Nighthawks are the illegal detector *&*^. They range from innocent types in parks who might get a waggling finger to the real baddies who go stealing from scheduled monuments or places of scientific interest. There's a couple of them just been locked up for 5 years!
That minelab vanquish 440 is some high end bit of kit.
Low end compared to others, £1,000+, but recognised, with the 340 and 540 as a decent starter.
Pointer? I've got a wee garden spade and rucksack for starters anyway.
The stick thing (440) you associate with detecting only does so much. After it finds something to track it down more easily you use a pointer. If you found one on the street you might think it's a vibrator 😆
Thanks for the info dude much appreciated.
You're welcome.

What find has gave you the biggest source of joy?

The first find of anything must be up there.
I have found absolutely nothing of interest 😆 but I haven't actually been out that much.

My first find was a hinge. It was a big one mind 😆

I don't have a car so it's Porty or down the east coast mostly.

Nighthawks are the illegal detector *&*^. They range from innocent types in parks who might get a waggling finger to the real baddies who go stealing from scheduled monuments or places of scientific interest. There's a couple of them just been locked up for 5 years!

Low end compared to others, £1,000+, but recognised, with the 340 and 540 as a decent starter.

The stick thing (440) you associate with detecting only does so much. After it finds something to track it down more easily you use a pointer. If you found one on the street you might think it's a vibrator 😆

You're welcome.

5 years waow that's mental.

Jeez I thought that would be high end cos ones I seen were £220 and thought that was top of the line.

5 years waow that's mental.

Jeez I thought that would be high end cos ones I seen were £220 and thought that was top of the line.
Their find was about £3m worth coins, treasure etc (viking i think) and instead of declaring they kept it to themselves, ie broke the law down south. If same guys, they would’ve got about £500k each if Owned up. Most coins are still unaccounted for

GLOVES! You need gloves, gardening gloves will do.

You never know what might be in the ground. Stuff like glass or syringes on the beach and in fields if the farmer isn't spreading it the animals will 😆

GLOVES! You need gloves, gardening gloves will do.

You never know what might be in the ground. Stuff like glass or syringes on the beach and in fields if the farmer isn't spreading it the animals will 😆

Aye never thought of syringes laying about. Good call was gonna use the blue ones that docs use but garden ones with the tough palm protection will be better. Wife's got a few pairs so I'll nick hers.

Did anyone follow the Detectorists? I didn't see the whole series but I saw the special about the Holy Grail.Thought it was very funny.

Just been reading this the now. Look at what was found.......

Just been reading this the now. Look at what was found.....

The back story to how these were found is in a metal detecting way a bit funny, a very big bit serious and a fair bit of OMG!

I'm at the dentist just waiting to get half a tooth out so I'll maybe elaborate later. If it's the one I'm thinking about.

The back story to how these were found is in a metal detecting way a bit funny, a very big bit serious and a fair bit of OMG!

I'm at the dentist just waiting to get half a tooth out so I'll maybe elaborate later. If it's the one I'm thinking about.
So! Tooth out, no drama other than it came out in 3 bits! Tooth fairy notified!

Well the story goes that 2, up till then totally respected, metal detectorists get permission from a friend who happens to be the local priest/minister (can't remember which side) to detect on land owned by the local church.

Off they go and not before long the wonderful sound of the beeps from their machines and the two of them uncover the hoard. It's probably the most significant Viking find in Scotland. Ever!

I can't quite remember how it all unfolded but the find is taken by the Treasure Trove and the boys get something like £1.6m or £3m (each/total?) for their troubles.

Church (maybe the Church of Scotland now I think about it) say where's our share? Boys say you're getting nowt, no agreement, finders in Scotland are keepers!

Church go to court and I can't remember the ins and outs but I think one boy settles out of court and the other boy goes on the run overseas and negotiates from there eventually coming home.

Metal detectorists all over Scotland fret over church and other permissions they have and the reputation of detectorists generally.

At the end of the day the guys just brought themselves a whole load of hassle.

If they'd done the right thing in the first place getting an agreement with the landowner everything is hunky dory. They're heroes and very rich. If they'd done the right thing in the second place and gone with the normal rules everything is hunky dory. They're heroes and very rich.

As it is they’re persona non grata in the detecting community; they've been run out of town where they lived and lost all their mates.

I'm actually really surprised at some of the detectorists I speak to. Just randomly they'll drop in discovering similar hoards and chat chat chat about the significance of the find. The money is the elephant in the room!

Me. Aye there's the photos of the find but this is my favourite, it's my Bentley 😆

So basically a greed element entered into them. As you say they could have went the right way about it and still made a good wad.

Could have been you @Hibs Soldier , Dig in!

Another hoard found at the weekend by one of the groups I'm a member of.

It will be at least a few weeks, probably months and possibly years before it's heard of again as they're off to the Treasure Trove Unit with it now.

I'm going too with a brand new £1 coin. By the time they get round to it it will probably be ancient 😆

Another article on this…£12m worth… done years in jail but couldve been millionaires 🙈