McNulty

Reading are on a soft transfer embargo, and need to get their costs down.

We’d never be able to get him in normal
Circumstances but I’d guess he’s negotiating a pay off to allow him to sign here. We’re not daft though - there’s other alternatives out there in our budget.

I really like McNulty, he is a natural goal scorer which there are not too many about, especially those potentially within our budget limits.
He works hard, has great movement and is always in and about the box. Hopefully Hibs can sort out a deal with Reading asap, I agree there are other strikers out there but I think Mark is a great fit for us.
If we could get him and Kamberi fully fit and playing alongside each other when tactics permit, I think we could be a real potent attacking force.Clearly they will need supply but we have the creative players in midfield to provide this.
If we can sign a right back, a decent holding midfielder and secure McNulty I think we would have a team capable of challenging strongly for third place in the league and cups.

Both McNulty and Kamberi will get more opportunities this season with the vision of Scotty Allan.

I heard we're having a chat. That's very positive.

Instead of him saying by he wants to come to Scotland I'm hearing for the first time he wants to come to Hibs. Mostly on the back of his playing in the charity match last night.

I'm assuming Reading would have to agree to us having that chat and they understand there's not a hope in hell we'll come up with the £1m stated and are being more realistic. I'll not speculate how much, or if I think he's worth it!

Am I right in saying clubs have to agree a fee, at least in principle, before such chats take place?

Reading are in a really difficult financial situation just now. Expect another undisclosed fee. They can make it sound a lot for the benefit of their fans thinking they might still be solvent. We know Rod and Leeanns track record.

I'm much more enthusiastic about this potential move than I have been.

Reckon we'll pay around 200-300k tops with a large sell on fee attached. Think him running onto Scott Allan passes has exciting potential ?

I heard we're having a chat. That's very positive.

Instead of him saying by he wants to come to Scotland I'm hearing for the first time he wants to come to Hibs. Mostly on the back of his playing in the charity match last night.

I'm assuming Reading would have to agree to us having that chat and they understand there's not a hope in hell we'll come up with the £1m stated and are being more realistic. I'll not speculate how much, or if I think he's worth it!

Am I right in saying clubs have to agree a fee, at least in principle, before such chats take place?

Reading are in a really difficult financial situation just now. Expect another undisclosed fee. They can make it sound a lot for the benefit of their fans thinking they might still be solvent. We know Rod and Leeanns track record.

I'm much more enthusiastic about this potential move than I have been.
He actually said weeks ago he wants to come back to Hibs, it's not been a recent development. He's loved his time at the club. Let's hope we can work out a deal with Reading.

Mcnulty won’t be back at hibs this season 99% reading want too much and he’s not willing to drop to the kind of wage hibs could afford without pushing the boat out massively. This is from the horses mouth

Think the only chance we have is another season loan which will potentially mean waiting until deadline day. We are looking elsewhere too.

I don't think Reading would be willing to loan him out again. They want him away, but they will want a substantial part of the fee they paid for him. This was always going to be a very difficult deal to do, so if it's not going to happen it's best we move on to other targets. I rated McNulty and would have liked to have seen him back but it does look now that it won't happen.

Id like him back, but I don't think we should blow the budget on him.
He is very similar to Jamie Mclaren , in the respect that that a few decent games, he is labelled a star, then almost nobody can see any wrong in him.
I thought he was poor the last six or so games.
we do however need a clever mobile forward, and he has proved he is capable of this.I'd imagine any transfer fee would go straight in his pocket to compensate for the considerable financial loss he would incur should he chose to come to Hibs.
I would imagine he is earning 5x what we would pay him,.maybe more.

What are people’s thoughts about these deals in the future? Personally if the chances are slim in signing him permanently or wages will be a huge stumbling block, I’d much rather never sign these players on loan to begin with.

Aye, I wish we'd never signed Stokes and Henderson.
You've sold me.
We're not alone. It's how Hearts fans were able to watch Naismith, Aberdeen fans able to watch Greg Stewart, Orc fans able to watch Ryan Kent, Killie fans watch Mulumbu and so on...Scottish football is unable to compete with even the wages in the 4th tier of the league next door.
I'd rather we paid our hard earned and watched Griffiths than never at all. The McGinns come along every so often and will keep the club going but it's finding a balance. I want to win the odd cup. To do that needs quality, even if some of it is on loan. That's the way of the world now.

The Leighs and Hendos of the game on loan or 11 Owain Tudur Jones? Watch those record ST sales wiped out...

I don't think Reading would be willing to loan him out again. They want him away, but they will want a substantial part of the fee they paid for him. This was always going to be a very difficult deal to do, so if it's not going to happen it's best we move on to other targets. I rated McNulty and would have liked to have seen him back but it does look now that it won't happen.

They'll just have to keep him and pay him for nothing then , you don't always get what you want as the song said

Some club will pay what they and he are looking for.

I doubt that to be honest. No Championship club will pay money for him, as they’ll view his move to Reading as a failure. I doubt many if any League One clubs can spend that sort of money on a transfer fee, but could get closer with wages.

Celtic and Rangers won’t sign him, which means other than Hibs, his options up here are limited.

Reading either have to loan him out again, or eventually cut their losses and accept a low offer for him.

I doubt that to be honest. No Championship club will pay money for him, as they’ll view his move to Reading as a failure. I doubt many if any League One clubs can spend that sort of money on a transfer fee, but could get closer with wages.

Celtic and Rangers won’t sign him, which means other than Hibs, his options up here are limited.

Reading either have to loan him out again, or eventually cut their losses and accept a low offer for him.
Pretty much agree.

There's lots of £1,000,000 rated players out there in these clubs range before they'd take a chance on someone who's known not to want to play there.

I'd like to see him back here, time will tell.

Yep, it's the first stages of the phoney war. At least it's not with Celtc this time.

Why wid we no get him for nowt? He’s been telt tae get another club, no Marc’s fault they dinnae want him. Shirley getting him off the pay roll wid benefit Reading.

It would seem the logic thing to do, although surely Reading have to make McNulty an offer to leave.

He's got 3 years left on his contract. I suspect that's an awful lot of wages to cover!

An update on the mcnulty situation, Reading have apparently lowered their asking price a good bit so the deal could be back on

Good....let's hope Aberdeen don't come in for him.

Seemingly even though Reading have lowered their price it's still too much for us at the moment, Heck & Co will only wait for so long then move on, if we don't get McNulty and I would try for Moult.

Reading's asking price is obviously too much for us, let's move on.
McNulty's still got the Hibs strip on and a picture of Easter Rd on his Twitter account. Uses Twitter most days. Maybe he'll play hardball with Reading to get back here. Maybe grasping at straws. But it seems he wants to be here.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

If it came down to agreeing a fee with Reading I reckon we would pay and they would accept around 300k.

Unfortunately M McN also wants weighed in to leave 3 (?) years of a lucrative contract that we wouldn’t pay half the weekly wage of.

If we’re paying a substantial transfer fee then we wouldn’t be offering him a healthy signing on fee to soften the blow.

Reading will have to take a serious hit for this to work and therefore use our transfer fee to help him on his way out the door. They want rid of him and to be able to use the saved cash on alternative/s.

Seems to me that there’s not exactly a host of other offers for him so I believe we’re sitting tight hoping Reading will soon play ball as weeks go by