Match Preview Hibs v Partick Thistle

I think it needs to be said...David Gray will not play a "weakened" team against Partick Thistle.
Nor will he be "resting" players.
He will name and start the strongest team he possibly can given the situation we are in regarding fatigue, recovery, injury, and availability.
He has to manage the squad carefully when faced with the schedule of fixtures we have ahead and continue to have.
I think therefore, he will make some changes, but the team picked should be good enough to win this match no matter what.

Gray has been in the game long enough to know that all matches have to be taken seriously, and nothing less than 100% will do against any team.
However Hibs are the joint third biggest club in the country and have a decent sized squad with enough depth in it to cope with what we face.
Sunday's game will be tough and Thistle will present a real challenge to us.
However if we end up losing the game it won't be because the manager has been complacent, it will be because the players selected have not been good enough on the day.

This would be resting players no?
I would suggest resting players would be just leaving them out so they could play against Gent.
Players who are recovering from injury or are just struggling after having played so many games would simply be not ready to play anyway, no matter the circumstances.
However yeah I can see how that be be construed by some as resting them.

For me it's just managing the squad to cope with the tough schedule of matches.
The suggestion of "resting" players kind of implies that the manager would not be taking the game seriously enough or being complacent about the opposition.
I don't think in reality Gray would do that.
The team he picked against Kelty Hearts and Dunfermline for example should have been more than good enough to win both matches.
We certainly had the chances in both games to win easily, but the players let him and the fans down on the day with their finishing.

The team he picked against Kelty Hearts and Dunfermline for example should have been more than good enough to win both matches.
Indeed. But don't underestimate the message dropping regular starters for squad players sends out.

For us and our opponents.

Dunfermline got a huge lift from the perception we thought we only needed to turn up.

Always play our best team every game, best proven players, with necessary changes that crop up obviously.
Get stuck in whether in the Cup, League or European. Resting X because a game in Europe is forthcoming is nonsensical to me. FFS . If this was suggested under Eddy Turnbull arses would have been booted.
I have absolutely no doubt, Cup game or not , I am confident that the harsh reality of Kelty and Dunfermline has sunk deepy into our Managers learning curve.

My bet at 90/1 against the loathsome Scotland's Shame was OK, I've been there when I've seen it twice. However 3-0 at 9/1 against Patrick seems crazy!
So sweeping away the anything can happen in the Cup (which I've experienced numerous times) I really feel that this squad is different and am confident.

FFS £20 during the Festival up toon fae Leith will get ye a large Latte and a fuckin slice of cake.

Therefore against my 20 year bet.....

Mon the Cabbage!

1000052620.jpg

1000052621.jpg

Hibs recent history is littered with very poor team selections in league cup ties which ultimately cost progression.😪

SDG was around when "The Slaver" lost 1:0 away to lower league Falkirk with his rotational team and just to prove it was no fluke "The Slaver" played another weak team a few weeks later v Morton 0:0 lost on pens and the "Ba" was duly burst.❌

SDG then had a go himself v Kelty which was slightly forgivable given how far Kelty are down the pyramid but nonetheless this defeat meant losing the seeded position in the next round and drawing Celtc away.

Partick are an irritating lot at the best of times with their loud and annoying fan base always trying to prove they urnae Huns or Tim's but they gell well with their team and are always a handful.🤔

So a few tweaks here and there is very acceptable but this isnae a game to rest anyone or give anyone game time just for the sake of it and its only August so fatigue can't be an issue as everyone bar Hanley had the summer off.🤔

So full steam ahead and let's qualify for the quarters.✅

Always play our best team every game, best proven players, with necessary changes that crop up obviously.
Get stuck in whether in the Cup, League or European. Resting X because a game in Europe is forthcoming is nonsensical to me. FFS . If this was suggested under Eddy Turnbull arses would have been booted.
I have absolutely no doubt, Cup game or not , I am confident that the harsh reality of Kelty and Dunfermline has sunk deepy into our Managers learning curve.

My bet at 90/1 against the loathsome Scotland's Shame was OK, I've been there when I've seen it twice. However 3-0 at 9/1 against Patrick seems crazy!
So sweeping away the anything can happen in the Cup (which I've experienced numerous times) I really feel that this squad is different and am confident.

FFS £20 during the Festival up toon fae Leith will get ye a large Latte and a fuckin slice of cake.

Therefore against my 20 year bet.....

Mon the Cabbage!

View attachment 22553

View attachment 22554

Genuinely hope one of these come in for you. I couldn't be so confident about a clean sheet though.

I’m pretty sure there are more competitive games in the calendar in modern football. Saw a wee snippet on PSG recently, apparently Dembele only played 11 times in French league and was used in pretty much all euro matches. They essentially have a core domestic and core euro team. I know we don’t have or need that but remember what happened last year? Our form fell away quite sharply after the Euro games. I don’t know the answer on this, can see both sides. Amazing really that there is still no definitive correct model for handling it although most major leagues rotate heavily.

Do we never learn?

This tie needs to be taken seriously. Too often in recent years we've played weakened teams and paid the price.

Partick Thistle will be no mugs.

Strongest 11 and give the fixture the respect it requires.

Thursday is 4 days away.
What’s our strongest eleven? Team that beat the Huns ? Players that started the other games?

I don’t believe there is such a thing

What’s our strongest eleven? Team that beat the Huns ? Players that started the other games?

I don’t believe there is such a thing
The manager believed he had his strongest 11 hence why he named unchanged team in consecutive games. We all know the nucleas of what the manager regards as his strongest 11.

What’s the strongest team ? You said play the strongest team . How will l know when the team is announced if that’s our strongest team ?