Malaysian Plane Crash

BVilleggiante

Crazy stuff. I was flying out of Bankok the same day back to the states and heard about this in my layover in Tokyo. Sounds like the plane may have just come apart midair and the pilot's apparently not even had a chance to mayday? Reporting of multiple passengers on board with fake passports too but this might be common place for people/flights in this part of the world. Any thoughts on all of this? Can't imagine what it would be like to go down in a plane like this. Truly one of my worst nightmares.

I make the flight from the US to the UK at least four times a year, and feckin hate every second. It sounds like something blew this plane apart, can't imagine anything else just making the plane disintegrate like that. I watched the documentary on Netflix about TWA flight 800, and I'm sure that plane was hit by a rouge missile. Didn't know much about the flight until watching the documentary, but eye witness accounts, and a whole bunch of other stuff makes me believe there was foul play.

Interpol saying there's 40,000,000 fake or fraudulent travel documents on their list that's available to airport security folk around the world but not all of them use it.

I'd like to see the list of airports that don't use it so I can avoid them, not that its that likely I'd be visiting.

There used to be a list of dodgy airlines who didn't maintain their aircraft properly, not sure if it still available but another thing for fliers to refer to when booking cheap flights :-).

Just been reading about this and it all seems a bit crazy. No mayday, no trace of debris or plane at all.

Surely there would be some debris? I know there has been some spotted but they said it's not from that plane.

I was thinking terrorism but they landed at an unused airport, extremely unlikely I know. I need to know what happened!

Can I kick off by saying that I hate the unavoidable necessity that is air flight. Always have done, always will, I am afraid to say. One of my worst ever experiences was during a Malaysia Airlines flight to Kuala Lumpur. I was in Business Class so let the beverages keep on coming and was more 'relaxed' within a few hours. Anyway the pilot had announced that we were over the Bay of Bengal and that there was a hurricane/typhoon or some such thing coming up and get the seat belts on as there could be turbulence.......well fuck me about 20 minutes later all you could see was lightning outside and all of a sudden all the lights went out, total darkness and the plane dropped like a stone. Folk were screaming. Not surprisingly by this time, after several hours of refreshments, I simply had a stoic Private James Frazer 'We're all doomed' moment. After what seemed like forever the lights blinked back on, the plane began to rise, people clapped, the pilot apologized, I ordered more refreshments. After my business trip was over a week later I considered hitchhiking back to Edinburgh.

Can I kick off by saying that I hate the unavoidable necessity that is air flight. Always have done, always will, I am afraid to say. One of my worst ever experiences was during a Malaysia Airlines flight to Kuala Lumpur. I was in Business Class so let the beverages keep on coming and was more 'relaxed' within a few hours. Anyway the pilot had announced that we were over the Bay of Bengal and that there was a hurricane/typhoon or some such thing coming up and get the seat belts on as there could be turbulence.......well $#@! me about 20 minutes later all you could see was lightning outside and all of a sudden all the lights went out, total darkness and the plane dropped like a stone. Folk were screaming. Not surprisingly by this time, after several hours of refreshments, I simply had a stoic Private James Frazer 'We're all doomed' moment. After what seemed like forever the lights blinked back on, the plane began to rise, people clapped, the pilot apologized, I ordered more refreshments. After my business trip was over a week later I considered hitchhiking back to Edinburgh.

:rollfloor

Highly amusing stuff, particularly the bit in bold. Choked on ma coffee, so ah did!

Similar to Big G, ive had 2 rather nervy flights where planes have dropped like stones. Unfortunately both were school trips so nae refreshments had been consumed. Needless to say, having 40 bairns (boys greeting and all sorts) thinking they'll no see 18 as we drop from a great height will never be the highlight of my career.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

I've flown a lot over the years, and whether it's a long haul flight or a short hour long flight I've hated it. I also hate airports with a passion. My life long love of travelling and seeing other countries and experiencing other cultures in the world has had it's down side and that down side is the time spent on that cylinder 30,000 feet up in the air. I remember back in 2004 on a flight from LA to London we were about 40 mins into the flight when what felt like something huge hitting the plane. It knocked the drinks and other stuff all over the place and there were people screaming. It was just bad turbulence but it was absolutely terrifying. It's always a blessed relief when the plane has landed and you are on solid ground again. I know statistically flying is the safest form of transport there is, but there is just something unnatural about it

Can recall getting on a Baltimore to Reykavik flight a few years back convinced the weather would stop us taking off...blizzard conditions of sleet/snow/wind, but nope, off we went as the plane bounced along the runway I have this wee ritual I do of turning my wedding ring and thinking happy thoughts but all I could think about was thank god my wife and kids aren't here just about to die with me.Took off and for the next 5 hours you weren't even allowed to go to the bog.Regular pockets of turbulence making the plane drop what felt like thousands of feet.Not one passenger looked relaxed, you could see their fear.Delighted to land and hit the bar waiting for the connecting flight...never felt more alone or terrified getting on that next plane.

My hope is that the poor buggers on that MH flight died as quickly as possible and not some long terrifying experience plummeting to the sea.

This thread has weirdly made me happy that I'm not the only one shot scared of flying.

I only fly out if necessity as I love going to Florida, I absolutely hate the flying part with a passion.

I'm not scared of flying but I wouldn't say I enjoy the 'experience'. It is however a necessary evil in getting to the far flung corners of the world. Or Tenerife.

I've only ever really flown with a group of mates (where guy code dicates you absolutely cannae show any sign of weakness or you're risking getting your eyebrows shaved off in the aisle) or with a burd who IS scared of flying. I've ended up repeating like a mantra "you're fine, don't worry about it" and "you'll be awrite, it's just the landing gear retracting". Every one of them has thought I was saying it for their benefit and thanked me for the reassurance but the reality is I was just saying out loud what I was already thinking:rollfloor

Ever since that first flight to Italy to the present day, I've given the plane a wee tap on the way in and the way out just above similar to touching the bar above the exit on the way out of Easter Road. I firmly believe these giant winged beasts of the sky have a soul so I like to say "thanks for getting me here" and "thanks for getting me home":dub:

Worst flight I was ever on was from Newark to Las Vegas. The turbulence went on for ages (probably about 20 - 25 minutes but felt like hours) I kept telling myself that the planes are built to withstand the stresses and strains of these events, but did some quick mental calculations of the weight of the plane versus the strain on the joints where the fuselage meets the wings and the fact we were banging up and down. Metal fatigue must eventually kick in. Was glad to get back on the ground I can tell you!

Aliens, I tell you, Aliens!

Have you seen the Event???

hehe

also those who are on about scary experiences with turbulence don't be.... your not falling out the sky and you cannot crash due to turbulence..... and what feels like 1000s of feet is more than likely only 10 or 20 feet and 40 feet in extreme cases

So No worries peeps ;)

I must be extremely lucky, never had a bad flight, yet! I just cannae stand take off, once in the air am fine, til landing :giggle:
From what I know, this sounds an absolute mystery, you can only hope that any suffering was as short and painless as possible. R.I.P

Have you seen the Event???

hehe

also those who are on about scary experiences with turbulence don't be.... your not falling out the sky and you cannot crash due to turbulence..... and what feels like 1000s of feet is more than likely only 10 or 20 feet and 40 feet in extreme cases

So No worries peeps ;)

You know how I know this isn't strictly accurate?

You didn't say "Fact. End of."!!!

I must be extremely lucky, never had a bad flight, yet! I just cannae stand take off, once in the air am fine, til landing :giggle:
From what I know, this sounds an absolute mystery, you can only hope that any suffering was as short and painless as possible. R.I.P

Are you not normally melted when you get on them though?

Aliens, I tell you, Aliens!

im-not-saying-it-was-aliens.jpg

Here is a wee story that I sent to Captain Lim (!!) after we experienced turbulence on a KLM flight coming back from Dnipro:

Hello Captain Lim,

I have a question regarding Clear Air Turbulence.

I was recently traveling on a Boeing 737-800, en-route from Kiev to Amsterdam. The flight was going smoothly and had reached the cruising altitude when the cabin crew began serving the passengers. Suddenly, there was a loud bang and the plane jolted violently to the left and also seemed to lose altitude. Although there was initial panic, the incident lasted no more than 2-3 seconds and the pilot did not switch on the fasten seat belt signs. Being a bit worried at this point I opened my window blind as I honestly thought the engine had blown!

About a minute later, the captain reassuringly told us that we had passed through Clear Air Turbulence - probably caused by the jet stream from another aircraft ahead of us. The rest of the flight was uneventful and we landed safely in Amsterdam.

So, what exactly could have caused this? And would this be classified as severe or extreme? Or is it normal? In all my years of flying, this is the only time I have experienced real fear and would like to think that was a very rare occurrence!

Thanks,

Alan
Edinburgh
Scotland.

Hi Alan,

What you have experienced was probably what your captain had said - to be exact, wake turbulence - a form of Clear Air Turbulence.

I just had a similar experience somewhere near the Bay of Bengal on my way to Zurich about a week ago. We were suddenly jostled by this turbulence and then I saw from my radar screen, another reciprocal Boeing 747-400 had passed us at 1000 feet above. This is the normal vertical separation when flying on RVSM (Reduced Vertical Separation Minima) rules. That wasn't the main issue but what I found out was that the wind was the problem. We had a tail wind and it had blown the wake turbulence downwards as the Boeing 747 flew passed us - hence the clear air "wake turbulence".

It does happen once in a while and this is the reason why I always remind my passengers to be secured with their seat belts whenever they are seated even though the seat belt signs are off. This is to preclude such an unforeseen event happening.

I would classify this as moderate to severe turbulence.

I wish you a safe and pleasant flight next.

Dave, every time for decades that I have taken off fae Turnhouse/Edinburgh Airport I have shat myself. When you get that mentalist thrust at take off you can see houses become the size of your thumb nail and I always think 'Fuck me if I was on that roof fixing an arial or something and fell off I would be deid' My first flight was 40 years ago, on my honeymoon. Flying to Majorca, the airline was some radge Spanish airline and I kid you not the fuselage had riveted on sections of shiny aluminum which made the name of the airline totally obscured and at times approaching Majorca the wings were fuckin flapping, as was my arse . My hands were purple grasping the seat in front whilst bairns were running up and down the aisle during the flight and me cursing them in my heid to sit down cause that wasnae making the planes stability possible. Oh dear, still hate the whole experience to this day.

Here is a wee story that I sent to Captain Lim (!!) after we experienced turbulence on a KLM flight coming back from Dnipro:

Hello Captain Lim,

I have a question regarding Clear Air Turbulence.

I was recently traveling on a Boeing 737-800, en-route from Kiev to Amsterdam. The flight was going smoothly and had reached the cruising altitude when the cabin crew began serving the passengers. Suddenly, there was a loud bang and the plane jolted violently to the left and also seemed to lose altitude. Although there was initial panic, the incident lasted no more than 2-3 seconds and the pilot did not switch on the fasten seat belt signs. Being a bit worried at this point I opened my window blind as I honestly thought the engine had blown!

About a minute later, the captain reassuringly told us that we had passed through Clear Air Turbulence - probably caused by the jet stream from another aircraft ahead of us. The rest of the flight was uneventful and we landed safely in Amsterdam.

So, what exactly could have caused this? And would this be classified as severe or extreme? Or is it normal? In all my years of flying, this is the only time I have experienced real fear and would like to think that was a very rare occurrence!

Thanks,

Alan
Edinburgh
Scotland.

Hi Alan,

What you have experienced was probably what your captain had said - to be exact, wake turbulence - a form of Clear Air Turbulence.

I just had a similar experience somewhere near the Bay of Bengal on my way to Zurich about a week ago. We were suddenly jostled by this turbulence and then I saw from my radar screen, another reciprocal Boeing 747-400 had passed us at 1000 feet above. This is the normal vertical separation when flying on RVSM (Reduced Vertical Separation Minima) rules. That wasn't the main issue but what I found out was that the wind was the problem. We had a tail wind and it had blown the wake turbulence downwards as the Boeing 747 flew passed us - hence the clear air "wake turbulence".

It does happen once in a while and this is the reason why I always remind my passengers to be secured with their seat belts whenever they are seated even though the seat belt signs are off. This is to preclude such an unforeseen event happening.

I would classify this as moderate to severe turbulence.

I wish you a safe and pleasant flight next.

Away ya smug bam.

Only flight I had reservations about was the 1 tae Brussels when we played Liege. The plane smelled of fuel and the cabin crew kept there coats on. Just as well I was melted when we flew. No sure if it was the same plane but the return flight had tae get diverted to I think, Norwich. We ended up having tae fly tae the Weedge cos Edinburgh airport shut at 10 back then

I have flown hundreds of times and hate every second I'm never at ease the worst fight was an Icelandic plane we were going to zante and we were in severe turbelence for the last 15 minutes of landing we were about approx 100 feet from touch down when the engines roared back to full power we overshot the runaway and we had to climb back up and try again it's the worst I ever felt in my life we landed safely the second attemptthen the return fight was the same day as 9/11 we got the news when we watched news at Edinburgh airport I really need to stop watching aircraft investigation

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk

I was flying to Amsterdam on a work trip years ago , there we are hooring down the runway then just at the point we were to leave the ground the brakes go on and we all headbut the seat in front .
Then over the tannoy "Hello everyone this is the captain speaking , i apologise for that but i forgot to shut the window" :rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor:rollfloor

Once the doors shut, you are in the hands of the pilot and there is fuck-all you can do. Apart from get melted, sit back and enjoy the ride!

I'm pretty much the same as a lot of folk on here, I don't necessarily hate flying, I could just do without it. I find it so boring being cooped up for so long, although when you're on a longer flight and bigger plane at least you can get up, and stretch your legs by walking round and round the centre aisle seats.

I was fairly old when I experienced my first flight (27 years old). Booking a 3 week holiday to America which included 9 flights within the 3 weeks and not knowing whether I would enjoy flying was probably not well thought out.

The first flight from Edinburgh to Schipol was pretty uneventful in (what I thought) was a fairly big plane.
The next flight to the States was on a Jumbo and I did think to myself "how the F**k is this thing getting up in the air?" Anyway, as the flight took off, I saw rivulets of water running along the roof above me. "WTF!!!" :shock: and I started dinging the button for the steward(ess). They eventually came to see me once the seatbelts sign went off and I explained that there was water getting in somewhere as it was running along the roof when we took off. It was explained that it wasn't "water getting in somewhere" It was just Dave having an upside-down pish after his space muffin had kicked in. :Embarassed: :doh

Fixed.

My worst flight was flying from Washington to Detroit. Shortly after take off the pilot announced we'd be making an emergency landing back to Washington. Apparently they were not sure if the landing gear was fully working, and air traffic control couldn't see. The worst part was circling for two hours dumping fuel. When we landed they had all the emergency vehicles waiting on the ground. Turns out it was all good, and we made a normal landing.

I once boarded a flight with a Polish budget airline called Centralwings just a few weeks before it went bust.

I'd travelled with them before and found them standard but this time the plane was silver with no company paintwork and the cabin looked about 30 years out of date. The only thing to let us know that it was indeed a Centralwings flight was those pathetic little disposable flaps of fabric which get put on the headrests.

That was unsettling enough in itself but when they closed the doors and turned on the air circulation, starting from the front and working systematically back up the plane, jets of smoke (I think it was probably dust in hindsight) shot out of each air vent. I have never been so sh!t-scared of a take-off in my entire life.

And, when it comes to landings, there are very few airports to match Prestwick for hairy conditions. The crosswinds coming in there are f@ckin terrifying!

:cover

I've flown plenty of times, and i can't say i've ever been too bothered with it all. I reckon it's because i've grown up with going on a plane every year since i was a baby.

The one time i've been a bit fazed by it all was on a flight back from Turkey with a ex. I don't particularly get bothered by turbulence but she wasn't a great flier and actually took a panic attack.

Once the doors shut, you are in the hands of the pilot and there is fuck-all you can do. Apart from get melted, sit back and enjoy the ride!

Thats me!

1. When you're time is up, its up. Duznae matter if you're in an aircraft or not.

2. I love flying, really wish I could have been a pilot.

My "best" flight was London to Amman, Jordan, with Yugoslavia Airlines in the 1980s and back.

Working for HM Government at the time, 1983, I had to get permission from London to take that route. Done!

Take off from Heathrow and everything is fine.

Flying over the Alps the aircraft banks heavily to the right, drinks, meals and even people all over the place. Moments later I look out the window and there's another aircraft where we would have been and its so close I can see the other pilot shaking his fist!

We had a few stops in Yugoslavia, mostly military airfields, and it was like a 5 mile cross country trip to the terminal. Cross Country? Aye, this pilot guy was as much on the grass as he was on the tarmac - same on the way home.

On the way home I was led to believe it was a direct flight to London, was it fuck!

We set off at 3am and just as the sun rose we were coming into land. A few sentences in Yugoslav, a couple in Arabic and one in English gave no indication where we were landing - this was a fecking adventure!!

On the way down I noticed wee spirals of smoke in the mountains, folk cooking breakfast I thought having seen folk jumping out their Mercs in Jordan and frying up on the hard shoulder of motorways.

Close to landing there's a fantastic beach, a lot of half built hotels and houses.

We land.

Seconds later there's the biggest fuck off fire engine I have seen in my life.

BIERUT INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT written along the side!!!!

The buildings had been blown up!!!!!

We were given the option to get off, I chose not to as there was a fecking war going on there, Terry Waite was kidnapped the week after. Still maybe I should have as the fuel tender pulled up to refuel us.

I noticed as they took the baggage off someone had the same case as I did. No they didn't, that was MY bag getting off for an extended holiday - I got it back 3 weeks later.

I looked towards the mountains. No it wasn't breakfast. As the flashes went off I realised it was mortar or cannon type fire!

Then came into view a couple of jeep type vehicles ... with huge fuck off machine guns on the back, 6/8 feet long strafing the perimeter of the airport.

The rally cross round Yugoslavia again where a guy with a USSR passport got on, sat beside me, was very interested in where I worked, no near misses and safely back in London and eventually Edinburgh ... but with no luggage!

An adventure.

Did I say the travel tickets were bought through the original Frutin Travel?

Facilitating travel to adventurers for decades :-)

Honestly don't know if they'll ever figure this one out or recover any pieces. Plane could be miles below the ocean if there at all.

Thats me!

1. When you're time is up, its up. Duznae matter if you're in an aircraft or not.

2. I love flying, really wish I could have been a pilot.

My "best" flight was London to Amman, Jordan, with Yugoslavia Airlines in the 1980s and back.

Working for HM Government at the time, 1983, I had to get permission from London to take that route. Done!

Take off from Heathrow and everything is fine.

Flying over the Alps the aircraft banks heavily to the right, drinks, meals and even people all over the place. Moments later I look out the window and there's another aircraft where we would have been and its so close I can see the other pilot shaking his fist!

We had a few stops in Yugoslavia, mostly military airfields, and it was like a 5 mile cross country trip to the terminal. Cross Country? Aye, this pilot guy was as much on the grass as he was on the tarmac - same on the way home.

On the way home I was led to believe it was a direct flight to London, was it $#@!!

We set off at 3am and just as the sun rose we were coming into land. A few sentences in Yugoslav, a couple in Arabic and one in English gave no indication where we were landing - this was a fecking adventure!!

On the way down I noticed wee spirals of smoke in the mountains, folk cooking breakfast I thought having seen folk jumping out their Mercs in Jordan and frying up on the hard shoulder of motorways.

Close to landing there's a fantastic beach, a lot of half built hotels and houses.

We land.

Seconds later there's the biggest $#@! off fire engine I have seen in my life.

BIERUT INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT written along the side!!!!

The buildings had been blown up!!!!!

We were given the option to get off, I chose not to as there was a fecking war going on there, Terry Waite was kidnapped the week after. Still maybe I should have as the fuel tender pulled up to refuel us.

I noticed as they took the baggage off someone had the same case as I did. No they didn't, that was MY bag getting off for an extended holiday - I got it back 3 weeks later.

I looked towards the mountains. No it wasn't breakfast. As the flashes went off I realised it was mortar or cannon type fire!

Then came into view a couple of jeep type vehicles ... with huge $#@! off machine guns on the back, 6/8 feet long strafing the perimeter of the airport.

The rally cross round Yugoslavia again where a guy with a USSR passport got on, sat beside me, was very interested in where I worked, no near misses and safely back in London and eventually Edinburgh ... but with no luggage!

An adventure.

Did I say the travel tickets were bought through the original Frutin Travel?

Facilitating travel to adventurers for decades :-)

r that's class

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk

Sources are now saying the plane was flying for at least an hour after it lost communications and had changed course drastically. Also was flying very low for the hour after it lost communication. Apparently the Malaysian Air force picked it up on their radar this whole time. What the hell?

It's hard to believe anything that anybody says about this.

Its long been known that dodgy ships captains can make their ships dissappear; to dump stuff in the oceans; run illegal goods; break sanctions etc.

No reason to think aircraft tracking can't be circumvented although I struggle to think of a reason a passenger aircraft would want to vanish.