Making a murderer

Perthhibee

Space Cadet Radge
Anybody watched the series on netflix?

If you have... do you reckon he is guilty or not?

I think hes not

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

And i thought i was in cowshed could admin move it please

It's in the cowshed Sherlock.

Based on your record so far, the gadgie is guilty as fuck.

It was in gene footy before....

Yes

Happy new year shrink

It is here in germany

Have a good one mate.
Hope they aren't showing the abject pish that's on the box here.

Enough to drive me to drink.

Fortunately.

Nah tv is off in herr thankfully

Slainte

d519f0b952ae8e5e91217ba9a622003a.jpg

Thought I'd Moat this one up again since I've now watched the series.

My feeling is that the guy might be innocent and at the very least there are some massive question marks over the police handling of the whole thing. A lot of the evidence is pretty sketchy, especially the stuff around his blood in the car, the tampered blood vial, lack of any evidence about where the crime actually took place etc.

I suspect we've not heard the last - a new piece of evidence and there'll now be a retrial.

However, I suspect the documentary was pretty skewed towards the defence and focussed solely on the evidence that was well defended. There didn't seem to be any motive for the crime put forward and that doesn't seem right?

Possibly the main tragedy is Brendan, who I suspect is completely innocent.

No seen this but I found another series on Netflix, Branquo.
It's in French so if, unlike me, you can't speak it you will have to make do with subtitles.
Great show.

No seen this but I found another series on Netflix, Branquo.
It's in French so if, unlike me, you can't speak it you will have to make do with subtitles.
Great show.
Watch Narcos Bill. Also on Netflix. Tis superb!

It's amazing how much Pablo Escobar affected Colombia. His story is like it's made up shit but it's true! Remarkable.

My feeling is that the guy might be innocent and at the very least there are some massive question marks over the police handling of the whole thing. A lot of the evidence is pretty sketchy, especially the stuff around his blood in the car, the tampered blood vial, lack of any evidence about where the crime actually took place etc.

I suspect we've not heard the last - a new piece of evidence and there'll now be a retrial.

However, I suspect the documentary was pretty skewed towards the defence and focussed solely on the evidence that was well defended. There didn't seem to be any motive for the crime put forward and that doesn't seem right?

I quite fancy this as I liked serial podcast to which it's been compared. Interested in your thoughts on that to contrast, as for all the webs it weaved I concluded fairly early on that I think the protagonist was guilty - as I think the lady who made it did in the end, despite her equivocations and ambiguity,

Watch Narcos Bill. Also on Netflix. Tis superb!

It's amazing how much Pablo Escobar affected Colombia. His story is like it's made up shit but it's true! Remarkable.
Watched it K, a great prog tae. As you say, remarkable . In fact I might just watch it again next.

Just finished the series now.

Like you say, Brendan seems to be completely innocent imo. Seems like he was bullied into making the statement he did and his lawyer at the time was effectively trying to get him to plead guilty was never going to help him.

Not so sure about Steven Avery, there's definitely something no right about him but the police/sherif department are definitely very shady in the way they handled the case.
[MENTION=101]egb_hibs[/MENTION] it is very much like Serial, only with moving pictures. You'll enjoy it if you enjoyed the first series of Serial (series 2, of which, I just started listening to today).

Watched. Enjoyed. Not 100% the boy Avery was innocent, but am 100% that the conviction was ridiculous based on reasonable doubt.

Guilty or not guilty, the whole thing stinks. Every aspect of and almost every person in it.

I hope Teresa Halbach didn't suffer.

Just finished watching it, really enjoyed it. Agree with many of the previous posts. How the 16yo cousin was convicted solely on the back of a dodgy manipulated confession in the absence of his lawyer seemed ludicrous?

Anyone got any theories as to who may have done it if not SA? Probably not enough information to speculate on but the ex-BF, and the brother-in-law and his laddie could be contenders.

It also appears as if the police tampered with or planted evidence to secure a conviction, plus all the conflicts of interest etc surrounding the rape conviction and lawsuit, some fucked up shit!

There's an article by a journalist who covered the case that expresses disgust at the way the film makers edited out and didn't use more of the compelling evidence against Stephen Avery that they collected.

Watched it a few weeks ago and something definitely shady is going on. Just doesn't make sense why he'd murder someone when he's potentially gonna be set for life. There was an interview with his ex on TV last night where she says he did it and is a monster. Also police reports backing up the problems she had. Did make me question whether she got a bung and the reports possibly made up. After everything else that's been tampered with, it wouldn't surprise me.

Welcome back :hiya:

Just finished watching this and what an amazing piece of television. However I am left with mixed feelings - I thought it was very manipulative and was uncomfortable about the relegation of the victim to a pretext for the drama. I also got the distinct feeling we were not being told everything.

It seems to me there are two distinct questions around the outcome. Whether the police and legal authorities behaved badly and whether Avery and Dassey are innocent. I think that the answer to the first is definetly yes - clearly and scandalously so in the case of Brendan Dassey - but it doesn't follow from that that the answer to the second question is also yes.

The whole thing definitely stinks, and if Avery is innocent his story is almost biblical in its tragedy. On the flip side, say, he is guilty and Dassey is not - then it's unimaginably cold to let things stand as they are. If, if, if. I have to say that if you strip away all the dodgy law enforcement actions, then the evidence such as it was supported the verdict, or at least fitted with it - I'm thinking especially of the blood stains in the car. I would also like to know why people such as the investigator who stitched up Dassey was so convinced the Averys were 'evil' - just small town bigotry, or is there stuff we were not told?

im away to google stuff now. Certainly thought provoking, and a living example of truth being stranger than fiction.

I watched a bit of it and thought it quite interesting, but pretty quickly got uncomfortable with the premise of using real life stuff in such a dramatic way. That was reinforced when I went online and saw people gleefully discussing it precisely as they might a movie.

I get that true crime stuff has been around forever but it's always had a grubby, illicit feel. Somehow the Netflix stamp on this seems to make people think that by commenting on it as though it's a plot line in Mr Robot they are involved in something Artistic and Important. On the few occasions I've seen people have a go at the amateur sleuths for, say, discussing the chopped up remains of a woman as though they are a plot point, they get all offended because obviously they are just trying to see justice done.