Lower back pain

Anyone else suffer from this hell ?
Last Wednesday, went for swim, got off the bus and my back was sore.
It's been a nightmare ever since. Very painful.
I think it's the gluteal muscle which has strained....this happened before and the physio helped after a couple of sessions.
Going for some physio this afternoon and really hoping something can be done and some advice given.
I've had lower back pain for many years, it's the reason I can't stand up now for very long and so have to have a seat at concerts etc.
Main reason for all this is of course years of working out, high energy fitness classes (which have been doing for over 20 years now weekly) and just general wear and tear which happens I suppose as you get older. However i'm only 58 and don't want chronic back pain as I get older.
Probably have to give up the fitness classes now reluctantly....great work-outs and great banter with the regulars there.
Usually work half the week in the office and half at home, but I am at home all this week....didn't want to get on everyone's tits moaning away about it in the work.
It's only when you have this sort of thing you realise just how important your back is. Literally struggling to do anything !

Find a good chiropractor. I used to be off work if my back played up and I was a bit sceptical about going to chiropractor, but it was a game changer for me.
I go 3 or 4 times a year just to keep everything in place.

I also suffer from back issues.
Years of fitba.
I also managed to get good results at chiropractor. I went once a week for almost a year.
Much better now.
Good luck

I think it's the gluteal muscle which has strained....this happened before and the physio helped after a couple of sessions.
Going for some physio this afternoon and really hoping something can be done and some advice given.
I've had lower back pain for many years, it's the reason I can't stand up now for very long and so have to have a seat at concerts etc.
Main reason for all this is of course years of working out, high energy fitness classes (which have been doing for over 20 years now weekly) and just general wear and tear which happens I suppose as you get older. However i'm only 58 and don't want chronic back pain as I get older.
Probably have to give up the fitness classes now reluctantly....great work-outs and great banter with the regulars there.
Usually work half the week in the office and half at home, but I am at home all this week....didn't want to get on everyone's tits moaning away about it in the work.
It's only when you have this sort of thing you realise just how important your back is. Literally struggling to do anything !
Oh fuck yes. And there will be a few more along soon. I had to retire earlier than I'd planned due to osteo arthritis in my spine. MRI shows bones? (Cannae mind the right term) crumbling away to fuck all. Couple that with intermittent sciatic pain and there's very few pain free days. One of life's great pleasures for me is driving, even amongst the lunatics over here. 30 minutes and my lower back is on fire. I have to stop and put one of these elastic support belts on which I have to say works very well.

Tried yoga?
Not done any myself, but I've read countless stories of folk getting involved in yoga and sometimes the results are nothing short of miraculous.

Folk barely being able to walk, can now run etc.

Maybe worth a look

Have you tried using Ibuprofen gel?
All week...and various other gells and painkillers.
Hopefully some physio will help as I do think it's a muscular problem rather than a spinal one.
Went to a sports physio in Joppa aboout 15 years ago when I have the same problem and he helped hugely.
If it's still as bad next week then a chiropractor it will be.
They're pricey but worth it if it helps.

I am a sufferer too so you have my complete sympathy, if you have a look at this page on the NHS website there is a video of some simple exercises you can do for a few minutes each day at home, over time it might help to ease the pain and prevent a recurrence

Thanks for that.

I herniated two discs in my back in 2019 carrying too much. The NHS wanted to operate but I saw a good chiropractor who sorted me out. I now go for a sports injury massage every 4-6 weeks and that helps a lot. I also do 20 minutes of simple excercises and stretches every morning - planking is really good for core stablity but you must do it correctly. Squats are good to build up your glutes too. That said I sometimes take my eye off the ball and this week I've been off my feet with terrible pain - I was starting some petrol machinery at the weekend and think I put myself out of shape by aggressively pulling the starter cord on a reluctant motor. I've literaly just seen a new osteopath and she's trying to straighten me up again.

Vitamin D is crucial too - if you grew up in Scotland you are very likely deficient in this key vitamin and that causes bone and connective tissue issues as well as contributes to degenerative diseases and some cancers. Everybody should get a Vitamin D spray from a health food store and get your kids to take it too.

I have lower back pain, I'm quite the opposite in that I find sitting for any period of time makes it worse.

I spend the majority of my time standing, whether it's watching TV or eating my meals, find it much more comfortable to stand.

Mine only gets bad after sitting for a while, once it goes though it's like what I imagine being knifed in the lower spine would feel like, that takes me out the game for anywhere from 1 to 4 weeks of not being able to walk.

Usually happens once or twice a year, been trying to avoid upsetting it and it's been about a year since it last happened, probably due one any time soon 😬

I herniated two discs in my back in 2019 carrying too much. The NHS wanted to operate but I saw a good chiropractor who sorted me out. I now go for a sports injury massage every 4-6 weeks and that helps a lot. I also do 20 minutes of simple excercises and stretches every morning - planking is really good for core stablity but you must do it correctly. Squats are good to build up your glutes too. That said I sometimes take my eye off the ball and this week I've been off my feet with terrible pain - I was starting some petrol machinery at the weekend and think I put myself out of shape by aggressively pulling the starter cord on a reluctant motor. I've literaly just seen a new osteopath and she's trying to straighten me up again.

Vitamin D is crucial too - if you grew up in Scotland you are very likely deficient in this key vitamin and that causes bone and connective tissue issues as well as contributes to degenerative diseases and some cancers. Everybody should get a Vitamin D spray from a health food store and get your kids to take it too.
There was a huge European wide study on vitamin supplements done by I think Glasgow university some years ago. The upshot was a recommendation that the ONLY supplement required by Western and Northern Europeans was vitamin D and B12 for vegans.

I feel your pain. Had bother for 40 year. Too long in the building trade. Tried a chiropractor a few years ago and for 15 minutes it was brilliant but by the time I got back tae yhe Hoose it was back again. Had the chance of an op 20 years ago but the chances of success, 60/40,if I remember correctly, plus the 6-9 months recovery time made me refuse. A mate got the same op and has hardly left the house in 20 years and is now on morphine and anti depressants. I’m on cocodomol and amitriptilyne. Ive had a particularly bad spell this week. Funnily enough I handed my prescription intae the docs earlier and asked if there was any chance of an appointment, to my disbelief she said aye, is Tuesday awrite? That’s after phoning for weeks and been Telt tae phone back in a couple of days, fuckin mental.

I’ve had a 4mm shift in the 5th vertebrae for years since doing free weights. It’s the one that’s most common for slipped discs. I don’t get too much trouble with it but occasionally I have to stop and take the weight off my left leg due to the sciatic nerve causing numbness and pain. Goes away after about a minute

Ibuprofen is a nasty drug,it's really bad for you.

It can temporarily hide the pain....but is that a good thing when your body is expressing pain.

Chiropractor.

Taken as a pill is bad for your stomach but then again so is Aspirin and Paracetamol. Ibuprofen is an anti-inflamatory.
Apply it as a gel and it won't damage your stomach. Yes it is bad for you but short term use does relieve pain quickly.

All painkillers do is block the signal to your brain that says pain, so no signal, no pain.

Taken as a pill is bad for your stomach but then again so is Aspirin and Paracetamol. Ibuprofen is an anti-inflamatory.
Apply it as a gel and it won't damage your stomach. Yes it is bad for you but short term use does relieve pain quickly.

All painkillers do is block the signal to your brain that says pain, so no signal, no pain.

And your kidney.
I cant take ibuprofen because of damage done.

If you're chancing it with a Chiropractor make sure they have a proper qualification and they've not done a mail order course.

There's a good reason Ryan suggests it!

Anyway here's some research I did 🤪

Google KCR,basically the practitioner makes gentle movements and stretches from you feet to your head.
Your sore back could be down to another bit if your body being tight or out of alignment.
My right rotator cuff is fucked from years of doing the same job,KCR identified a difference in leg length and exceptionally tight hamstrings and hips.
With that sorted out and work on my shoulder I'm pretty much pain free.
Very odd having very gentle pressure put on your hips and you feel the pain in your jaw!

I personally know several health professionals and none would recommend a chiropracter. This year my wife developed numbness in her hands and feet which then affected both legs and she couldn't walk unaided. An MRI showed a vertebrae was cutting it's way through her spinal column up high in her neck. The doctor we saw recommended we see a chiropracter who worked in her surgery for 5 sessions which would cure the problem. I wasn't happy with this so spoke to an orthopaedic surgeon in the local hospital and showed him the MRI results. He immediately told me to phone the missus and he spoke to her in Thai telling her if she went to the chiropracter she could end up quadroplegic. He booked her in for an op 3 days later, removed the offending bone, screwed some scaffolding on to her spine and now she's pretty much back to normal.

Just back from the Physio....who was Hearts reserve team physio until about six weeks ago !
He was brilliant however, despite being a big jambo !
Apparently it's a spasm in my back which has caused an irritation with the nerve on the disc.
He worked on it for about half an hour, superb it was.
Feel better already, gave me some stretching exercises to do.
Booked in for another session next week.

Btw he said the Thursday/Sunday schedule absolutely killed Hearts last season (and he should know given he was their physio)...that and their volume of injuries at the same time. He thought they were nuts to sack Neilson, but says it wasn't really Ann Budges's decision. She would have preferred to have kept him on.

Went to a chiropractor couple of years ago and was one of these hippy types who said the best solution was turning vegan 😄

A pal of mine is an osteopath/chiropractor. He works with the French olympic canoe team, a wee pro football team and a local rugby team as well as other things.

He can be a real magician at fixing folk up and has done some amazing work with various musicians (who often screw themselves up by neglecting their posture).

I once had a big music championship one Sunday and on the Friday before the back of my right had was swollen and painfully blocked. He give me all I can describe as a fast, jerky hand shake and the he problem was fixed in 2 minutes.

I know loads of people that use him and can't see past him.

His problem is that he's hyperactive,, is never home and doesn't know when to stop (honestly it's like a psychological thing). He has 2 sons but is already divorced from their (lovely I have to say) mother after 5-6 years marriage. His wife and sister have been worried about this a long time. It's a real shame for all concerned.

Maybe think about different classes? I've taken up pilates. It's made a real difference to my back and joints.

I had sciatica about 30 years ago.
Bloody awful, and not good to get rid.
Yoga helps me when I get the occasional twinge.
Not heavy stuff, but gentle stretching.
Amazing how your body gets more buggered by the day!

I had a nasty car smash and as a result suffer lower back pain. Physio is a waste of time for me but worth a try for you, I'm well and truly on the painkiller train, gabapentin, dihydrocodeine plus other bit's too. However a TENS machine is the only thing that gives me any kind of actual relief during a flair up.

My pain is nerve related However a TENS could still work well for you. You can pick them up cheaply on amazon or even ask GP about setting you up.

Hope you you feel a bit better soon with it all. Don't let it break you down as chronic pain can send your life on a downwards spiral.

Exactly what's happened tae my mate.
I feel you're pain mate (pun intended) it's brutal, changes yer life totally, puts relationships under strain, cuts you off as you withdraw from everything you love. It's a vicious circle pain you genuinely have to stay on top of it or it will take you down physically and mentally.

Aye, as I said up there ^ he's on morphine and anti-d's. Was never in the hoose before, now he's never oot it.

I've been hobbling around for years with my arthritic right knee.

My mate gave me this oil to try and it's done brilliant. The constant pain is gone and I can walk normalish.

Worth giving it a try folks.

IMG_20251114_102219.jpg

Neither had I. But the pain relief happens in around 20 mins. I still guzzled my pkillers as well to be fair but if recommend anyone with a joint pain to at least give it a go.