Lothian day tickets

Davy

My place of work, amongst many is supporting a petition against Lothian buses doing away with single day tickets, as they claim they dont sell enough. These tickets though are hugely important and popular amongst services working with vulnerable people. Rather than hand out money for various reasons, it is easier to hand a day ticket...the scratch tickets are more expensive if there is only one or two journeys to be taken. Anyway if you would like to join the petition please sign here...Lothian Buses to continue to accept Adult City Single Tickets | Campaigns by You

petition is about single journey tickets not day tickets is it it not? the £1.50 ones..

signed it as use these a lot through my work

So that means you have to buy a 4 quid daysaver even if you are only using the bus for 1 or 2 journeys?

That's not on so I've signed it.

So that means you have to buy a 4 quid daysaver even if you are only using the bus for 1 or 2 journeys?

That's not on so I've signed it.

Na,it's wee scratchcard things you can buy in advance and use when you want. It's being replaced wi a wee debit card type thing that you can top at travelshops...

The £1.50 fare is safe for noo

Na,it's wee scratchcard things you can buy in advance and use when you want. It's being replaced wi a wee debit card type thing that you can top at travelshops...

The £1.50 fare is safe for noo
Ah! Thanks driver. I mean Mikey :thumbgrin

petition is about single journey tickets not day tickets is it it not? the £1.50 ones..

signed it as use these a lot through my work

Yup. It's the City Singles you buy in a booklet that are going:

"Adult City Single tickets to be discontinued

Tickets no longer valid from 1 May 2016

Lothian Buses Adult CITYSINGLEtickets are to be discontinued.

With effect from Sunday 1 May, adult City Single paper tickets will no longer be accepted for travel and there will be no further sales of the these tickets after Tuesday 16th February.
Child CITYSINGLEtickets will continue to be sold.

Single fares will still be available to purchase in advance on a citysmart card or through the m-ticket app. Customers can also still pay for a single ticket when they board the bus.

If you have any unused Adult CITYSINGLEtickets you have three options:
1.Simply use your tickets before 1 May 2016
2.Transfer your tickets onto a citysmart card or to m-tickets on the app.
3.Return your unused tickets for a refund.

For an exchange or refund, please visit any Travelshop with your unused tickets by 31 October 2016."

Where can you buy single day tickets, apart from when you get on the bus?

You will now need to get a smartcard, which you preload with a minimum of 20 journeys (£30). After that, you can update with a minimum of 5 journeys. For some reason I can't fathom, reloading is only available in a small number of multiples of 5. How difficult can it be to add any number you want :dunno:

With effect from Sunday 1 May, adult City Single paper tickets will no longer be accepted for travel and there will be no further sales of the these tickets after Tuesday 16th February.

Single fares will still be available to purchase in advance on a citysmart card or through the m-ticket app. Customers can also still pay for a single ticket when they board the bus.

For an exchange or refund, please visit any Travelshop with your unused tickets by 31 October 2016."

You will now need to get a smartcard, which you preload with a minimum of 20 journeys (£30). After that, you can update with a minimum of 5 journeys. For some reason I can't fathom, reloading is only available in a small number of multiples of 5. How difficult can it be to add any number you want :dunno:

Is that such a big deal when you can still buy a single fare ticket when you board the bus?

Not for me, to be fair, though the constant need for correct change is a bit of a nuisance if you're doing it that way. I've got a smartcard already, which is useful. As the OP said though, for vulnerable users the paper tickets do have a use. Presumably they'll have to be given cash now.:dunno:

I think reloading 5 you can do on the bus from the driver. I've got one and normally reload 30 at one of their shops. If I remember rightly the maximum journeys you can have on a card is 50 i.e. if you have 12 left on the card you can't buy 40 more.

I think you're right. It's a lot of change to hunt out from down the side of the settee / inside the washing machine door-seal though...:mrgreen:

Sure I read last year LRT eventually want to go totally cashless for bus & trams like the Oyster system down London.

Surely wouldnae be much use for tourists and people who only use buses once in a blue moon?

Yes - hopefully, if that happens, they'll adjust the system so that there's an option for casual users. £30 initial purchase of tickets that have to be used within 6 months isn't much use if you're an occasional user. I'd say that there would always have to be some way of buying single tickets.

Surely wouldnae be much use for tourists and people who only use buses once in a blue moon?

As a one that visits london 2/3 times a year, i would say the Oyster card is perfect for tourists.

Me and both my lads have one and it really does save a lot of hassle looking for change or queuing for underground tickets for which was hassle free only a couple of weeks when we went to Wembley Arena. Not only is it less hassle, it's also much cheaper for fares if you pay with cash and you can top up the card at any corner shop. Infact it's one of the pluses that makes London a decent tourist attraction for me.

Problem is, Edinburgh's current equivalent of the oyster card is the smart card and as someone has already mentioned, minimum you can put on card to begin with is 20 journeys (£30). Cannae see many tourists wanting to do that for a few journeys. Hopefully Lothian buses reduce the amount of journeys you have to initially put on it.

The Oyster card doesn't have a limit on journeys and it's only a minimum of a fiver to top-up and the money that you have on your card has no expiry. That's why i think anyway, Proccie suggested that Lothian buses may go with London's Oyster card system as opposed to the smart card that's already in place.