Little Things That Give You Pleasure

Sancho Panza

OK. A lot of little things annoy us but what are your small pleasures in life?

I know this is crude but a good dump is hard to beat.
Huns/Gunts/Real Madrid/Man Utd/Juve losing
A good bottle of wine
A good meal
A good glass of whisky
Going for a walk with wife and puppy.
Spending time with good friends
A good golf shot.

OK. A lot of little things annoy us but what are your small pleasures in life?

I know this is crude but a good dump is hard to beat.
Huns/Gunts/Real Madrid/Man Utd/Juve losing
A good bottle of wine
A good meal
A good glass of whisky
Going for a walk with wife and puppy.
Spending time with good friends
A good golf shot.

I would agree and add a good book.

First slug of beer after a long hill walk.

The intros to ‘I feel love’ and ‘Anarchy in the UK’

Being up and out early on a sunny morning before the car fumes et al land - which requires so much to got right it’s infrequent but I still remember an ace one when I would have been about nine

Dark Souls

Waking up feeling hot and bothered and turning the pillow over to the cool side

The parable of the Prodigal Son

Trees

Babies - small bundles of hope

Waking up on Saturday and for a moment thinking it’s Monday (sadly the reverse is more frequent because …life)

Knowing that, despite the fact I’m still waiting for the Huns ro equalise, 21/5 happened and will never unhappen. However in the doldrums I may get with Hibs that day changed my relationship with Hibs, football, and in a way, myself, forever.

More or less nailing a bass line I found very difficult not long ago
I feel you. My teenage band experience had me on bass. I was anticipating easing myself in with something like Simple Minds’ Waterfront. Unfortunately my pal who called the shots - as the only one who could play an instrument or even tune one - decided i should start with the bass run from the start of welcome to the jungle.

I got it in the end. But enough was enough.

Plus rock music is for poofs :coffee1:

A decent dream.
Good shout Findlay. I love a good dream where I’m doing James Bond stuff and that,

Sadly these are rare, I’m grateful to seldom suffer bad dreams per se but usually it’s just weird shit. For example last night I dreamed that a pal I ain’t seen in donkeys was in rehab for ketamine addiction but for some reason in an antiques shop,

I’ve no idea what that means, and I probably don’t want to.

Hitting a bullseye at the first attempt. When it happens ( not very often may I add) it just feels like your dart is on a rail to the middle.
Don’t get the same thrill from first darting any other target. And I only ever play for fun.

Hitting a bullseye at the first attempt. When it happens ( not very often may I add) it just feels like your dart is on a rail to the middle.
Don’t get the same thrill from first darting any other target. And I only ever play for fun.
On a similar note, with pool most of the time I’m middling. But sometimes I get up there and I’m Eddie Felson. I think basically Im actually a good pool player usually undone by the concentration of a gnat with adhd. But when it’s going to work I know it before I get up there; outrageous doubles and trebles, clearing rack after rack. I could have been a contender Maccers. But wasn’t.

Similar, it dosent happen often enough, but sometimes when you line up a pot , the bag seems to open up like a bucket, and you know you can’t miss.
But it can also shrink, and it looks like the ball won’t even fit inside it !
The brain is a powerful weapon, for sure.

I think the happiest I have ever been was when my daughter (and first born) was a baby.

For health and safety officers on the thread, my wife was always present to prevent a portly dad creates pancaked baby scenario so fear not on that front…..I guarantee you will not outdo the psychotically diligent Mrs egb in these matters…

Anyway I used to doze with her lying on my chest and she’d sing this wee song; deeee dah, Dee dah, Dee dah

Which as you might twig, upon repetition, becomes daddy daddy daddy.

Her first word and much to Mrs egb’s consternation.

As regular readers may know, I don t get many wins on the domestic front - or even dignified losses - but that ones mine forever.

The things that give me the most satisfaction are things I remember ‘wanting’ when I was younger.
A guy in Clerie when I was growing up used to drive past in a jag when I was at the bus stop. I told myself ‘one day’ ….when I got divorced I went oot the next day and bought the jag. What a great feeling that was.
Similarly I spent new year in Thailand many moons ago and was skint and in a hostel. Me and my mate went doon the beach and watched the party unfold over the fence in one of the fancy hotels. We were on the beach drinking a cheap bottle of Thai whisky.
Again I promised that one day I’d be on the other side of that fence.
Last year I was and I had a quiet moment of reflection. Lovely.

Sitting in the garden with a beer or glass of wine just listening to the birds.

Feeling the effects of a good bottle of wine.

Waking up knowing I've no work.

Hearing my sons laugh.

Booking a holiday.

A clear blue sky.

Having a proper coffee - cappuccino.

Listening to music.

I appreciate so much about life these days and as a consequence I've kind of lost a bit of drive but I'm also an emotional wreck.

Casting a fly through a salmon pool early in the morning. The sheer thrill when the salmon takes the fly is a feeling that is indescribable. A moment to savour

I feel you. My teenage band experience had me on bass. I was anticipating easing myself in with something like Simple Minds’ Waterfront. Unfortunately my pal who called the shots - as the only one who could play an instrument or even tune one - decided i should start with the bass run from the start of welcome to the jungle.

I got it in the end. But enough was enough.

Plus rock music is for poofs :coffee1:
Waterfront may only be one note but I imagine its tricky keeping the timing going throughout

Watching flowers like primrose and pansy come back to life after lookin like they have been killed by frost 🤪
cutting my weed free grass thanks to miracle grow five in one grass feed 🤪
Watching Alexander Isak playing football, as well as Haaland and some hibs players obviously 🤪
Watching most football, as well as other sports in general and getting wee bets up now and again 🤪
Obviously the much larger pleasures include:-
Seeing my kids and grandkids prospering in life and being happy 👍 ( not everyone has that )
Getting a scan result which says nothing to see here 👍

When lockdown first happened we created a wee WhatsApp group to keep in touch.

Set up by young Tommy Brock. He unfortunately died in his mid 20's.

So every morning now us left post a good morning. And if someone doesn't post for a few days then it's a make sure they are alright mode kicks in.

So a simple good morning from the mates is a good thing.

Checking the long range weather forecast and seeing nae snaw ( double blank domino ) forecast for the next 14 days 👍

Opening a jar of muscles and my mouth waters.

Hibs winning

Spending time with my grandkids.

Gaming

Hearts and Rangets fans booing there team.

Dungeons and Dragons.

I wouldnt buy a car if it didnt have heated seats!

Great shout with trees too.

Dark Souls?....interesting, what you mean?
It’s a brutally hard video game. Got me through lock down. You go from getting reamed repeatedly and bashing your head off a wall to an almost zen like calm. Lots of internet heads claim it saved their mental health. I am fortunate not to be in their position but certainly helped me with feeling like a caged tiger, or at least irritable old moggy, when imprisoned during Covid.