Line-up position names: old school v new school

HaarlemShuffler

Coffeeshop Radge
The recent passing of Gerry Baker (never got to see him but his bro was diff class) and the discussion now of Liam Craig as a midflielder, left or middle, got me thinking about whether things really have changed that much in football despite the new way of describing where players play, and strategic name for line-ups like 4-4-2 and 4-3-3 and 4-5-1 and all that bollocks.

In the old days, there was, and I quote with relevant semi-colons and commas (de rigueur in those times):

Goalkeeper; right back, left back; right half, centre half, left half; right-wing, inside right, centre forward, inside left, outside left

(important note: see how geared the standard line-up is to attacking)

Open to other opinions here but here's how I would translate that into modern terms (have chosen 4-5-1 for now) :

Goalkeeper
right defender / left defender
right midfield / centre back / left midfield
wide-right holding midfielder / wide-left holding midfielder
right-attacking midfielder / left-attacking midfielder
striker

Is this a diamond I see before me... or summat else? :giggle:

So to end any discussion (er, and hopefully start it):

Goalkeeper = Goalkeeper (phew)
right defender = right back
left defender = left back
right midfield = right half
centre back = centre half
left midfield = left half
right attacking midfielder = right wing
wide right holding midfielder = inside right
striker = centre forward
wide left holding midfielder = inside left
left attacking midfielder = left wing

Basically, I may have got a couple of modern terms wrong, but is it so very different to the terminology we used to have?

Please excuse any errors: posted at ten tae fuckin four in the mornin after a good night oot!

The recent passing of Gerry Baker (never got to see him but his bro was diff class) and the discussion now of Liam Craig as a midflielder, left or middle, got me thinking about whether things really have changed that much in football despite the new way of describing where players play, and strategic name for line-ups like 4-4-2 and 4-3-3 and 4-5-1 and all that bollocks.

In the old days, there was, and I quote with relevant semi-colons and commas (de rigueur in those times):

Goalkeeper; right back, left back; right half, centre half, left half; right-wing, inside right, centre forward, inside left, outside left

(important note: see how geared the standard line-up is to attacking)

Open to other opinions here but here's how I would translate that into modern terms (have chosen 4-5-1 for now) :

Goalkeeper
right defender / left defender
right midfield / centre back / left midfield
wide-right holding midfielder / wide-left holding midfielder
right-attacking midfielder / left-attacking midfielder
striker

Is this a diamond I see before me... or summat else? :giggle:

So to end any discussion (er, and hopefully start it):

Goalkeeper = Goalkeeper (phew)
right defender = right back
left defender = left back
right midfield = right half
centre back = centre half
left midfield = left half
right attacking midfielder = right wing
wide right holding midfielder = inside right
striker = centre forward
wide left holding midfielder = inside left
left attacking midfielder = left wing

Basically, I may have got a couple of modern terms wrong, but is it so very different to the terminology we used to have?

Please excuse any errors: posted at ten tae $#@!in four in the mornin after a good night oot!

You forgot to add that Alf Ramsey was a ****.

He was the architect [supposedly] of the changes you mention though I would reckon it happened before his time as coach/manager.

South America perhaps?

Maybe shite ,but Bob Crampsey has probably written something on the subject?

Striker : Centre forward

Holding midfielder : Half back
I knew I'd get a couple wrong, but could have sworn I edited to centre forward... :dunno:
Quite right on both counts, cheers.

You forgot to add that Alf Ramsey was a ****.

He was the architect [supposedly] of the changes you mention though I would reckon it happened before his time as coach/manager.

South America perhaps?

Maybe shite ,but Bob Crampsey has probably written something on the subject?
It seemed superfluous to mention that Ramsey was a cnt :rascal:
Didn't he always play 442 as well (don't think he invented it though?)

I did a quck google on Bob but it didn't throw up much more than some links to his books, and a few tangential mentions on blog posts. Would be interesting to read.

Just finished reading "inverting the pyramid" - a fantastic book about football tactics (I'm thinking of sending Pat a copy) and there is a lot about this sort of thing (the famous fives classic W M gets a mention) - Strongly advise investing in a copy if you are interested in line-up strategies and the like