Life Insurance/Critical IllnessCover

I currently have none. And I feel guilty to the point it has now become a priority.

The reality is that if I drop dead tomorrow I leave my 13 year old son nothing and I leave my family a bill for my funeral

Looking at quotes some are ridiculous. And I am not too sure about the Critical Illness Cover.

What would Bouncers think is a sensible amount to cover funeral and to leave a teenager? And what cover do others have?

A nice cheery Friday thread! :Bible:

I have none either,my auld boy says worry about being deid when your deid
Insurance companies are generally wankers too.

Cheer up Smurf!

Just had a quick look on a comparison site, to get £500,000 cover- excluding critical illness cover- for 30 years works out about £90pcm with cover being the same if you pop yer clogs tomorrow or in 29 years.

My wife generally takes care of that kind of thing, but I had a look at outgoings last week and some of them are genuinely shocking. We're gonna look at all these things- pensions/mortgage/life cover next month. I'm convinced there's big savings to be made...that's not even mentioning electricity/Sky/mobiles, which is ridic.

Insurance companies are generally wankers too.

The problem with that is debt doesn't die when you die? A degree of planning is sensible I think?

Insurance companies are generally $#@!s too.

How I have always thought but I'd hate to leave nothing for my son and my family the worry of paying for my funeral. I have concluded that by not having life insurance I am being a selfish b'stard!

Cheer up Smurf!

:giggle: Feeling happy it's Friday and great Scotland result last night. However, being a parent you do start thinking of what you are or are not passing on...

ust had a quick look on a comparison site, to get £500,000 cover- excluding critical illness cover- for 30 years works out about £90pcm with cover being the same if you pop yer clogs tomorrow or in 29 years.

£90?!! That's a night oot!!

My wife generally takes care of that kind of thing, but I had a look at outgoings last week and some of them are genuinely shocking. We're gonna look at all these things- pensions/mortgage/life cover next month. I'm convinced there's big savings to be made...that's not even mentioning electricity/Sky/mobiles, which is ridic.

I actually think there's a business idea in that...

The problem with that is debt doesn't die when you die? A degree of planning is sensible I think?
That's only a problem if you have debt....

How I have always thought but I'd hate to leave nothing for my son and my family the worry of paying for my funeral. I have concluded that by not having life insurance I am being a selfish b'stard!
I used to think i was bein selfish but i once met two Aussie women in their 80s doing a world tour (on a train from Kings Cross going to Falkirk :surp@ ),they were of the opinion that their kids had their own money now and it was time they spent money they'd earned over the years.

It's a wee bit different from dying and leaving a kid with nowt but i kinda agree with the sentiment,Me and Sis tell my Dad to enjoy his old age and let us worry about costs when the day comes.

True, but it's pretty difficult to have zero debt, whether it's a mortgage or a loan or a credit card or whatever. And getting rid of your corpse aint free either...
Everyone has different circumstances,i'd avoid critical illness cover like the plague if folk have the choice.

I currently have none. And I feel guilty to the point it has now become a priority.

The reality is that if I drop dead tomorrow I leave my 13 year old son nothing and I leave my family a bill for my funeral

Looking at quotes some are ridiculous. And I am not too sure about the Critical Illness Cover.

What would Bouncers think is a sensible amount to cover funeral and to leave a teenager? And what cover do others have?

A nice cheery Friday thread! :Bible:

I got my bro's life insured for £27 a month, cannae actually mind what that pays oot but I think its 10K plus. That should cover yer funeral and leave a few bob for a bevvy for us Bouncers K.:rascal:.

Everyone has different circumstances,i'd avoid critical illness cover like the plague if folk have the choice.

And if yi die fae the plague M?????

I would go for £7k to cover a funeral. Are you self-employed now? I have death in service benefit with my work - 3 times my salary which will cover the necessary.

Yeah, i was worth dead than alive while I worked! When the kids were teenagers they were sorted with lump sums and an income while they were less than 21 or in full time education.

I'll leave my kids something other than funeral costs which we're still looking at - we've got a brochure now!

My kids are all now in their 20s so it's a race between me spending what I've got or the bank of dad frittering it away.

Best policies/recommendations obviously differ depending on everyone's circumstances such as employment type, dependents etc so best ignoring generalised comments such as avoid critical illness cover.

That cover might be more than useful for example for self employed people to provide a lump sum in the event they cannot earn and don't pop their clogs. I have it included with Life cover and it would return a sum that would tide me over for a year of not working or pay out enough for a right good holiday or two (and celebration party) for the family if I snuffed it.

Decreasing term assurance policy would be good for those worried about leaving behind a mortgage debt and is fairly low cost as the sum assured reduces in line with your mortgage balance.

Some employed folk will be eligible for Death in Service lump sums (4x salary in Banks I worked in) which should take care of the family in the event of being squashed by a massive lorry for example.

Best solution - get a qualified expert to assist who can tailor their suggestions to your unique circumstances.

I kept my critical illness cover going until my house was paid for, then cancelled it. I no longer have life insurance either as my family will be left a roof over their heads and a pension pot - if that's not enough, hell mend them. Critical illness cover is very expensive and mine went up every year but it gave me peace of mind at the time.

on a similar cheery note have just done a will under Will Relief month I think it's called where your fee / donation goes to a charity.

property aside my most valuable assets are probably a fine collection of Hibs home and away shirts and tracksuits from 1979 - 95.

might look at life insurance next..

are there any pensions experts on here? am looking for some advice

on a similar cheery note have just done a will under Will Relief month I think it's called where your fee / donation goes to a charity.

property aside my most valuable assets are probably a fine collection of Hibs home and away shirts and tracksuits from 1979 - 95.

might look at life insurance next..

are there any pensions experts on here? am looking for some advice

Legally I'm pretty sure no-one can give you advice on here. I don't think even the Torys would change that!

... other than get financial advice.

Much depends on your occupational scheme if you have access to one.

If you have access to an occupational scheme the administrator will be able to give you the options within that scheme but to cover all the options you should seek INDEPENDENT financial advice and that might/will cost you.

Legally I'm pretty sure no-one can give you advice on here. I don't think even the Torys would change that!

... other than get financial advice.

Much depends on your occupational scheme if you have access to one.

If you have access to an occupational scheme the administrator will be able to give you the options within that scheme but to cover all the options you should seek INDEPENDENT financial advice and that might/will cost you.

didn't mean advice on a public forum..might be someone I know on here who could help..

my recent experience of IFAs has not been very positive at all, independent in name only.

I have seen both life cover and critical illness benefits many. Just recently a friend passed away too early and without any warning. Family are left debt free and with money to in many ways replace his income. As a regulated independent financial adviser I see the benefits. Happy to offer no cost no obligation confidential consultations if it is needed