League Merger

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22438732

Single body overseeing the structure in the exact same format as it is now...
Play offs using 2nd bottom in the top flight against the 2nd, 3rd and 4th teams.
Pyramid scheme to allow non league sides entry to the system.
Better money distribution in the 2nd tier (why not 3rd or 4th?)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22438732

Single body overseeing the structure in the exact same format as it is now...
Play offs using 2nd bottom in the top flight against the 2nd, 3rd and 4th teams.
Pyramid scheme to allow non league sides entry to the system.
Better money distribution in the 2nd tier (why not 3rd or 4th?)
sounds like a half hearted attempt at a 42 club solution, when the sfl3 and not so ambitious sf2 clubs vote no, they can say well we tried and go ahead and set up an SPL 2

having said that it sounds ok to me apart from the lower leagues not gaining much

Excellent. Sharing more money with an SPL 2 will create more pro clubs and hopefully more competition.
With the new pyramid system it will get rid of the dead wood at the bottom.

I can't imagine the small clubs in division 3 who are constantly at the bottom liking the idea of the pyramid, they'll need to accept the fact they will lose their place to teams like Spartans, Edinburgh City, Whitehall and a few Highland league sides, Even Gretna 2008 are on their way back up the ladder.
If Highland league teams get up, will they be able to afford to travel every 2 weeks?

I can't imagine the small clubs in division 3 who are constantly at the bottom liking the idea of the pyramid, they'll need to accept the fact they will lose their place to teams like Spartans, Edinburgh City, Whitehall and a few Highland league sides, Even Gretna 2008 are on their way back up the ladder.
If Highland league teams get up, will they be able to afford to travel every 2 weeks?

Ross County and Inversnecky seemed to cope without too much bother. Hasn't slowed them down either.

Nae luck then if they don't like it. Far too many teams in the bottom division are quite happy to stay there.
Wonder how many fans East Stirling take to away games every 2 weeks!!
Spartans, Edin C & Whitehall will be far better supported.

Nae luck then if they don't like it. Far too many teams in the bottom division are quite happy to stay there.

Indeed. The league set up isn't there to pander to the likes of them. Certainly not while celtc and sevco take up so much of the attention

I know them all:giggle: they take a minibus and few alkies go by train, but yes tough they have finished bottom for years on end without fear of a drop, it would be refreshing to see some new teams

Ross County and Inversnecky seemed to cope without too much bother. Hasn't slowed them down either.

Yeah I thought about them, but they had been in the league set up, whereas a team coming in from a non league, league would have much less money? I dunno, I'm just wondering if financially they could cope in their first stint without backing. Maybe they'll get a decent fee for becoming a full league side.

I'm in favour of this system, definitely, my P.E teacher was captain of Edinburgh City when they won their league for the first time in however long it was, and he was going on about how he knew that his team could take it to most of the teams in the 3rd division. He might still play for them, not sure. I'd love to see those teams make it into the league setup, especially Spartans who put alot of effort into community driven stuff etc. Plus it's a nice wee facility they've build themselves, deserves to be put to full use.

The teams at the bottom deserve to be punted, but when it comes to a vote they'll most likely vote against it, which is what I was meaning.

This is as good as we are realistically going to get IMO, and to be honest I quite like the most of the changes being proposed here. I very much hope the new single body running the game in Scotland will abolish the 11-1 voting system which is one of the many things wrong with the current set-up. It has to be said though that this is the proposal that was rejected a few weeks ago...minus the split. Thank God that has been consigned to the toilet.

Remembering of course that it is the TV companies who are putting the pressure on to get these changes, this is the reason why they will never expand the amount of clubs in the top league in Scotland. Sky, BBC and all the rest of them want Rangers back in the top league as soon as possible, this is the real reason why the play-offs have been proposed as they fully expect Rangers to be up there and back in the top league within two years. Sky will pull out of scottish football altogether if Rangers are not back soon as they want their four Old Firm games back pronto. This threat has been enough for the SPL clubs to panic and quickly get some agreement for change in place for next season.....all things considered I think it's a decent proposal. I certainly agree with the one single body running the game and a fairer distribution of the finance in the game.

Sky, BBC and all the rest of them want Rangers back in the top league as soon as possible, this is the real reason why the play-offs have been proposed as they fully expect Rangers to be up there and back in the top league within two years.

Forgive my questioning this, but how would the introduction of these play-offs relate to Rangers? I think most people are assuming that Rangers will be back in the top division in time for the start of season 2015/16, once they have won SFL2 and SFL1 in consecutive seasons. I'm genuinely not sure how the proposed play-offs would make any odds to Rangers.

On a related point about these proposals, how can those 'leaders' who claimed the vote for all these proposals AND an 8-8-8 split was absolutely 'take it or leave it' be taken seriously? At the time, we were hearing that the reforms were ALL dead in the water because St Mirren and Ross County didn't vote for them. Why didn't the clubs just 'cherry-pick' the reforms that are now being voted through? Seems odd.

P

Forgive my questioning this, but how would the introduction of these play-offs relate to Rangers? I think most people are assuming that Rangers will be back in the top division in time for the start of season 2015/16, once they have won SFL2 and SFL1 in consecutive seasons. I'm genuinely not sure how the proposed play-offs would make any odds to Rangers.

On a related point about these proposals, how can those 'leaders' who claimed the vote for all these proposals AND an 8-8-8 split was absolutely 'take it or leave it' be taken seriously? At the time, we were hearing that the reforms were ALL dead in the water because St Mirren and Ross County didn't vote for them. Why didn't the clubs just 'cherry-pick' the reforms that are now being voted through? Seems odd.

P

its a belt'n'braces gig Paddy.

If the Huns dont win back to back titles, as they are expected to, Chucks plan to sack Sally has been scuppered, so the play-offs give them a second chance of promotion.
They only have to finish in a top 4 place and then all the SFA shenanigins start in the play-offs to make sure the Huns win it.

This is as good as we are realistically going to get IMO, and to be honest I quite like the most of the changes being proposed here. I very much hope the new single body running the game in Scotland will abolish the 11-1 voting system which is one of the many things wrong with the current set-up. It has to be said though that this is the proposal that was rejected a few weeks ago...minus the split. Thank God that has been consigned to the toilet.

That pretty much sums up my view. It's not really league reconstruction at all at the end of the day, but in other respects it looks like sensible progress and play-offs and a pyramid system should make things a bit more interesting.

Think it'll be a playoff league or a playoff knockout with a big day out at Hampden to finish?

I've never understood playoffs, why should a team who finished 4th and possibly 20 points behind 2nd win a place in the higher league? I get the excitement of it and in England the money for going up leagues is insane.
What will they get here? 100k and a bottle of buckfast to share :dunno:

I also think it's just a ploy to make sure Hunco have a second chance incase the millions they chuck at the squad by that time don't pay off.. But for the rest of the teams with a chance it's a great thing.

So 'No cherry picking' didn't last long Messrs Milne, Lawell, Doncaster etc.

This is better than nowt but still means 11-1 & 4-times-a-season both remain - ZZzzzzz

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm under the assumption that the 11-1 vote was in relation to the breakaway group The SPL. If the SPL and SFL are merging (Scottish Professional Football League?), then how can the 11-1 still exist? They have to regard the whole league in all decisions. How will 12 clubs be allowed to make decisions that effect 30 other clubs?

its a belt'n'braces gig Paddy.

If the Huns dont win back to back titles, as they are expected to, Chucks plan to sack Sally has been scuppered, so the play-offs give them a second chance of promotion.
They only have to finish in a top 4 place and then all the SFA shenanigins start in the play-offs to make sure the Huns win it.

I suppose you're right mate.

Even if Rangers do win promotion as a result of a play off from SFL 1, the longer term benefits of play offs themselves might be a benefit.

As someone else also noted- this 11/1 voting noose surely has to vanish... I wonder what they will replace it with...

Forgive my ignorance, but I'm under the assumption that the 11-1 vote was in relation to the breakaway group The SPL. If the SPL and SFL are merging (Scottish Professional Football League?), then how can the 11-1 still exist? They have to regard the whole league in all decisions. How will 12 clubs be allowed to make decisions that effect 30 other clubs?

Good point, it'll be interesting to see the actual details but if it's replaced with a straight 2/3ds majority I'll get that bloke to have another baked beans bath.

Edit:- this article suggests 11-1 will live on:-

"An 11-1 voting requirement for issues affecting top flight clubs will be retained"

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/if-this-is-a-cherry-pick-then-the-fruit-is-small.21023629