Votes: 2 9.1%
  • Brown

Votes: 13 59.1%
  • The Clegg

Votes: 7 31.8%

• Total voters

Kurt

Who you reckon won this time? Reckon Cameron just shaded it but close to a three way score draw.

I liked when Cameron told the 84 year old lady they would have pensions sort by 2016, and that if anyone over the age of 65 had 8000 in the bank they would be safe.

A stronger performance from Cameron this week, however Gordon Brown still looks to me more of a prime minister than the other two. His experience, grasp of detail and policy substance make the difference. Clegg is a superb debater, but it's a Prime Minister we are going to be voting for not a debater. FWIW I thought Cameron came over with a bit more confidence and conviction than he did last week.

Clegg again for me - Gordon appears sincere but he's so bad at the presentation, Cameron is both insincere and unlike-able, Clegg needs to shoot himself in the foot to lose these debates and he didnt do that tonight, the other 2 appear incapable of landing any serious blows - am hoping this helps secure a hung parliament and a change in the voting system

clegg for me just; though tipping sometimes towards over-aggression versus passion.

cameron second.

brown trailing by some way.

again, the bounce seems well out of whack with the country generally, which seems to have clegg and cameron close together and brown trailing.

real huddy of the night was poor bob ainsworth; anyone see him on sky after.

that's the last time mandy will let him out alone.

Hope you're back on soon

Not much in it tbh. I just don't believe Cameron and anyone suggesting he clearly won must just be so desparate for a Tory victory IMHO. Ok there was improvement but apart from the flyer hit Cameron failed to strike a blow time after time against Brown. He's a lightweight. Clegg consolidated very well. If this debate was listened to on radio or read as a transcript then Brown would shade it.
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

If this debate was listened to on radio or read as a transcript then Brown would shade it.
mmm. that's either a verbatim parrot of some guy just on sky, or a remarkable coincidence :wink:

LOL. I'll admit i repeated what Dan the man said with regards to transcript but i was saying throughout the debate to the Mrs that like Nixon Brown would be winning on the radio. Honest!

ps given you are out of line with every single poll, are you sure it's not you who's desperate K?!

poll of polls updated with guardian poll - 33/33/29 now

I still don't understand who brown is up there on 29 as the polls they have quoted are

yougov; 29%

angus reid; 23%

comres; 30%

didn't catch what the guardian numbers were, only the new net total, how the previous netted off to brown on 30% I don't get!

ps given you are out of line with every single poll, are you sure it's not you who's desperate K?!

M on the poll of polls there's 4% between 1st and 3rd. Much better than any Labour supporter could have expected. I could have got 16/1 at Ladbrokes earlier today on Brown winning tonight. Brown did much better than expected. Clegg consolidated and IMHO Cameron yet again missed his opportunity. Night night its This Week time with Diane slavering, Portillo talking truth and Brillo heid pished on Blue Nun. Before i go though what did you think of the Pope Q?!

Brown was OK
Cameron was Ulay
Clegg was..... actually I thought that was subliminal........ but if you ever got bitten on the arse by a horsefly.

Deary me is this what politics has been reduced to in Britain. X Factor rubbish. Should have had Susan Boyle in the debate too yesterday. No answering questions likes (policies not really necessary) just giving a blast of yon song she blew the world away with. I reckon the instant Poll of Polls of Polls of Polls would have probably seen her at 97% with the other acts 1% each. Projected majority for Boyle 640 in Parliament and at last the West Lothian Question answered.

I rest my fuckin case.

Big G

M on the poll of polls there's 4% between 1st and 3rd. Much better than any Labour supporter could have expected. I could have got 16/1 at Ladbrokes earlier today on Brown winning tonight. Brown did much better than expected. Clegg consolidated and IMHO Cameron yet again missed his opportunity. Night night its This Week time with Diane slavering, Portillo talking truth and Brillo heid pished on Blue Nun. Before i go though what did you think of the Pope Q?!
I think it's a wee pointer to the fact that the militant atheist crew may embarrass britain this year more than the dobbers ever did when JP2 visited. There's a possibility the world might see how tolerance has receeded in the Uk over that timeframe.

i thought they all answered it ok, though clegg looked the most flustered with such a curve ball.

ps you answered a different question than that put to you, which was in response to your own charge that anyone who thought cameron won must be deluding themselves in desperation; you thought brown won, but he is last in every individual and aggregate poll. are you sure you are not deluding yourself?

there is something v odd going on here, inn terms of the poll of polls K. i thought so last night, but figured the claret must be befuddling me, but it still looks odd this morning.

do the numbers yourself; by my arithmetic, netting off the polls included, clegg squeaks it from dave, and broon is way further behind that the p of p figure suggests;

http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Po...eader_David_Cameron_Won_Second_Leaders_Debate

only thing i can think of is that they have access to the underlying poll numbers and are using these rather than the percentages in each case. in that case it would work if the guardian and comres polls have much more respondents than yougov and others.

mind you, not sure why they include the guardian but then exclude the daily mail, where broon got a roasting.

A stronger performance from Cameron this week, however Gordon Brown still looks to me more of a prime minister than the other two. His experience, grasp of detail and policy substance make the difference. Clegg is a superb debater, but it's a Prime Minister we are going to be voting for not a debater. FWIW I thought Cameron came over with a bit more confidence and conviction than he did last week.

I agree. For all that we all feel we need a change, nobody came near Brown for substance and gravitas. In spite of the efforts of the BBC, and others, Cameron is a damp squib, or a limp cabbage leaf.

I'd agree with that. Brown came across as a statesman, the other two didn't. I still do like Clegg though.

Next weeks debate is on the economy and I feel that Cameron and Clegg will be somewhat out of their depth. This one is all set up for Brown.

clegg for me just; though tipping sometimes towards over-aggression versus passion.

cameron second.

brown trailing by some way.

again, the bounce seems well out of whack with the country generally, which seems to have clegg and cameron close together and brown trailing.

See tonight's Evening News poll conducted in SE Scotland from a panel of people from a wide range of political and socio-economic backgrounds...they had Cameron last in every aspect of last night's debate? Overall performance ratings were just over 37% thought Clegg won, just over 36% thought Brown and about 27% Cameron.

:read:

See tonight's Evening News poll conducted in SE Scotland from a panel of people from a wide range of political and socio-economic backgrounds...they had Cameron last in every aspect of last night's debate? Overall performance ratings were just over 37% thought Clegg won, just over 36% thought Brown and about 27% Cameron.

:read:

must be the scottish factor at work?

I remarked when watching the debate last night "If Brown had a southern accent i wonder if that would make a difference?" And IMHO in these X-Factor style contests it would. What's interesting is underneath the headline polling data Brown is winning on 'Substance' etc. Have we really been reduced to voting for the guy you'd better prefer your daughter to bring home? I suppose though that's why Robin Cook was never going to be Labour leader!

You don't think that people are responding that Brown has substance is anything to do with the fact that that's the line that the Labour PR machine have been hammering away at?

This is just a different kind of presentation to the slick willies of Clegg and Cameron.

Frankly, I am surprised that people anywhere in the UK can listen to a man so economical with the truth, from a party that has almost leeched any meaning out of the word truth, and believe that anything he says has any solidity at all.

As for who you'd prefer your daughter to bring home; none of them obviously, but certainly not a fanatical, controlling bully and liar, with the mother of all napoleon complexes!