Labour

It has until now passed me by that Labour have appointed James Timpson to preside over prison reform. What an excellent appointment. Timpsons are arguably a model business taking 10% of employees direct from prison and helping them get back into a contributing life.

With that mindset married to the real world expertise in running a business, where the above would not work if it turned into being a ‘soft touch’, it’s hard to think of a better qualified candidate.

Well done to Starmer here; more of this sort of thing.

TBF they need to otherwise they'll not get through any of their legislation!
Missed this. So you are saying that Labour need to remove checks and balances to pursue their agenda ?

Do I sniff a return of the Blair era Smurf on the wind?! The ‘ban hammer’ who used to want to shut down anything that was in opposition to the labourreich? ;))

This gave me a wee chuckle yesterday........

VOTER CHALLENGES LABOUR MP’S REFORM RE-EDUCATION STORY.

Josh Simmons, newly elected Labour MP for Makerfield who also happens to be executive director of Starmerite think tank Labour Together, has been making quite the song and dance of his powers of persuasion.

Unfreezing the pensions of 500,000 British pensioners who happen to live in the wrong foreign country would be nice.
I genuinely don't know why some expats get it and some don't. Do you know? I assume it's about reciprocal deals and maybe whether UK tax is paid?

We've just swapped a shower of *&*^ for another shower of *&*^.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Peter Oborne - former political commentator for the daily telegraph and Tory party member 🤣🤣

I genuinely don't know why some expats get it and some don't. Do you know? I assume it's about reciprocal deals and maybe whether UK tax is paid?
Nothing to do with tax Archie and reciprocal deals is the red herring spewed out by successive British governments for 70 odd years.
Canada for example has repeatedly been rebuffed by Britain when trying to get index linked pensions for Brits whilst just over the border in the USA they get the yearly rises.
There's a freedom of information report from I think 2013 which quite clearly states raising the frozen pensions is in the gift of the government and nothing to do with reciprocal agreements.

Nothing to do with tax Archie and reciprocal deals is the red herring spewed out by successive British governments for 70 odd years.
Canada for example has repeatedly been rebuffed by Britain when trying to get index linked pensions for Brits whilst just over the border in the USA they get the yearly rises.
There's a freedom of information report from I think 2013 which quite clearly states raising the frozen pensions is in the gift of the government and nothing to do with reciprocal agreements.
Thanks. I just don't know that background to this.

It's a deeply unfair and hard to understand policy.
Britain would get a shock if they all came back to claim welfare and free NHS treatment. Something which is isn't ever mentioned.

Missed this. So you are saying that Labour need to remove checks and balances to pursue their agenda ?

Do I sniff a return of the Blair era Smurf on the wind?! The ‘ban hammer’ who used to want to shut down anything that was in opposition to the labourreich? ;))
No. However, there's a massive majority in the Lords that are non Labour. You can't seriously expect a Government to not be able to get its legislation through because non elected Lords vote it down? I'll be amazed BTW if in this term there's any attempt for any constitutional change to the Lords etc. It's hugely time consuming and they've surely got more important priorities...

I think that's a tricky one. The Mail and GB News hate Labour and will spin anything negatively. But they are elected to serve the whole country. Personally I think it's better to show up for the debate. But there may be background to this that I don't know.
Inclined to agree but I think there's an agenda to have GB News have their licence revoked.... The Mail are dying anyway.

Regarding gbnews I think there is an agenda regarding said outlet.

I've seen some good auld arguments on that channel. They are not scared to have left wing commentators on.

Yep they lean to Toryism but I would say that counters the BBC/channel 4 outlook.

They have covered the child grooming scandals in a way that shames the rest of the media.

Does it matter when the video clearly shows him flip flopping?
Perhaps but those clips could be edited and he's getting asked completely different questions from one clip to the next. I'm no big starmer or labour fan but I don't put much trust into videos on twitter

No. However, there's a massive majority in the Lords that are non Labour. You can't seriously expect a Government to not be able to get its legislation through because non elected Lords vote it down? I'll be amazed BTW if in this term there's any attempt for any constitutional change to the Lords etc. It's hugely time consuming and they've surely got more important priorities...
Er that's the point of the second house. Precisely to stop the government running amok, not least one so dominant.

So yes, I do expect them to work with it. Or if proposing reforms for those not to simply be about concentrating power in their hands.

Try to contain those old 00s impulses K. They are, after all, a big part of what buggered Britain and much of the western world in that decade. Not at your hand likes, but among the power mongers.

Inclined to agree but I think there's an agenda to have GB News have their licence revoked.... The Mail are dying anyway.
Not sure the Mail are dying. Like the guardian they have a massive online presence.

I still have the opinion that Slippery still thinks a woman can have a penis.

He has just appointed Dodds as the woman's minister. The same Dodds who couldn't define what a woman is.

Sir Keir Starmer sparked a row on Monday by appointing a women’s minister who said that there are many definitions of a woman...

Er that's the point of the second house. Precisely to stop the government running amok, not least one so dominant.

So yes, I do expect them to work with it. Or if proposing reforms for those not to simply be about concentrating power in their hands.

Try to contain those old 00s impulses K. They are, after all, a big part of what buggered Britain and much of the western world in that decade. Not at your hand likes, but among the power mongers.
That's ridiculous. Every UK Government in recent history has ensured there's balance in their favour in the Lords. Otherwise legislation would never pass!

And when did 'recent history' commence K?

I'd say since the Commons became the main legislative chamber hundreds of years ago!
Not so fast boyo ;))

You were talking about the second chamber and I think you nearly walked into admitting this began with the last labour government and it's insertion of its place men into all walks of life, which impact is still with us. Seems like KS is out of this authoritarian mould and we can expect more of the same as the tories predicted.

Not so fast boyo ;))

You were talking about the second chamber and I think you nearly walked into admitting this began with the last labour government and it's insertion of its place men into all walks of life, which impact is still with us. Seems like KS is out of this authoritarian mould and we can expect more of the same as the tories predicted.
You think this came about by accident? 😉

Are you really suggesting Labour should just accept this inheritance of political skullduggery of the previous government as it is and accept them not voting through their legislation? Screenshot_20240709_115207_Chrome.jpg

Once the index linked PFI initiatives are paid off?
Thank god for the smoking ban.
Given Labour and SNP administrations used PFI what would you suggest?

As an aside the Smoking Ban was a members bill by Stewart Maxwell, an SNP MSP

Hoyle keeps his job, nae surprise there after his carry on wi Starmer.

You think this came about by accident? 😉

Are you really suggesting Labour should just accept this inheritance of political skullduggery of the previous government as it is and accept them not voting through their legislation? View attachment 14418
I really cannot understand , though I may have missed it that nobody is calling on here for the complete abolition of this historical relic.
As Martin suggests Blairs Government did not come out the last time it was looked at in 1999 with flying colours, nor Corbyns position as this article from 2015 suggests.
Revisiting it after first reading it 9 years ago I was a bit bemused that the House of Lords is the largest legislative body in the world outside China.

The vow he made on behalf of the unionists he had no authority to implement.

Personally I think it destroyed his credibility as a "trustworthy and "honest" politician.
Again, what were the lies? People keep posting that there were lies. But after the referendum the Smith Comission was set up and the conclusions were signed of by participants, including the SNP.

When?
And i take it we are a federal state 🤷‍♂️
Just asking… i mean it was what he stated, before then stating it would be impossible 🤷‍♂️

🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️🤷‍♂️

And if you think he delivered it all, tell us what was in the vow and what he delivered seeing as you keep asking what were lies. 🤷‍♂️
Federalism as a start was a huge lie
Westminster couldn’t overrule what was a devolved issue!! Well they’ve actually done that, so another lie