• HIBEESBOUNCE PICKEM PRIZE LEAGUE Season 2026-2027

Info on how to buy an Entry Pass HERE

Labour

He clearly had no objections Martin. The first one she read out was from Streeting to Mandelson, bla,bla,bla....'Pete I send you a kiss.' A bit cringey for senior politicians.

Perhaps. But there has been many a junior (until recently in his case) that has had to put a brave face on it. In any case, certainly cringe like you say.

After listening to too many talking heads today, though none of them put it this way, it appears to me that Labour is locked in a mutually assured destruction scenario.

Starmer can't govern if the cabinet and / or wider party reject him. He can however say, feck it, I'm calling a GE. Which would, on current projections, see the entire cabinet wiped (including him) and much of the back benches too.

Quite the impasse.

After listening to too many talking heads today, though none of them put it this way, it appears to me that Labour is locked in a mutually assured destruction scenario.

Starmer can't govern if the cabinet and / or wider party reject him. He can however say, feck it, I'm calling a GE. Which would, on current projections, see the entire cabinet wiped (including him) and much of the back benches too.

Quite the impasse.
An impasse indeed. Printed five days ago @egb_hibs before the McSweeny resignation.

Did Anus not endorse Mandelson, when he knew he was a pal of Epstein tae?

Guardian reckons he is going to call for Starmer to step down

I believe he did Billy.

It looks like Anus has been stitched up here M. He went on telly calling for Starmer to quit [allegedly in cahoots with Wes Streeting, who was going to back him up]. Now the cabinet has given Starmer their backing [some through gritted teeth I suspect], and that leaves Anus sitting on the limb he was trying to saw through.

To me, Anus tried to play the hardman under the pretence of doing what's right for Scotland and now, I wouldn't be shocked if he's out the door before the elections hove in to view given that he now appears isolated.

I believe he did Billy.

It looks like Anus has been stitched up here M. He went on telly calling for Starmer to quit [allegedly in cahoots with Wes Streeting, who was going to back him up]. Now the cabinet has given Starmer their backing [some through gritted teeth I suspect], and that leaves Anus sitting on the limb he was trying to saw through.

To me, Anus tried to play the hardman under the pretence of doing what's right for Scotland and now, I wouldn't be shocked if he's out the door before the elections hove in to view given that he now appears isolated.
I'm less sure. Let him take the hit for SP elections would be a strategy.

I’ve been reading the BBC editorial on this. Here’s my tuppenceworth.
The PM is under pressure from within the Labour government with first Burnham and Rayner being touted as challengers to his leadership. Streeting has been keeping his powder dry but is behind much of the briefing against the PM. Now either Sarwar is a political genius or he’s been set up as Streeting’s patsy, or more likely has been in on it with the PM as a trigger to get Streeting to put his head above the parapet. Sarwar claiming concern for the Scottish electorate is just smoke and mirrors to keep the mugs, sorry, branch office voters onside.
If it’s been the case that they were trying to force Streeting’s hand, it has worked, because he’s had to either join in on the calls for the PM to resign, leaving himself wide open to being sacked from the cabinet or, as has transpired, he’s had to get back in line and be left in no doubt who the daddy is.
Whatever’s the case, Sarwar is toast come May and he knows it.

Former Labour Comms director, just handed a peerage, now in trouble for being pals with another pedo. Tories demanding to know what Starmer knew when the peerage wss awarded.

Nothing to see here if you're part of the establishment.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Nothing to see here if you're part of the establishment.

There is clearly something wrong with the judicial system on these islands.

It always seems to me that if you steal money the judiciary want stiff jails terms.

Have vile videos and images of bairns it looks like slap on the wrist time.

There is clearly something wrong with the judicial system on these islands.

It always seems to me that if you steal money the judiciary want stiff jails terms.

Have vile videos and images of bairns it looks like slap on the wrist time.
Very much, Jimmy. Viewing CSAM has been virtually decriminalised. Almost a daily occurrence. These judges' hard drives need checking.

An impasse indeed. Printed five days ago @egb_hibs before the McSweeny resignation.

I am genuinely truly amazed that Starmer could in anyway be portrayed as some New Labour type. "Blairite ally" is embarrassing tosh. It's known Starmer and Blair very rarely speak. Politically they've very little in common. This UK Government under Labour is soft left 'Tax & spend' to its core. Indeed it's 'Borrow, tax & spend' to its core. What does those further to the left want? More borrowing? More taxes? Obviously even higher spending but paid how? Obviously more borrowing but is that sustainable? Obviously even higher taxes but on who and how much will it generate?

It makes me laugh that your good self and MSM commentators grappling with soft left, centrist Labour, like 17th century thinkers who criticised such nonsense as whether how many ' Million of Angels may not fit upon a Needle's point.' The same goes for left and far left labels. There are two types of categoration of Labour MPs or apperatchicks, either right or left reformist. Both are utopian in there belief that capitalism can be reformed in my opinion as everyone knows. Labour right and the majority in the PLP are neo liberal ideological successors of Blair whose political philosophy and actions have destroyed society and where we are at now.

Fuck this off to see the Hibs fuck the Merricks.

Electoral commission once more rules against Labour's (with a little help from the other arse cheek) attempts to thwart democracy

Election delays are wrong, says watchdog

As they note and per @Jack recent explanation of public sector budget setting, electoral funds cannot simply be diverted into other budget lines so this is a bogus smokescreen from Labour.

Our due-process champion will be outraged I'm sure.

I found this very interesting. Maurice Glasman here talks of the capture of labour by middle class progressives and how he aims to wrestle it and the unions out of their paws and reestablish a working class party and an industrial strategy.

Members of that capturing group may deplore all this yet find some of his American revelations interesting: from Steve Bannon's hatred of capital, to JD Vance initially consulting him as to whether he thought Vance could recreate the New Deal Democrats - Glasman advised the dems were too captured and Vance went Republican. Also that these guys are deadly serious about rebuilding the American working class and an amusing slap down of Farage (by Bannon) when Nige presumed to tell Mo they weren't interested in socialism.

As a champion for team progressive, Ash Sarkar tries gamely to argue that Labour is in fact for graduates who weren't handed the world on a plate as they were entitled to. It's funny to see the old curmodegon much more plugged into the future and the young media starlet sounding like a relic. She also manages a mind blowingly daft attempt to downplay the value of returned manufacturing jobs, which has me wondering about what she understands about contemporary labour issues.

Another proper Labour and Union man talks about how the progressive left have come to support big capital's open borders position, which is of course intended to diminish labour power

I found this very interesting. Maurice Glasman here talks of the capture of labour by middle class progressives and how he aims to wrestle it and the unions out of their paws and reestablish a working class party and an industrial strategy.

Members of that capturing group may deplore all this yet find some of his American revelations interesting: from Steve Bannon's hatred of capital, to JD Vance initially consulting him as to whether he thought Vance could recreate the New Deal Democrats - Glasman advised the dems were too captured and Vance went Republican. Also that these guys are deadly serious about rebuilding the American working class and an amusing slap down of Farage (by Bannon) when Nige presumed to tell Mo they weren't interested in socialism.

As a champion for team progressive, Ash Sarkar tries gamely to argue that Labour is in fact for graduates who weren't handed the world on a plate as they were entitled to. It's funny to see the old curmodegon much more plugged into the future and the young media starlet sounding like a relic. She also manages a mind blowingly daft attempt to downplay the value of returned manufacturing jobs, which has me wondering about what she understands about contemporary labour issues.

Sarkar is a complete numpty. Doing very well for herself, though, mind.

Starmer buckles under pressure and decides he's no longer going to suppress local elections

View attachment 21005
I'm not one for criticising u-turns - usually means the person has got to the correct decision - but even Starmer must see that the sheer volume of his means he's making a right arse of things in the first place. Repeatedly.

Thats it exactly. Every U turn that I can think of has been the right decision. But there are just so many and some were so obviously such bad ideas from the get go

So we should never postpone an election for pracical reasons?
@Archie man, you don't have to take up every lost cause associated with Labour.

The electoral commission, legal advice, politicians from all corners.. all declared this anti democratic and unjustified by Labour's tatty excuse. And it was quite patently about protecting The Party (and the other arse cheek) from an electoral shoeing.

I look forward to your defence of whatever nonsense rationale is put forward for delay of mid terms, should Trump's mob go on to plumb Labour depths.

The next time you see the 32 years old wee rat Labour front bench minister Josh Simmons, who is never off MSM interview circuits, question his honesty and integrity also.

I wrote this on here 10 days ago. Looks like the wee rat may be getting thrown under the bus by king rat. Watch this space.

Keir Starmer orders investigation into Labour Together claims - BBC News Keir Starmer orders investigation into Labour Together claims

@Archie man, you don't have to take up every lost cause associated with Labour.

The electoral commission, legal advice, politicians from all corners.. all declared this anti democratic and unjustified by Labour's tatty excuse. And it was quite patently about protecting The Party (and the other arse cheek) from an electoral shoeing.

I look forward to your defence of whatever nonsense rationale is put forward for delay of mid terms, should Trump's mob go on to plumb Labour depths.
Imagine his opinion on this if it was the SNPin Scotland.. even though i can’t see what he wrote 🤣🤣🤣 but clearly the tongue labour and backside is about right

Charming. The SNP did, of course, do it, moving Scottish Parliament elections from a four to five year cycle.