Kilt for my wedding

DarrenSQH

Im getting married abroad in June and then having a reception when im back in July.

Was wondering if you guy had any recommendations on where would be best to go to buy a full kilt outfit. Was thinking about renting but the cost of hiring it twice and getting it to turkey would be difficult.

Im getting married abroad in June and then having a reception when im back in July.

Was wondering if you guy had any recommendations on where would be best to go to buy a full kilt outfit. Was thinking about renting but the cost of hiring it twice and getting it to turkey would be difficult.

Slanjkilts.com

I've always went to Bowdens on Easter Road for this type of thing. I put a full kit together second-hand out of there, which saved me a small fortune.

I cannie help with the kilt either but, following on from [MENTION=11602]Wannabehibee[/MENTION]'s joke, I'm told this is a true story.

Back in the days when we had a mining industry in this country, the then president of the National Union of Mineworkers - Joe Gormley, was flying up to Edinburgh on a scheduled visit to Kinneil Colliery in Bo'ness.

The pit bosses thought it would be a great gesture if Mr Gormley was greeted by a piper on his arrival in Edinburgh and they enquired if any of the workforce was known to play the bagpipes. One miner (we'll call him Davie) was identified as a piper of great repute, so it was decided that he would do the honours.

Unfortunately, Davie was still 'down the pit' and black from head to foot. On being brought to the surface, Davie agreed the idea was indeed a good one but there wouldn't be enough time to get his pipe band uniform and bagpipes from home and also get cleaned up before heading to the airport. The bosses suggested that if someone could go to his house and pick up his stuff while he cleaned up, would that suffice? Davie reckons it would, so a chap called Wullie is despatched to Davie's house to get the gear from Davie's missus.

Now the reason Wullie is available is because he is the local village idiot who, whilst employed by the colliery is as thick as two short planks, and is only reliable for getting sent messages and doing odd jobs requiring little intelligence.

So, off Wullie goes to Davie's house where he is greeted at the door by Davie's wife,

"Hello Wullie, what brings you here?"

Wullie replies,

"Yer man's kilt...."

Just at this point, where Davie's wife collapses to the floor distraught, Wullie follows it up with,

"...and his bagpipes tae."

The shop opposite the Windsor Buffet is the only one to do the Hibs kit. It's more expensive than the others.

Can't remember what time it takes to make it. It's something like 9 or 12 weeks.

I'm not sure the OP is looking for the Hibs kit. Certainly doesn't mention it in his post.

If there's one thing guaranteed in this life after death and taxes it is that if a man says anything there's a woman who will take it the wrong way and twist it to appear smarter.

Is just any kilt im looking for really. Not too bothered about Hibs tartan as most green ones are Hibs enough.

Although im on the look out for where Hibs got the cup final ties from. One in that colour would be perfect for the wedding. Most I have seen go for a really dark bottle green.

If there's one thing guaranteed in this life after death and taxes it is that if a man says anything there's a woman who will take it the wrong way and twist it to appear smarter.

On a similar note my auld man, god rest his soul, told me from a bairn that there are three certs in life, you are born, you die and the Hibs willl let you down son.

Is just any kilt im looking for really. Not too bothered about Hibs tartan as most green ones are Hibs enough.

Although im on the look out for where Hibs got the cup final ties from. One in that colour would be perfect for the wedding. Most I have seen go for a really dark bottle green.

Daz, first of all congratulations mate. I would go with aggie and try Bowdens in Easter Road.

[MENTION=9931]Jack[/MENTION]. WTF are you on about? Where exactly does Darren mention Hibs kilt?He might be talking about a Hibs kilt but it doesn't say that in his OP.No my fault your eyesight's failing.

It's a Hibs forum.

Darren is looking for a kilt.

It isn't beyond the realms of possibility that he may consider a Hibs kilt.

It's not my fault you come across as being deliberately obtuse.

It's a Hibs forum.

Darren is looking for a kilt.

It isn't beyond the realms of possibility that he may consider a Hibs kilt.

It's not my fault you come across as being deliberately obtuse.

Stop flirting you two.

:tuttut:

I thought you were happily married Jack.

This time.
:coffee:

:rollfloor Nice try Jack. You were wrong and cannae admit it. And you're the one that came on trying to be smart to me when I'd only mentioned i didn't think Darren was looking for a Hibs kilt. Away and enjoy your holiday and gie us all peace.

^^Aye OK then^^