Kier at it again

Davy

Allegations now that Swifty asked the Met for a Police escort, nkue lights etc. Police said we have adequate protection for you. Supposedly Swifty the spoiled brat or her team gets on to Downing street and the decision is suddenly reversed...and then Kier gets £2800 of freebie tickets for him and his family.

Denials follow but he ends up paying much of it back.

Allegations now that Swifty asked the Met for a Police escort, nkue lights etc. Police said we have adequate protection for you. Supposedly Swifty the spoiled brat or her team gets on to Downing street and the decision is suddenly reversed...and then Kier gets £2800 of freebie tickets for him and his family.

Denials follow but he ends up paying much of it back.
I'll remind you that the Vienna gigs were cancelled due to a credible terrorist threat. You might have heard of the Manchester Arena bombing?

You are suggesting that Starmer got free tickets because he intervened. Is that right?

I'll remind you that the Vienna gigs were cancelled due to a credible terrorist threat. You might have heard of the Manchester Arena bombing?
Afaik the target was a big, unmoving thing, i.e. the venue and those therein. And the same in Manchester. I personally think that the bigger priority for politicians is the conditions that give rise to these attacks versus ferrying about one of innumerable hyper celebrities that pass through London.

Possible tax threshold freeze by labour , a sneaky way of implementing tax rises
Hardly unique to Labour tbf. Aside from the first threshold affecting the poorest (which has rightly gone up in recent years) do these things ever more anymore ?

Britain is bust. It’s more tax to keep bailing the water out, and then more again to counter the dampening effect that puts on growth. Will repeat until Wile Coyote is forced to look down.

Afaik the target was a big, unmoving thing, i.e. the venue and those therein. And the same in Manchester. I personally think that the bigger priority for politicians is the conditions that give rise to these attacks versus ferrying about one of innumerable hyper celebrities that pass through London.
I think it's not unreasonable for world star like Taylor Swift to have concerns that she could be a target. I have little interest in her tbh, but I couldn't help see the joy she appeared to bring to hundreds of thousands in the UK. So I don't think it's a big deal.

But it's an attempt to paint Starmer as corrupt. And a pretty poor attempt at that. Personally I think it would be better if politicians didn't accept gifts. But where do you stop at that? If John Swinney attends a Scotland match is it him accepting a gift or is he representing the people of Scotland? He still gets to eat drink and see the game. And does it depend who is the gifter? So as ever, it's not clear cut

I think it's not unreasonable for world star like Taylor Swift to have concerns that she could be a target. I have little interest in her tbh, but I couldn't help see the joy she appeared to bring to hundreds of thousands in the UK. So I don't think it's a big deal.
Which the met claim was already covered, as I understand it.
But it's an attempt to paint Starmer as corrupt. And a pretty poor attempt at that. Personally I think it would be better if politicians didn't accept gifts. But where do you stop at that? If John Swinney attends a Scotland match is it him accepting a gift or is he representing the people of Scotland? He still gets to eat drink and see the game. And does it depend who is the gifter? So as ever, it's not clear cut
Come on Archie. Some of the pelters labour are taking are unfair - for example immediately above, they’re not alone in moving people up the tax bands.

But the extent to which they’ve had snouts in the trough is notable, not least given their own sanctimony. You can try and obfuscate all you like, but that remains the case. If you can find anyone special pleading on behalf of similar from the SNP or the tories, the same can be put to them.

I suppose while everyone is preoccupied by this unsubstantiated allegation, it's just a hint that he only got the hospitality because he arranged the police escort, nobody is reminded of the billions stolen by the torys.

Even at that, while all these MPs gifts and second jobs crap is allowed, almost unfettered, I'm not entirely sure what the fuss is.

And one's just as bad as the other, right?

Hardly unique to Labour tbf. Aside from the first threshold affecting the poorest (which has rightly gone up in recent years) do these things ever more anymore ?

Britain is bust. It’s more tax to keep bailing the water out, and then more again to counter the dampening effect that puts on growth. Will repeat until Wile Coyote is forced to look down.
Not unique to labour at all, but when the tories brought it in, initially to run till 2028,when it would then rise every year, labour,quite rightly called them out on it, now they've been elected instead of reversing it they're thinking of extending it.
Shower of corrupt lying nose in the trough c#nts.
And it disnae matter how bad the tories were labour said they were going to be better,lying fucks.

Which the met claim was already covered, as I understand it.

Come on Archie. Some of the pelters labour are taking are unfair - for example immediately above, they’re not alone in moving people up the tax bands.

But the extent to which they’ve had snouts in the trough is notable, not least given their own sanctimony. You can try and obfuscate all you like, but that remains the case. If you can find anyone special pleading on behalf of similar from the SNP or the tories, the same can be put to them.
On the tax bands I think that's absolutely legitimate to critique. And the forthcoming budget should be subject to detailed scrutiny. I think trying to manufacture scandal is a different thing.

Much of it is, I think, attempts to paint Labour as equivalent to Boris's excesses. Of course it's a false equivalence, but that's the game.

On the tax bands I think that's absolutely legitimate to critique. And the forthcoming budget should be subject to detailed scrutiny. I think trying to manufacture scandal is a different thing.

Much of it is, I think, attempts to paint Labour as equivalent to Boris's excesses. Of course it's a false equivalence, but that's the game.

And probably has a lot to do with why people are turned off from politics.

I suppose while everyone is preoccupied by this unsubstantiated allegation, it's just a hint that he only got the hospitality because he arranged the police escort, nobody is reminded of the billions stolen by the torys.

Even at that, while all these MPs gifts and second jobs crap is allowed, almost unfettered, I'm not entirely sure what the fuss is.

And one's just as bad as the other, right?
Right.
And if ever they get round tae telling us what Sturgeon and her man have stole, if anything, the whole lot of them are at it.

Right.
And if ever they get round tae telling us what Sturgeon and her man have stole, if anything, the whole lot of them are at it.
That's a different matter, it's an internal SNP thing being investigated by the police. I dare say we'll find out in the fullness of time if they've been naughty. I'd suggest it isn't quite as straightforward as you seem to suggest otherwise it would have been done and dusted a long time ago.

The latest dead cat around what Labour folk have been claiming has been the sort of stuff that's gone on for many decades. All parties and all seemingly within the current rules.

Our anger should be that this sort of thing is allowed and has never been addressed meaning its looking now as though its spiralling out of control.

All set against a background where some MPs and ministers are whinging at their lowly salaries. They don't look so fecking lowly when you can supplement that income in so many ways.

That's a different matter, it's an internal SNP thing being investigated by the police. I dare say we'll find out in the fullness of time if they've been naughty. I'd suggest it isn't quite as straightforward as you seem to suggest otherwise it would have been done and dusted a long time ago.

The latest dead cat around what Labour folk have been claiming has been the sort of stuff that's gone on for many decades. All parties and all seemingly within the current rules.

Our anger should be that this sort of thing is allowed and has never been addressed meaning its looking now as though its spiralling out of control.

All set against a background where some MPs and ministers are whinging at their lowly salaries. They don't look so fecking lowly when you can supplement that income in so many ways.

This has always pissed me off. You know what the salary is going in. If it's too low then don't apply for the gig. Simples.

Surely you jest? It was covered non stop while they were if office. Labour are in office now and naturally the focus has switched.

Don’t disagree, what I think is unfair is any implication it’s in any way new and somehow a bad ole Labour thing. It’s a long established tradition by now.
I think in it’s apparent pervasiveness, it’s up there. It’s not trivial amounts either. I mean I don’t know if it’s all been totted up but the gifts and loans from the generous Lord Alli come to a fair old sum.

I do however agree it’s fairly frivolous compared to more substantive charges of cronyism and, frankly, not appearing to have a plan.

Not unique to labour at all, but when the tories brought it in, initially to run till 2028,when it would then rise every year, labour,quite rightly called them out on it, now they've been elected instead of reversing it they're thinking of extending it.
Shower of corrupt lying nose in the trough c#nts.
And it disnae matter how bad the tories were labour said they were going to be better,lying fucks.
Notwithstanding the above to Archie; that’s fair.

If, there's anything comes out that they've been naughty, its dishonest, Like Labour, like the Tories. The point I was trying tae make was they're all a bunch of lying cvnts.

How come the fuckers never want tickets for Easter Road?

Surely you jest? It was covered non stop while they were if office. Labour are in office now and naturally the focus has switched.
Your world again.

Only when it was obvious they were dead politicians walking did the MSM tentatively do a oh my goodness piece to expose the bleeding obvious. Even to this day it's a case of well here's a wee story you probably won't be interested in. Billions misappropriated from the public purse.

The constant swapping of staff between the offices around #10 and the Mail, Torygraph and Express and others makes it impossible that the media didn't know. A #10 leaving party during lockdown for a guy going to one of them being a disgraceful example.

The MSM and the Met did all in it's power to keep the lid on their shenanigans. From parties though VIP lanes to exposing corrupt ministers and prime ministers it was only really Private Eye that was timeous in exposing what these bastards were upto while the rest of us were in lockdown, away from our loved ones.

You are happy to wax lyrically about a few civil servants here and there being a waste of public funds but seem quite content to ignore these *&*^ lining their own and their palls pockets with billions of our money.

What's more important a couple of grand for tickets or multiple billions still missing?

Your world again.

Only when it was obvious they were dead politicians walking did the MSM tentatively do a oh my goodness piece to expose the bleeding obvious. Even to this day it's a case of well here's a wee story you probably won't be interested in. Billions misappropriated from the public purse.

The constant swapping of staff between the offices around #10 and the Mail, Torygraph and Express and others makes it impossible that the media didn't know. A #10 leaving party during lockdown for a guy going to one of them being a disgraceful example.

The MSM and the Met did all in it's power to keep the lid on their shenanigans. From parties though VIP lanes to exposing corrupt ministers and prime ministers it was only really Private Eye that was timeous in exposing what these bastards were upto while the rest of us were in lockdown, away from our loved ones.

You are happy to wax lyrically about a few civil servants here and there being a waste of public funds but seem quite content to ignore these *&*^ lining their own and their palls pockets with billions of our money.

What's more important a couple of grand for tickets or multiple billions still missing?
I will be entirely unsurprised to find grift in among the procurement panic of the Covid years, though I suspect the latter is the main dynamic; Rachel Reeves own suggestions to the then government being as hare brained as those they came up with themselves.

And yes that’s a more serious issue. Who said otherwise? Labour’s freebies are more like Boris’ personal money spunking on wallpaper et al. I remain mystified that you don’t think Tory sleaze was the subject of press attention though. Perhaps your own world is somewhat more distant from planet earth than my much referenced one?

The civil service is entirely unrelated, and its budgetary implications of a different kind, as you know well. Let’s hope the 200 or so ‘exceptional hires’ Labour have made, bypassing recruitment processes, can whip things into shape where required.

While we choose to be part of this parliament, we can't complain about what we had the choice to leave.
We voted, and the polls still show we want to remain in it, so suck it it , it's what we voted for.
It reminds me when folk at my work moan about the conditions and gaffer they have to work with. I suggest to them that they do something about it, I remind them they are not chained to the gate and can leave for something better .
Both options they refuse.
But they carry on moaning about it.