Just back

1 Mcnamara

Sorry for the delay, my young lad wrote this. He is going to register and account but for the time being here it is....

Just Back – I’ve never been to a hibs game like that.

Firstly, thanks for letting us have a crack at this. Half our normal season ticket holding squad didn’t come today, and when i told one of my friends that did come that I would rather hibs took one for the team today he asked me why i bothered showing up then. That’s easy, I’m on just back duty today, I couldn’t miss it.

It was a weird, weird feeling showing up today and I took absolutely no joy in it at all. Beating them at parkhead this year softened the blow, but it was still horrible. I would never cheer against us, but if you asked me honestly, I am much happier with this result than if Suto had hooked that half volley in near the end.

Duly, I have ranked the team by how well they furthered the cause of the greatest good. A 10/10 hates hearts as much as i do – a 1/10 is convinced that somehow the worst possible thing that I can think of happening as a hibs fan, is worth it for a short-lived win that keeps us in 5th. I will forget that we lost to a (potentially league winning) Celtic team in a matter of hours. I’ll never be rid of the feeling if I have to watch *them* stumble over the line. With that in mind:

SMITH– a couple of smart stops in the first half especially but had the good sense at least to boot the ball into the stands from a goal kick a few times. Without rousing too much suspicion, he has played his own part in keeping the title away from hearts. 6/10

MEGWA – He was asked to do a lot and was clearly struggling a bit, celtic seemed to target him in the first half as a weak point. Gave up a fair few chances out wide but wasn’t at fault for either goal. Probably the weakest hibs player on the park for most of the game. 8/10

CADDEN – Like Elding, had to take care of the gap left by our left sided midfielder. Great little chip to the back post for us to equalise and lots of running as always. Trying far too hard. 3/10

O’HORA - I liked his style. A few fancy turns and wee touches. If you’re going to throw a game you might aswell try some training ground flourishes. If it comes off you look like a hero, if it doesn’t, it might stop hearts winning the league. He’s a good centre half and he’s had a good season, had the celtic forwards taken care of until mostly, made them look really quite pedestrian. Not contributing enough to the cause enough but gets points back for the flourish and for blasting his pass to megwa out the park when celtic were chasing a winner. 5/10

IREDALE – same as O’hora but without the flair. 4/10

ROCKY – had a solid game but struggled with the strength of Iheanacho when he came on near the end. Haven’t seen him lose many headers in his time at Hibs, and on this day of all days his man beats him to score from a corner? Well played sir. 8/10

MCGRATH – Masterful Gambit. Man of the match performance. You can’t question why our best player is throwing a match if he’s off the pitch can you? Give him whatever he wants, 10/10

CHAIWA – a full season later and I still don’t know what to think of Chaiwa. Always seems to have his best games against celtic but still dropped a few clangers over the 90 minutes. Can only assume that he was holding himself back for the good of the league. 7/10

NEWELL – He's at his best when he sees lots of the ball, something which is really difficult with 10 men against a midfield with McGregor. Without dictating play like he sometimes can, I thought he put in a decent showing and took his goal well. He did his best to have it ruled out by handling it twice before sticking it the net, but who knows what actually goes on in that VAR room. Joe just gets hibs, I have no doubt he was trying to do the right thing. 6/10 for scoring a goal but would have been higher.

BOYLE – lots of running, looked like he was trying far too hard to win that game. 3/10

ELDING – I’m enjoying Elding a little more every week and he had a huge job today. He dropped back into the space vacated by McGrath in the first half, and in the second had to play alone up top. Industrious and hard working but makes intelligent runs and has some classy touches. He was probably the best player in green today, for which he scores a 1/10.

SUTO (sub) - Slowed the game down quite well. Chasing the ball out wide he tripped his own feet, half volley at the near post in the dying minutes and he missed by a few feet. I’m not sure if he struggling or if he understood what needed to be done, either way I am thankful he was subbed on. 8/10

CAMPBELL (sub) - Did a lot of running without really affecting the game. There’s a reason he gets called on by managers so often, he’s hibs af. Difficult to give him a rating but I trust his judgement, it would hurt him as much as it would hurt me to see what we’re all scared of seeing. 6/10 ?

OBITA (sub) - When he stepped on the pitch celtic took their focus off of Megwa and started attacking down Obita’s side. I can only assume he had.

Thanks for the JB . Chaiwa for me was our MOTM. Honourable mentions to O’Hora and Rocky and Elding

Brilliant just back. Nobody wants us to lose any match but there’s a bigger picture in the run in to the end of the season this year.
Cannie believe I’m praying for a Huns victory today but needs must.

Fuck the cardigan wearing, scarf twirling ‘big team’, bloodied turd wankers.

Love the Just Back, a hilarious twist on the impossible dilemma faced by Hibs fans at the moment. I guess we should be thankful Celtic didnie ring up a cricket score 🏏, but against one of the poorest Celtic teams for a long time, there wasn't much danger of that. I thought the Hibs 10 battled away again, although wondering if Suto has switched off early (correction) for the season! Nice for Newell to get a goal, my understanding is there wasnie enough VAR evidence tae overturn the on-field decision. So over tae the Huns later, who knows they always have a crap performance in them or could be brilliant. Watch out for the scam so-called Celtic fan posts, which claim SDG has walked oot over team indiscipline. Mind you could you blame him? Another amusing anecdote wis Hibs fans joining in with Celtic fans singing "If you hate the ** Rangers, clap your hands."

Love the Just Back, a hilarious twist on the impossible dilemma faced by Hibs fans at the moment. I guess we should be thankful Celtic didnie ring up a cricket score 🏏, but against one of the poorest Celtic teams for a long time, there wasn't much danger of that. I thought the Hibs 10 battled away again, although wondering if Suto has switched off early given his loan spell is coming to an end. Nice for Newell to get a goal, my understanding is there wasnie enough VAR evidence tae overturn the on-field decision. So over tae the Huns later, who knows they always have a crap performance in them or could be brilliant. Watch out for the scam so-called Celtic fan posts, which claim SDG has walked oot over team indiscipline. Mind you could you blame him? Another amusing anecdote wis Hibs fans joining in with Celtic fans singing "If you hate the Rangers, clap your hands"
Bad news.... Suto isn't a loan signing.

Love the Just Back, a hilarious twist on the impossible dilemma faced by Hibs fans at the moment. I guess we should be thankful Celtic didnie ring up a cricket score 🏏, but against one of the poorest Celtic teams for a long time, there wasn't much danger of that. I thought the Hibs 10 battled away again, although wondering if Suto has switched off early given his loan spell is coming to an end. Nice for Newell to get a goal, my understanding is there wasnie enough VAR evidence tae overturn the on-field decision. So over tae the Huns later, who knows they always have a crap performance in them or could be brilliant. Watch out for the scam so-called Celtic fan posts, which claim SDG has walked oot over team indiscipline. Mind you could you blame him? Another amusing anecdote wis Hibs fans joining in with Celtic fans singing "If you hate the ** Rangers, clap your hands."
Scarlett is the loanee

Haven't we signed him?
2 year deal I'm sure.
After his 'performance' in the derby I'm far from convinced he's what we need. I'm questioning everything around our club what I want to see next season and not many though are convincing me. Unless a new coach can better utilise what he has...

After his 'performance' in the derby I'm far from convinced he's what we need.
More of an appearance.
I'm questioning everything around our club what I want to see next season and not many though are convincing me. Unless a new coach can better utilise what he has...
Me too, although I think there's a core squad there that's capable of much more.

Sallinger, O'Hora, Rocky, Iredale, Nicky Cadden, Passlack, Chaiwa, Mulligan, McGrath, Elding are all capable of starting and playing well. (Not necessarily all together)

We're missing some physicality. I'd want a unit up top, a unit in midfield.
Players who can play out wide and change of shape and mentality brings about a completely different squad for me.

More of an appearance.

Me too, although I think there's a core squad there that's capable of much more.

Sallinger, O'Hora, Rocky, Iredale, Nicky Cadden, Passlack, Chaiwa, Mulligan, McGrath, Elding are all capable of starting and playing well. (Not necessarily all together)

We're missing some physicality. I'd want a unit up top, a unit in midfield.
Players who can play out wide and change of shape and mentality brings about a completely different squad for me.

Totally agreed on the player front. Massive window ahead of us.

Sorry for the delay, my young lad wrote this. He is going to register and account but for the time being here it is....

Just Back – I’ve never been to a hibs game like that.

Firstly, thanks for letting us have a crack at this. Half our normal season ticket holding squad didn’t come today, and when i told one of my friends that did come that I would rather hibs took one for the team today he asked me why i bothered showing up then. That’s easy, I’m on just back duty today, I couldn’t miss it.

It was a weird, weird feeling showing up today and I took absolutely no joy in it at all. Beating them at parkhead this year softened the blow, but it was still horrible. I would never cheer against us, but if you asked me honestly, I am much happier with this result than if Suto had hooked that half volley in near the end.

Duly, I have ranked the team by how well they furthered the cause of the greatest good. A 10/10 hates hearts as much as i do – a 1/10 is convinced that somehow the worst possible thing that I can think of happening as a hibs fan, is worth it for a short-lived win that keeps us in 5th. I will forget that we lost to a (potentially league winning) Celtic team in a matter of hours. I’ll never be rid of the feeling if I have to watch *them* stumble over the line. With that in mind:

SMITH– a couple of smart stops in the first half especially but had the good sense at least to boot the ball into the stands from a goal kick a few times. Without rousing too much suspicion, he has played his own part in keeping the title away from hearts. 6/10

MEGWA – He was asked to do a lot and was clearly struggling a bit, celtic seemed to target him in the first half as a weak point. Gave up a fair few chances out wide but wasn’t at fault for either goal. Probably the weakest hibs player on the park for most of the game. 8/10

CADDEN – Like Elding, had to take care of the gap left by our left sided midfielder. Great little chip to the back post for us to equalise and lots of running as always. Trying far too hard. 3/10

O’HORA - I liked his style. A few fancy turns and wee touches. If you’re going to throw a game you might aswell try some training ground flourishes. If it comes off you look like a hero, if it doesn’t, it might stop hearts winning the league. He’s a good centre half and he’s had a good season, had the celtic forwards taken care of until mostly, made them look really quite pedestrian. Not contributing enough to the cause enough but gets points back for the flourish and for blasting his pass to megwa out the park when celtic were chasing a winner. 5/10

IREDALE – same as O’hora but without the flair. 4/10

ROCKY – had a solid game but struggled with the strength of Iheanacho when he came on near the end. Haven’t seen him lose many headers in his time at Hibs, and on this day of all days his man beats him to score from a corner? Well played sir. 8/10

MCGRATH – Masterful Gambit. Man of the match performance. You can’t question why our best player is throwing a match if he’s off the pitch can you? Give him whatever he wants, 10/10

CHAIWA – a full season later and I still don’t know what to think of Chaiwa. Always seems to have his best games against celtic but still dropped a few clangers over the 90 minutes. Can only assume that he was holding himself back for the good of the league. 7/10

NEWELL – He's at his best when he sees lots of the ball, something which is really difficult with 10 men against a midfield with McGregor. Without dictating play like he sometimes can, I thought he put in a decent showing and took his goal well. He did his best to have it ruled out by handling it twice before sticking it the net, but who knows what actually goes on in that VAR room. Joe just gets hibs, I have no doubt he was trying to do the right thing. 6/10 for scoring a goal but would have been higher.

BOYLE – lots of running, looked like he was trying far too hard to win that game. 3/10

ELDING – I’m enjoying Elding a little more every week and he had a huge job today. He dropped back into the space vacated by McGrath in the first half, and in the second had to play alone up top. Industrious and hard working but makes intelligent runs and has some classy touches. He was probably the best player in green today, for which he scores a 1/10.

SUTO (sub) - Slowed the game down quite well. Chasing the ball out wide he tripped his own feet, half volley at the near post in the dying minutes and he missed by a few feet. I’m not sure if he struggling or if he understood what needed to be done, either way I am thankful he was subbed on. 8/10

CAMPBELL (sub) - Did a lot of running without really affecting the game. There’s a reason he gets called on by managers so often, he’s hibs af. Difficult to give him a rating but I trust his judgement, it would hurt him as much as it would hurt me to see what we’re all scared of seeing. 6/10 ?

OBITA (sub) - When he stepped on the pitch celtic took their focus off of Megwa and started attacking down Obita’s side. I can only assume he had.
Love it! A bit of humour in grim times!

Celtic really are pish but eh? If it does go to a final game shoot-out you wouldn't bank on them getting the job done.

This is my just back! Glad people enjoyed it. There's a character limit which cut off the second hald. Below:

OBITA (sub) - When he stepped on the pitch celtic took their focus off of Megwa and started attacking down Obita’s side. I can only assume he had a word with them in the tunnel that he knew what needed to be done. Didn’t cover himself with glory at the corner either and threw in a wee nutmeg when losing 2-1 at home. 7/10

SCARLETT (sub) - A good pass out wide to Suto, not much else.

BARLASER (sub) - Like Barlaser’s season. My phone tells me he was subbed on but i cannot for the life of me tell you what he did. He’s a midfielder right?

THE OFFICIALS - VAR took the big decisions out his hands, they mustn’t trust him – you wouldn’t would you? Same old story, when we raise our hands you raise your flag eh linesman? Must be great being a Celtic player.

THE CROWD – probably the weirdest part about it. We cheered when we scored, but everyone knew what it meant.

THE POLICE – no barriers after the game? Did hearts being top of the league downgrade the oldfirm matches to category B games? I bet you they never lowered the prices.

It’s been a horrible feeling wanting anything other than a hibs win. I have parted with so many thousands of pounds over so many years, motivated only by my love of hibs and wanting hibs to win. But I can’t think of anything worse than watching the league go to the PBS, so we had to lose today. I will trade our regulation european adventure, (putting 9 goals past some Pharoese farmers before taking a battering from Crystal Palace) for avoiding that scenario 8 days a week. I would trade 10 of those.

If he doesn’t score another point to the end of the season, Sir David Gray is still the most successful Hibs manager since McLeish (of those who have spent at least 2 seasons). That’s a pretty minging quarter century for the club (especially in the league) but SDG is taking us in the right direction. I will 10 years of him while the club evolves and grows around him, he gets what it means, the players love him and if we improve by changing the staff around him then that’s the way forward. Binning him will make us worse, and it’ll be bad for all our souls.

After his 'performance' in the derby I'm far from convinced he's what we need. I'm questioning everything around our club what I want to see next season and not many though are convincing me. Unless a new coach can better utilise what he has...
Would you (if it was your decision) give SDG his jotters?
I’m not sure if I am blinded by romance, but I would definitely be giving him next season. Where I can see his failings, I also remember his predecessors and not with much encouragement. In fact it was most definitely worse.
This isn’t a baiting post, genuine interest in your answer.

I’m not sure if I am blinded by romance, but I would definitely be giving him next season. Where I can see his failings, I also remember his predecessors and not with much encouragement. In fact it was most definitely worse.

My view is if he does not change his formation/style pronto the ST sales for 27/28 will nosedive dramatically.
I include myself in that.

On balance I'd be looking to review it. I'd want to look at all the stats, data and evidence. Put aside emotion and make a decision on how best we move forward....

Have we under or over achieved this season? I'd say under.

Are we an exciting team to watch? No.

Have individual players improved? Not seeing much evidence.

Are we confident of improvement next season? Not really?

On balance I'd be looking to review it. I'd want to look at all the stats, data and evidence. Put aside emotion and make a decision on how best we move forward....

Have we under or over achieved this season? I'd say under.

Are we an exciting team to watch? No.

Have individual players improved? Not seeing much evidence.

Are we confident of improvement next season? Not really?
Season ticket holders regularly in their hundreds not showing up tells its own story

This is my just back! Glad people enjoyed it. There's a character limit which cut off the second hald. Below:

OBITA (sub) - When he stepped on the pitch celtic took their focus off of Megwa and started attacking down Obita’s side. I can only assume he had a word with them in the tunnel that he knew what needed to be done. Didn’t cover himself with glory at the corner either and threw in a wee nutmeg when losing 2-1 at home. 7/10

SCARLETT (sub) - A good pass out wide to Suto, not much else.

BARLASER (sub) - Like Barlaser’s season. My phone tells me he was subbed on but i cannot for the life of me tell you what he did. He’s a midfielder right?

THE OFFICIALS - VAR took the big decisions out his hands, they mustn’t trust him – you wouldn’t would you? Same old story, when we raise our hands you raise your flag eh linesman? Must be great being a Celtic player.

THE CROWD – probably the weirdest part about it. We cheered when we scored, but everyone knew what it meant.

THE POLICE – no barriers after the game? Did hearts being top of the league downgrade the oldfirm matches to category B games? I bet you they never lowered the prices.

It’s been a horrible feeling wanting anything other than a hibs win. I have parted with so many thousands of pounds over so many years, motivated only by my love of hibs and wanting hibs to win. But I can’t think of anything worse than watching the league go to the PBS, so we had to lose today. I will trade our regulation european adventure, (putting 9 goals past some Pharoese farmers before taking a battering from Crystal Palace) for avoiding that scenario 8 days a week. I would trade 10 of those.

If he doesn’t score another point to the end of the season, Sir David Gray is still the most successful Hibs manager since McLeish (of those who have spent at least 2 seasons). That’s a pretty minging quarter century for the club (especially in the league) but SDG is taking us in the right direction. I will 10 years of him while the club evolves and grows around him, he gets what it means, the players love him and if we improve by changing the staff around him then that’s the way forward. Binning him will make us worse, and it’ll be bad for all our souls.

Is your name John? :giggley:

Season ticket holders regularly in their hundreds not showing up tells its own story
That has always been the case though. Always.
Mostly in the bottom six to be fair. I am just careful in what we wish for.
We have had a few proper numpties as manager. SDG does not fall into that category for me. We do not, cannot, pay top dollar for players so we shop in the market we can afford.

That has always been the case though. Always.
Mostly in the bottom six to be fair. I am just careful in what we wish for.
We have had a few proper numpties as manager. SDG does not fall into that category for me. We do not, cannot, pay top dollar for players so we shop in the market we can afford.
Which is a higher market than most Scottish clubs . We can't afford to carry on like this , top 6 is no achievement