Just Back and that was for you Dad | 1875's Hibs Chat | HibeesBounce

Just Back and that was for you Dad

HistolBribs

Bristol Hibs Radge
Just back, and that was for you Dad.

Joint effort from both of 1875’s sons here.

Back to winning ways with a very comfortable performance against a pretty shite Livi team that offered very little today. 4 goals, clean sheet, no drama, and back up to 3rd, I will take it all day.

Our wee ma came with us today for the first time in 20 odd years, and we met with our uncle Nicky, auntie Karen and cousin Allan for a couple pints before the game for a toast to our Dad. We treated our mum to a Greggs’ veggie sausage roll and walked up Albion Road, very strange feeling without the big man. Our cousins Hannah, Sophie, Sonny and Hollie joined our uncle Scott, auntie Colleen and our Nana (dads’ mum), in the south stand today. Our Nana finally got to see her first Hibs win in person after 82 years. Wish you could have been there for it Dad, but I’m sure you enjoyed it anyway. No doubt you’re proud of the legacy you have left- not just a family of hibs fans, but particularly how you’ve ensured both your sons and both your nephews are as Hibs daft as you (if that’s possible).

A good line-up today and nice to see Klidje getting a start, Mulligan back in the middle and McGrath in the 10. Thibaut paid back Sir David’s faith with a fine goal early on. A lovely turn sent the the Livi centre half for a hot dog and a peach of a finish into the top corner. I think he should be starting more games, he looks class. We created a few more half chances before half time, without being outstanding. If I’m being harsh, we were a little bit flat, and even with our usual fear of conceding right before half time, we never looked under any real pressure from a livi side offering little threat. No complaints.

No changes at the half for Hibs but we came out a lot stronger and looked hungrier. Some nice touches and combination play between Mulligan, McGrath, Barlaser, Klidje and Bowie, Klidje earned a penalty shortly into the second half which McGrath tucked away nicely. We controlled the next 15/20 minutes, but barring couple of breaks from Livi which led to corners for them, they never really bothered us. The applause for Dad in the 59th minute was observed impeccably, we even saw Sir David joining in. Thank you SDG, my dad loved you dearly, and thank you to everybody else who joined.

Boyler and Junior replaced Klidje and Bowie in the 70th minute, much to our surprise as we thought Klidje was superb and it was KB’s best game for a while. Junior soon shut us up with a looping header to make it 3-0 to kill the game, and a tidy finish to make it 4 with a few minutes left. That is exactly why you’re in charge David.

4-0 but could have been whatever we wanted it to be. I’m sure you’d have taken that Dad. Hopefully this kick starts our season and we can improve on some of the success we saw last season. We have a lot of great footballers at the club right now and can be a proper threat if we get it right.

The team:

Salinger: Didn’t have much to do but solid when called upon. Distribution is very good.

O’Hora: Solid and had a couple of nice runs. Always showed for the ball.

Hanley: Absolute rock. We look so steady when he plays. I love ye Rocky but it’s hard to get in over him at the moment, comforting to have options here.

Iredale: Best game for a while, looked comfy.

Chrissy Cadden: Did fine today.

Beardy Cadden: Did fine today, and had a beard.

Mulligan: Fuckin class. I love him. Covered every blade of grass and tidy on the ball.

Barlaser: Strolled it today. A lot of nice touches, didn’t lose the ball.

McGrath: A lot of nice touches, took his penalty well, tidy player. Took a wee knock and had to go off, hopefully nothing serious.

Bowie: Best game for a while. Looked sharper, pressed well, held the ball up well, unlucky not to score in the first half with a lovely touch and volley.

Klidje: Fuckin class, scored a peach. Start him more often please Dave. Sharp, strong, good feet.

Subs:

Boyler: came on with 20 minutes to go. Made some decent runs but never really got fed.

Hoilett: Barely touched the ball but scored two good goals. Take it!

Chaiwa: looked up for it when he came on for McGrath. Would love to see him and Klidje start more often.

Campbell & Levitt: came on with 10 mins left for Barlaser and Mulligan. Not much to note.

Ref did fine. No glaring mistakes from our seat.

Livi were fucking shite. Passed the ball about fine but offered absolutely nothing going forward. Pish.

Man of the Match was given to Klidje at the game, hard to disagree. Mulligan not far behind.

We stayed behind for a while and soaked it all in before we headed to the Strathy for a few pints with the family, joined by my Dad’s uncle Terry, uncle Billy and cousin Peter. Safe to say, dad has left us all with a wealth of happy memories and fantastic stories…no doubt we will hear many more over the coming weeks! Miss ye big guy.

Apologies for the delay in posting, we may have stopped via some drinking establishments on the way home in his honour. Unfortunately we didn’t get our usual round of pies in Storries before stumbling up to Waverley, but made up for it with our weight in Guinness, a skill our Dad taught us.

RIP Dad. Love ye and miss ye dearly.

Hibernian Forever.

Brilliant Just Back! 👏🏻 Was in the FF lower today with 2 proud Evertonians from my work and I explained about the minutes applause for your Dad and they joined in with gusto.

A fine Hibs performance today. Klidge was different class, ripped that ex-Gunt/Hun Wilson to shreds for his goal

Back to winning ways with a very comfortable performance against a pretty shite Livi team that offered very little today. 4 goals, clean sheet, no drama, and back up to 3rd, I will take it all day.

Our wee ma came with us today for the first time in 20 odd years, and we met with our uncle Nicky, auntie Karen and cousin Allan for a couple pints before the game for a toast to our Dad. We treated our mum to a Greggs’ veggie sausage roll and walked up Albion Road, very strange feeling without the big man. Our cousins Hannah, Sophie, Sonny and Hollie joined our uncle Scott, auntie Colleen and our Nana (dads’ mum), in the south stand today. Our Nana finally got to see her first Hibs win in person after 82 years. Wish you could have been there for it Dad, but I’m sure you enjoyed it anyway. No doubt you’re proud of the legacy you have left- not just a family of hibs fans, but particularly how you’ve ensured both your sons and both your nephews are as Hibs daft as you (if that’s possible).

A good line-up today and nice to see Klidje getting a start, Mulligan back in the middle and McGrath in the 10. Thibaut paid back Sir David’s faith with a fine goal early on. A lovely turn sent the the Livi centre half for a hot dog and a peach of a finish into the top corner. I think he should be starting more games, he looks class. We created a few more half chances before half time, without being outstanding. If I’m being harsh, we were a little bit flat, and even with our usual fear of conceding right before half time, we never looked under any real pressure from a livi side offering little threat. No complaints.

No changes at the half for Hibs but we came out a lot stronger and looked hungrier. Some nice touches and combination play between Mulligan, McGrath, Barlaser, Klidje and Bowie, Klidje earned a penalty shortly into the second half which McGrath tucked away nicely. We controlled the next 15/20 minutes, but barring couple of breaks from Livi which led to corners for them, they never really bothered us. The applause for Dad in the 59th minute was observed impeccably, we even saw Sir David joining in. Thank you SDG, my dad loved you dearly, and thank you to everybody else who joined.

Boyler and Junior replaced Klidje and Bowie in the 70th minute, much to our surprise as we thought Klidje was superb and it was KB’s best game for a while. Junior soon shut us up with a looping header to make it 3-0 to kill the game, and a tidy finish to make it 4 with a few minutes left. That is exactly why you’re in charge David.

4-0 but could have been whatever we wanted it to be. I’m sure you’d have taken that Dad. Hopefully this kick starts our season and we can improve on some of the success we saw last season. We have a lot of great footballers at the club right now and can be a proper threat if we get it right.

The team:

Salinger: Didn’t have much to do but solid when called upon. Distribution is very good.

Hanley: Absolute rock. We look so steady when he plays. I love ye Rocky but it’s hard to get in over him at the moment, comforting to have options here.

Mulligan: Fuckin class. I love him. Covered every blade of grass and tidy on the ball.

McGrath: A lot of nice touches, took his penalty well, tidy player. Took a wee knock and had to go off, hopefully nothing serious.

Bowie: Best game for a while. Looked sharper, pressed well, held the ball up well, unlucky not to score in the first half with a lovely touch and volley.

Klidje: Fuckin class, scored a peach. Start him more often please Dave. Sharp, strong, good feet.

Subs:

Boyler: came on with 20 minutes to go. Made some decent runs but never really got fed.

Chaiwa: looked up for it when he came on for McGrath. Would love to see him and Klidje start more often.

Campbell & Levitt: came on with 10 mins left for Barlaser and Mulligan. Not much to note.

Livi were fucking shite. Passed the ball about fine but offered absolutely nothing going forward. Pish.

Man of the Match was given to Klidje at the game, hard to disagree. Mulligan not far behind.

We stayed behind for a while and soaked it all in before we headed to the Strathy for a few pints with the family, joined by my Dad’s uncle Terry, uncle Billy and cousin Peter. Safe to say, dad has left us all with a wealth of happy memories and fantastic stories…no doubt we will hear many more over the coming weeks! Miss ye big guy.

Apologies for the delay in posting, we may have stopped via some drinking establishments on the way home in his honour. Unfortunately we didn’t get our usual round of pies in Storries before stumbling up to Waverley, but made up for it with our weight in Guinness, a skill our Dad taught us.

Hibernian Forever.
Thank you lads. That must have been so difficult to write on such an emotional, tough day. Your Dad would be proud of you. It's a brilliant Just Back as well. Just superb. You've got the job, surely 🙂

The team:

Subs:

Hibernian Forever.
Really well done.Great write up.Credit to your Dad.GGTTH💚

The team:

Subs:

Hibernian Forever.
You’s are obviously your dad’s laddies , word for word that was Mark’s just back and I agree with every single comment as I usually did with your Dad . He’ll be watching and will absolutely be proud . What a great family he had and you’s have 💚🇳🇬
As he would say “ erin go bragh “

The team:

Subs:

Hibernian Forever.
Well done, you’re both certainly a chip off the old block. Excellent report - will either or both of you be continuing the JB’s.

*“I’m usually more of a reader than a poster, although I never had the chance to know your dad—yet, in a really special way, I feel like I did. Your JB read as if 1875 itself had written it, and it was so full of respect for his memory.

I really believe it would be a loss if his JBs were to stop. As the sons he was so proud of—he mentioned you in his JB all the time—I hope you might consider continuing it. Keeping his legacy alive means so much to Hibees all over the world who can’t make it to the games (nae dodgy stick 🤪), as I read it faithfully when living away from Edinburgh.

God bless you in this difficult time. Please know that your father was deeply loved by the Hibernian family.

GG2TH”

That's an incredible tribute to your Dad. As fine a Just Back that would be written by your Dad. Your loss is huge but I hope you all got some comfort from knowing and witnessing how admired and respected your Dad is. To see Sir David join in on the 59th minute really made it special. 💚
What he said. Well done lads - your Dad would be beaming with pride in his family.

You’s are obviously your dad’s laddies , word for word that was Mark’s just back and I agree with every single comment as I usually did with your Dad . He’ll be watching and will absolutely be proud . What a great family he had and you’s have 💚🇳🇬
As he would say “ erin go bragh “