Just back- and just through

1 Mcnamara

Well, it wasn’t pretty, the atmosphere was somewhat subdued in the home ends, but we are in the hat for the next round, which of course was the object of the day.
Now, I am a big fan of the legend who is SDG, but I have to admit we can seem to make hard work of games we should be out of sight at times, and today was one them games, where the longer it went on, the worse we got.
But I tell you what, we are nothing if not resilient, which is not what we have been known for in recent years. Our last 3 performances have proved that. We have dug deep and got the desired outcome on 3 huge games. Now that is progress. The silky football will have to wait for now, but in SDG I trust😁.
Onto the game itself.
We started on the front foot, with a few changes and I did wonder where the goals would come from when I seen the team. Elding had a one on one where he should have scored before a great move and smart ball from Iredale( I think 🤔 ) was confidently converted from the hard working Irishman. We made some more chances in the 1st half, hitting the bar and Lowe opting to pass a couple of times when he had a sight of goal himself. You’re not going to be top goalscorer doing that big man. I think his confidence is shot just now. Without being great we dominated the half, limiting PT to very little and we never looked troubled, and the only disappointment being we only had a single goal to show for our efforts.
2nd half , Elding had another 1 on 1 which he should have converted but a horrendous touch put paid to that, the ball coming out to McGrath who didn’t cover himself in glory with a poor effort with the keeper in no man land.
The longer the game went, the more we gave away the ball and the more Partick grew in confidence and made some decent chances. A close call with the penalty, and one chance in particular which Sallinger done well to block his near post. Loved his wee celebration when he did so.
We definitely deserved to win, but if they had equalised in the last 15, we couldn’t have complained.
All in all, I’m happy. 3 great results in a row. It’s not easy to grind results out, as we have proven in the past. Roll on Thursday.
The team
Sallinger. Excellent keeper he is turning out to be for us. Some great blocks late on
Mayor. Done a power of work today, best I have seen him for Hibs. Would get my nod for motm
Ohora solid, no nonsense, steady
Kerr. Great in the air, seems to be finding his feet a bit. Hopefully more to come from him
Iredale . Decent shift from him. Seemed to tire a bit but I thought he was decent today
Megwa. Came onto a game I thought ( as he often does) and seems to be finding a bit confidence. Defending definitely his strong point
Mulligan. Still not the player we had last year. Looks like a player who has missed preseason. Still contributes and flashes of quality.
Newell played in front of the defence and I thought had a great game. Composed, leader, dosent give the ball away. Very much underrated player imo
McGrath I thought he was quite quiet today, but done enough for pass marks
Elding. Scored, should have got at least 1 more. Great attitude , but I can’t help feeling we need a bit more from him. Maybe harsh from me
Lowe. Looks like he desperately needs a goal, though it’s hard to see where it’s coming from. Can’t fault his attitude and played a fantastic through ball ( if he meant it😝) for Elding which should have sealed it.
Subs
Campbell. Noised them up, put himself about, won a few free kicks high the park when we needed them. I love JC
Passlack. Done ok, but off the boil a bit just now
Boyle. Always a threat, other teams hate when he comes on for sure. Didn’t see very much of the ball I thought
Suto. Another who put himself about without really making much of an impact
Chaiwa seemed to give the ball away a few times when we were crying out just to look after it. I find him quite frustrating but can’t fault his attitude
Our coaches
A fantastic 8 days for the club. Take a bow. Keep,it coming
Partick
Decent performance from them, thought they looked well organised. How refreshing to have fans from Glasgow who sing football songs and don’t fill the air with bile. Decent backing from decent numbers
Ref done ok. I noticed that wee prick Ross was running the line. Horrible little cretin

Nae doubt others seen it different from me, looking forward to hearing other opinions.
Hibs go marching on Belgium, then County I have just learned.

On a couple of occasions I thought Iredale looked to be carrying an injury and was certainly limping when he went off. Would love to see him back to the player he was for us the season before last.
I thought McGrath was shaping up to have a big influence on the game but it petered out - maybe not fully fit yet?
Megwa continues to improve IMHO but the move to LB could have proved fatal for Hibs - still, he came through another game without conceding.

When you take into consideration a gruelling midweek game in North Macedonia on the back of a victory at the Hunnery, it was the result that mattered more than the performance today.

We really need to be a bit more calm on the ball. Majority of times it’s like a hot tattie and a long hoof up the park will inevitably give the ball away to the opposition, who today, like Shkëndija, could have easily taken something from the game if they knew how to finish.

The positive are that we are winning ugly. The style of fitba can only get better.

Onto Thursday we go.

It’s frustrating how deep we are at times, especially with 5 at the back. It gives the midfielders the dilemma of staying in front of them, isolating the strikers by doing so but means the team stays compact. If they midfield try to support the forwards, they leave a gap in the pocket.

When we’ve got the ball, our 3 centre halves need to get us up to the half way line then the two fullbacks need to drive forward or otherwise the system doesn’t work properly. You end up with 5 players passing the ball between themselves, which we tend to do a lot before hoofing it.

Through and up until the first 25/30 minutes , we were very good. On the front foot , dominating the game but then we just done the complete opposite for the majority of what was left of the tie. Cannot honestly help but feel that the break came at the right time for Hibs.

If it hadn’t been for Salinger making 4 wonderful saves to keep us ahead then I’m pretty sure we’d be out this evening.

Another grim watch but through which is the main thing and a semi favourable draw and the added bonus of the big two drawing each other.

Onto Thursday and hopefully another positive result against Gent.

Through and up until the first 25/30 minutes , we were very good. On the front foot , dominating the game but then we just done the complete opposite for the majority of what was left of the tie. Cannot honestly help but feel that the break came at the right time for Hibs.
As I said elsewhere we score and stop. It's shite.

Cheers for that,as always much appreciated.
Really should have been ahead by more but taking everything into consideration happy to go through.
Once last season finished I was hoping pace out wide would have been a priority, obviously not.
It's going to be a tough shift on Thursday but the team will have a well earned rest for the home tie.
Please just keep us in it hibs.

Cheers for that,as always much appreciated.
Really should have been ahead by more but taking everything into consideration happy to go through.
Once last season finished I was hoping pace out wide would have been a priority, obviously not.
It's going to be a tough shift on Thursday but the team will have a well earned rest for the home tie.
Please just keep us in it hibs.
If its still close in the tie it should be an exciting night as we are not easy to beat at ER.

We showed we can do it as we turned it on against Malasheva at home. We should be starting every home match like that and not stopping, so rare for us to pump teams nowadays.
Yeh. It is however amazing what can happen when the managers 90 minutes away from getting the bullet. It’s so coincidental that the hand break comes off and the attacking mindset comes to the fore.

A win which should have been more comfortable due to poor decision making from the players.
Mayor who seems to have came on to a game should have passed to Lowe for a simple tap in

Fitbaw is about winning. Competing in Europe while professing in the cup isn’t something this club has ever done well, so I’m happy we’re through to the next round!

Winning is all that matters right now. I don't think we are a good watch, but I'd rather enjoy the rest of my Sunday winning one nil, than losing 3-2

On a couple of occasions I thought Iredale looked to be carrying an injury and was certainly limping when he went off. Would love to see him back to the player he was for us the season before last.
I thought McGrath was shaping up to have a big influence on the game but it petered out - maybe not fully fit yet?
Megwa continues to improve IMHO but the move to LB could have proved fatal for Hibs - still, he came through another game without conceding.

Iredale then Megwa at left back. Here's a mental idea. Why not buy a decent left back.

Good to get through, but the game should have been secured long before the end.
We just make too many bad decisions in the last third and are nowhere near clinical enough.
I like Lowe and Elding, but IMO we need an experienced striker in to mentor them.

Thought Megwa had a good game. He just does the basics well.
He's an out and out defender, but today I thought he looked more confident going forward as well.
Kerr is getting better by the week, and O'Hora as always put in a top performance.
I can't understand why Suto isn't played as a target man striker.
He's some unit, is strong and and good on the ball, he just doesn't look like a winger or wide player to me.
Joe Newell was excellent in the first half especially, tired a wee bit in the second half but so did several others.

Onwards to Thursday night and a difficult first leg in Belgium
Really hope we can stay in the tie to give us a chance at Easter Road.