Junior Doctors

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
£18 an hour?
Seems a pittance compared tae trasesmen.

Average day rate Average hourly rate
Bricklayer £240–£320 -
Builder £300 £38
Carpenter £240–£360 £30–£45
Electrician £300–£500 £40–£70
Gardener £150–£250 £19–£31
Kitchen fitter £250–£350 -
Labourer £112–£280 £14–£35
Landscaper £180–£280 £25
Painter and decorator £250–£350 £30–£40
Plasterer £300 £37.50
Plumber £320–£480 £40–£60
Roofer £280–£360 £35–£45
Scaffolder £280–£320 -
Tiler £200–£350 £40
Window cleaner - £15–£40
Window fitter £200–£250 £25–£35
Last updated: July 2024
Our costs are ballpark averages.

£18 an hour?

Bricklayer £240–£320 -
Builder £300 £38
Landscaper £180–£280 £25
Plasterer £300 £37.50
Roofer £280–£360 £35–£45
Scaffolder £280–£320 -
Tiler £200–£350 £40
Window cleaner - £15–£40
Are brickies really on 75k a year, and plumbers near a 100k?

I hae ma doobts.

Sounds like some typically robust lefty economics where - at best - someone is confusing the cost of a painter and decorator with what a painter and decorator earns. And more likely just plucked it oot their bahookie.

As for doctors, once they stop being basically paid students they are soon on the way to six figures. Though apparently destined to remain poorer than many sparks
:coffee1:

Meant tae add, you retired too early Jimmy, 30 bucks an hour... and nae tax :gigglle:

Aye, Ken a few tradesmen and none of them are anywhere near the upper end of any of them. As egb says it might be what firms charge no’ what the tradesmen get paid.
It’s not about the money apparently it’s because they cannae get jobs when they qualify and there was me thinking we needed a’ they doctors coming across on boats because we didnae have enough.

I hae ma doobts.

Sounds like some typically robust lefty economics where - at best - someone is confusing the cost of a painter and decorator with what a painter and decorator earns. And more likely just plucked it oot their bahookie.

As for doctors, once they stop being basically paid students they are soon on the way to six figures. Though apparently destined to remain poorer than many sparks
Checkatrade. That well known lefty website 😆

I hae ma doobts.

Might be skewed by London rates in some cases - £40 p/h for cleanin’ windaes? Wait till I tell the wife!

As anecdotal examples, not of how much they earn. The painter and decorator I used a couple of years ago spent weeks at a time, a few times a year; the builder seemed to spend more time in Fuerteventura than the UK; my mate, who's a car mechanic has more money than he knows what to do with and another guy that labours on the building sites sees family and friends in Boston a couple of times a year.

Those that are good at what they do earn well.

Here is what trades earn from a trades site.

1000009271.jpg

For some reasons I can't post the link but it's trades4u if anyone wants to google

Sparks and shithoose mechanics are always at the top of the tree regarding wages.

Id say the rate at the moment in Edinburgh for decorators would be around £18/25 per hour.

Might be skewed by London rates in some cases - £40 p/h for cleanin’ windaes? Wait till I tell the wife!
I just telt her it’s gonni cost her more.
She only gives me 2quid a windae!

Sparks and shithoose mechanics are always at the top of the tree regarding wages.

Id say the rate at the moment in Edinburgh for decorators would be around £18/25 per hour.
Sparks turn up tae jobs in designer gear Jimmy. Fuckin minted 😉

As egb says it might be what firms charge no’ what the tradesmen get paid.
Nae idea what he said but self employed will get well paid. Had tae get a plumber masel a few weeks ago, lucky if he was in the hoose for an hour and a half and hit me for £50.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Well failed with me. Apart from the fact doctors shouldn't strike, her argument is all over the place

- it uses a trumped up figure
- jobs oversubscribed 14 to 1 in applicants, doesnt really scream underpaid
- she wants many more doctors and also for them to be better paid : that doesn't really go either
- setting hooky figures aside, I'm sure doctors are worse of than 2008. So are most others. Britain is bust, and is getting buster handing out one pay rise after another to the likes of them

What I do agree on - though she doesn't mention it's why there is such a surplus of applicants - is it's a disgrace that the NHS imports doctors in preference to newly minted British doctors. But that's globalism for ya, and I wonder if the BMA would ever stand against that. Hoist by their own petard on that one I expect.

I also agree that the NHS is a shambles from staffing levels on down : but would the BMA support reform? That petard again, then.

Cake and eat it stuff. Multiple cakes tbh.

is it around £800m to make our Drs accept a deal? and private water companies have been handed around £5000m?
Not sure what this is so I googled it. If its the same as what I found, 4.3b of that is coming from water companies and its for massive infrastructure build - new reservoirs etc

So how does that compare to 800m per year forever more for no change to today other than another hefty pay rise for student doctors, who once they make their bones will be minted anyway - unless the NHS undercut them with imported doctors that is?

There is a big difference between capital expenditure aka investment and operational expenditure , ie day to day running costs.

The former provides you with an asset that returns on what you put in. The latter is an expense of doing what you do, which has to be covered by what you earn or you go bust. Obviously different in significant ways for state services but the basic principle carries - it's a cost that has to pay for itself with outcomes or you're going down the cludge sooner or later.

Thats not to say the water companies are not also a shitshow, because like much else in Britain they evidently are. But this isnt an apples to apples comparison

£18 an hour?

Bricklayer £240–£320 -
Builder £300 £38
Landscaper £180–£280 £25
Plasterer £300 £37.50
Roofer £280–£360 £35–£45
Scaffolder £280–£320 -
Tiler £200–£350 £40
Window cleaner - £15–£40
Pay the doctors. And the nurses. And all the NHS frontline staff.

They don't? Well its about time they did.
*&*^ profiteering on the back of the working classes.

The top 1% of income taxpayers (earning over approximately £214,000 annually) earn around 13% of total income but contribute nearly 29% of all income tax.

The top 10% of income taxpayers pay over 60% of all income tax receipts.