Japan

Haruki

Whilst I'm here...

Has anyone been?

I'm planning something along the lines of this;

Japan travel, Japan Holidays, Japan Tours - Cultural Japan 2012

next March but was wondering if there was any better way of doing it?

Any advice gratefully received as I don't know a single person that's been before and I'm mistrustful of the internet. Irony acknowledged.

Anyway, away to watch the football. Am I still banned between certain hours? Because I can get drunk at any time brothers :smug:

Whilst I'm here...

Has anyone been?

Any advice gratefully received as I don't know a single person that's been before and I'm mistrustful of the internet. Irony acknowledged.

Anyway, away to watch the football. Am I still banned between certain hours? Because I can get drunk at any time brothers :smug:

if you havent read this then you should

37438.jpg

Whilst I'm here...

Has anyone been?

Hiya bambam. Nice to see you are back in the fold dude.

Nice to see you back H, sticking around?
Japan is a country I would like to visit myself, the whole of Asia actually is on my bucket list. Hope all is good ya radge :thumbgrin

Whilst I'm here...

Has anyone been?

I have been there on several business trips so didnae pay a bolt. If you are not going on one of those package efforts, like anywhere you can pay as much or as little to suit your budget. I guess it is similar prices to the UK. Plenty of relatively cheap eateries everywhere and accommodation certainly cheaper than what folk are getting suckered for at the Edinburgh Festival. A lot less expensive compared to Scandinavian countries. My most memorable trip was on a return flight from Narita Airport to Gatwick when I was bizarrely sat beside, had a laugh with and got pished with, the lads from the Edinburgh punk band The Exploited. The Japanese travelers didnae know what to make of it all.

if you havent read this then you should

37438.jpg

Cheers min.

Hiya bambam. Nice to see you are back in the fold dude.

Cheers min.

most ignorant people I've ever met

Really? Everything I've read, or even experienced, has been the polar opposite. Overly friendly, polite and apologetic if anything.

Nice to see you back H, sticking around?
Japan is a country I would like to visit myself, the whole of Asia actually is on my bucket list. Hope all is good ya radge :thumbgrin

Cheers min. All good in da hood, hope likewise is similar. Won't be posting the drunken gibberish of bygone eras but may take a gander in when time permits.

I have been there on several business trips so didnae pay a bolt. If you are not going on one of those package efforts, like anywhere you can pay as much or as little to suit your budget. I guess it is similar prices to the UK. Plenty of relatively cheap eateries everywhere and accommodation certainly cheaper than what folk are getting suckered for at the Edinburgh Festival. A lot less expensive compared to Scandinavian countries. My most memorable trip was on a return flight from Narita Airport to Gatwick when I was bizarrely sat beside, had a laugh with and got pished with, the lads from the Edinburgh punk band The Exploited. The Japanese travelers didnae know what to make of it all.

Struggling to see a way to do it without a package thing tbh. The language barrier will be pretty huge I'd imagine? I'll pick up what I can but there's three different versions of the alphabet or something and the letters are based on concepts rather than sounds I think :surp@ Thanks for the comments though, it's a very hard place to get any first hand advice about. Southfield about? Do you do any of these sorts of things?

Whilst I'm here...Has anyone been?I'm planning something along the lines of this;Japan travel, Japan Holidays, Japan Tours - Cultural Japan 2012next March but was wondering if there was any better way of doing it?Any advice gratefully received as I don't know a single person that's been before and I'm mistrustful of the internet. Irony acknowledged.Anyway, away to watch the football. Am I still banned between certain hours? Because I can get drunk at any time brothers :smug:
Been a couple of times and loved it, stayed in Kyoto - go to Kyoto stay website for reasonable priced apartments. Get yourself a Japan rail pass before you go, gets you round the country on the bullet trains and is cheaper than getting tickets while you are there and way cheaper than flying. Get acopy of teach yourself Japanese by Helen Gilhooley, CD and book and in about 6 weeks you'll be able to talk yourself out of Trouble or in to it. Take loads of Japanese cash, you won't get mugged and they aren,'t keen on eftpos. Banks charge a hefty fee for using the ATM's as well. Cool people, cool country, has its bad points but that just makes the good points even better. You'll love it.

Arigatou tomochadi.

I'll cerainly check that book although I can't help noticing the slightest similarity between the author's surname and your username kind sir. Touch of nepotism perchance? :giggle:

I'm not sure your kind advice regarding the trains is relevant to me I'm afraid as I can see no way other than a package holiday that I can do this? I'm probably flying solo and, I'll be honest, the prospect of being lost in the middle of Tokyo on my own scares me somewhat.

Cash advice heeded with thanks.

And, of course, every country has its good points/bad points. I just watched under the skin and am not sure how we came out of that. I'd read the book years ago but it must be an entirely different film to someone who hasn't. I digress. Thanks for the advice. Any more welcome. Phones? Data sharing? Advice? What I've read is somewhat hazy.

Murakami's latest is an almost effortless piece of brilliance btw. Like Hamsun's "Growth of the Soil" nothing much happens but the writing just sweeps you along like a curling stone swept by invisible sources. Quite.

Arigatou tomochadi.I'll cerainly check that book although I can't help noticing the slightest similarity between the author's surname and your username kind sir. Touch of nepotism perchance? :giggle:I'm not sure your kind advice regarding the trains is relevant to me I'm afraid as I can see no way other than a package holiday that I can do this? I'm probably flying solo and, I'll be honest, the prospect of being lost in the middle of Tokyo on my own scares me somewhat. Cash advice heeded with thanks.And, of course, every country has its good points/bad points. I just watched under the skin and am not sure how we came out of that. I'd read the book years ago but it must be an entirely different film to someone who hasn't. I digress. Thanks for the advice. Any more welcome. Phones? Data sharing? Advice? What I've read is somewhat hazy.Murakami's latest is an almost effortless piece of brilliance btw. Like Hamsun's "Growth of the Soil" nothing much happens but the writing just sweeps you along like a curling stone swept by invisible sources. Quite.
Helen Gilhooly's accent sounds more Holyrood palace than Holyrood high school, so definitely not from my tree.Murakami's book 'Underground' is brilliant but doesn't half make you paranoid when you are on a Tokyo train. I stopped reading him when IQ84 came out, I just couldn't get into it at all, but I'll give the new one a go.

:-)

Kinda agree about Murakami. When I first read him it was something hugely fresh to me. But then I started thinking he was Japan's version of Stephen King. Agree IQ84 wasn't great but I actually really liked his latest.

Booked it now anyway. Buckie's tip was one of the funniest things I've read. A witty writer talking about a very funny people. I'm just doing it all myself now. Flights are booked and I'm just waiting to suss the sumo tour before I book the hotels. And have half learned the language. Speaking that is, I think reading it is beyond me in 6 months. Speaking it's not that hard though. I'm sure it would be far harder for them to learn English.

Little bit scared because I'm doing it myself. But hugely looking forward to it too. At minimum, it will be an experience.

taka no me mo
ima ya kure nu to
naku uzura

Thats is to say

When the dusk sets in
and hawks can no longer see -
the quail cry loudly.

Basho. 1644-1694

Thanks Basho :happyhugg

Went last year, loved it. You won't have trouble with the language in terms of getting around Tokyo, all the subway and overground stations are in English and people are helpful. In big stations there's often a marked help/ticket window which specifically has an English speaker.

If you like ramen, sushi, all that kind of stuff you're in for a treat. You can eat really well fairly cheaply, and even basic places are of a consistently high standard.

Places to consider going, off the top of my head

Suzuran in Shibuya. Quality ramen-ya in Shibuya. Only plays Carpenters songs, not particularly ironically

Tsukiji fish market. Massive market where they auction the big tuna every morning and generally trade an enormous amount of fish and other slithery stuff. Great little counter sushi bars dotted about. You have to go early

TMGO building (think it's in Shinjuku). Open to the public for amazing views from high above the city

Golden Gai. If you duck off the path here you find yourself in a maze of tiny (and I mean tiny, like four seater) bars. Often they are themed (death metal, punk, horror films etc) and they only shut when the customers leave

Daikanyama and Meguro. Nice, slightly posh area with good shops and calmer vibe. You can walk along the canal and go to Cow Books if you like photography and art stuff.

Meiji Shrine. In the park by Shinjuku. Very calm, which is unusual in Tokyo. Other ones maybe worth a visit are Asakasa (sp?) in the north east of the city, and the Golden Temple and Water Temple in Kyoto.

Yoyoji Park and Harajuku. Good for wandering about and wtf fashion moments.

I also loved indoor barbecue restaurants. Can't remember any specifically, but basically you pay by the hour and can eat and drink as much as you like. Almost everyone in them is smashed. Likewise there are great 'restaurants' all over the place that only sell noodles and gyoza and booze. Basically the salaryman equivalent of the post-work pint, but delicious, and again, everyone is usually hammered.

uray-amashi
utsukushiu natte
chiru momiji

that is to say

Coveted by all,
turning into such beauty -
the falling red leaves

Shiko 1665-1731

Thanks Shiko :hug:

edit : had to hyphen the first word as the bounce filters changed it to uraGUNTashi !!:laff::laff:

hizakari ya
yoshikiri ni kawa no
oto mo nashi

that is to say

The silence of the high noon;
the river runs soundlessly-
so reed birds nest

Issa (1762-1826)

Thank you Issa:hugs:

I've always wanted to go to Japan, it just seems so different to the rest of the world; alien. The geography & the culture.

Up until reading Henry's post, I was under the impression it would be an absolute nightmare to visit without an English speaking guide as a good friend had said as much, someone who'd spent 2 years going there regulalry for business. Perhaps I got mixed up though, I really did want to see the rural areas, the completely bonkers geology / topography. Truly epic. That may have skewed her advice.

Have a guid one, man. Be sure and report back.

Any excuse to roll oot this classic.

[video=youtube;gEmJ-VWPDM4]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEmJ-VWPDM4&sns=em[/video]

I've always wanted to go to Japan, it just seems so different to the rest of the world; alien. The geography & the culture.

Up until reading Henry's post, I was under the impression it would be an absolute nightmare to visit without an English speaking guide as a good friend had said as much, someone who'd spent 2 years going there regulalry for business. Perhaps I got mixed up though, I really did want to see the rural areas, the completely bonkers geology / topography. Truly epic. That may have skewed her advice.

Have a guid one, man. Be sure and report back.

Should say my advice skews heavily to Tokyo. Once you get out of there it becomes a bit trickier in terms of lingo etc.

But I certainly wouldn't have much trepidation about going - throw yrself in, be friendly, get a few tips on where to go, and you'll have a great time.

Been a while but but thanks to Buckie for the book tip, which was excellent, and mgilhooly2 for the Helen Gilhooly book/cd tip, from which I've probably lazily learnt just about enough to get around the place.

Away in 3 weeks to tour round Tokyo, Takayama, Kanazawa, Kyoto, Mt Koya, Hiroshima and Miyajima and do such things as do a day's Ninja training, learn to make sushi at Tsukiji fish market, stay a night in a Buddhist temple and, of course, visit the Robot Restaurant. All booked by myself.

I'm currently in a mixed state of excitement at the adventure to come and trepidation that I'm going to have to fly round half the world and then navigate my way round a country with few English speakers and where even the letters they write with are totally different to ours. On my own. Bearing in mind I grew up in a village with three streets and still get lost in the bustling metropolis of Wick, this is no small step for me. Hmm. Thankfully they seem to be the most helpful, kindest people on the planet and their train system is probably even Haruki-proof. Just got to learn the difference between the kanji for "male" and "female" and I'm sure I'll be fine. What could possibly go wrong?

Been a while but but thanks to Buckie for the book tip, which was excellent, and mgilhooly2 for the Helen Gilhooly book/cd tip, from which I've probably lazily learnt just about enough to get around the place.

Away in 3 weeks to tour round Tokyo, TakaGunta, Kanazawa, Kyoto, Mt Koya, Hiroshima and Miyajima and do such things as do a day's Ninja training, learn to make sushi at Tsukiji fish market, stay a night in a Buddhist temple and, of course, visit the Robot Restaurant. All booked by myself.

I'm currently in a mixed state of excitement at the adventure to come and trepidation that I'm going to have to fly round half the world and then navigate my way round a country with few English speakers and where even the letters they write with are totally different to ours. On my own. Bearing in mind I grew up in a village with three streets and still get lost in the bustling metropolis of Wick, this is no small step for me. Hmm. Thankfully they seem to be the most helpful, kindest people on the planet and their train system is probably even Haruki-proof. Just got to learn the difference between the kanji for "male" and "female" and I'm sure I'll be fine. What could possibly go wrong?

Taka-y-a-m-a, that was. Children, children. lol.

Away in 3 weeks to tour round Tokyo, TakaGunta, Kanazawa, Kyoto, Mt Koya, Hiroshima and Miyajima and do such things as do a day's Ninja training, learn to make sushi at Tsukiji fish market, stay a night in a Buddhist temple and, of course, visit the Robot Restaurant. All booked by myself.

Hey A how's tricks san :wink: Is this a fleeting visit or are you back for good as take that would say.

Genki desu tomodachi.

Fleeting, I would imagine Iain. Don't spend so much time crouched in front of the internet as I used to and they've also banned me from the only time the wine kicks in when I'm drinking solo. Fair enough given some of the sh'te I used to start talking half-way down the second bottle I suppose.

I was in Yo-Sushi tonight in Princes St. First time I've went Japanese. Twas fantastic! Hurrah :smilie_flagge20:

Been there, done that. Countless green tea ice creams later I am home.

Going to keep this as brief as I can for brevity's sake.

Tokyo : Only 4 days so I saw only a fraction but I loved it. Possibly in the same sort of awe as London due to me growing up in a three street village but that's the neep I am. Had a food tour first night and drank sake with some yanks, Ozzies and kiwis, really good time. Tour guide was half Swiss/half Japanese and possibly the most beautiful woman I've ever seen. Next day ninja training which was a little bit intimidating and a little silly if I'm to be entirely honest. Still, I'm now a killer. Then onto the Robot Restaurant which was probably the best show I've seen in my life. Sake fueled but I just smiled and smiled the whole way through. Fantastic, my highlight of the trip. Then got in tow with a couple of Americans, ended up at a club and got mugged by a Korean stripper, had a knife pulled on me by a black American and went home about 400 lighter than I should have. Hazy night, I had no desire to go to strippers and never do anywhere, yet it was me mugged and ending up in a police station in Tokyo. Still, a story, huh? Sushi lesson the next day and, although I was still drunk enough to fillet my first ever fish, the hangover kicked in right about the time I shouldn't have been showing off to some kiwi chick how much wasabi I could put on my sushi. It amused her when my face turned inside out as I ate it but I don't think it gave her romantic ideas. Then bus tour round Tokyo, saily round Tokyo bay, crossed Shibuya crossing, took some pictures from the Metropolitan building and back to the hotel.

Then onto Takayama and Kanazawa which was old school Geisha/Samurai stuff and also my first Onsen. Strange feeling climbing naked into an 11th floor hot bath with 4 naked Japanese guys but hey-ho.

Kyoto then which was all temples and shrines and what not. Cool, but I can't be bothered elaborating.

Then Koya-san, and a night in a Buddhist temple which involved a meditation session with the monks, a tour around Okunoin cemetery and Kobo Daishi's mausoleum. Then morning ceremony (6am on a Sunday for me) and the Goma fire ritual immediately after.

Then a bus, a cable car, 7 trains and a ferry to Miyajima. Cable car to the top of Mt Misen and a quite simply amazing walk back down it, encountering all sorts of Buddhist things including about 200 mini Buddhas wearing woolen hats for no reason I've sussed. I loved Miyajima. Visited Hiroshima from my base in Miyajima too and found it far more harrowing than I expected it to.

Then a final day in Tokyo where I went on a tour of Mount Fiji where I saw no part of Mount Fiji and then home.

Loved it and I will almost certainly go to at least Tokyo and Mount Fiji again if fortune allows me.

The people were incredibly friendly and accommodating. You pull a map out anywhere and immediately it's "I help you?" I sat on a low shop front in Kanazawa, pulled a map out to see where to go next, and a teenage boy almost immediately pulled a skid and jumped out beside me and studied my map. "Where? I take you. No money. I help." Humbling and a clear highlight of the different cultures. In Scotland I'd have said, "Just take my wallet. I have children. Let me live please."

Ridiculously easy to get round the places I mentioned. I spoke some Japanese and they almost all smiled and nodded as if to say, "Very good you clown but.." and then proceeded to tell me where to go in English. On the few occasions my hosts had the audacity not to speak my language we got by with a few smiles and hand signals.

I haven't even half done it justice here but don't want to bore anyone.

Anyone planning this utterly amazing land then I will give all the advice and help I can. I felt daunted before I went and could not believe how easy it was. Wasn't expensive either. My 16 nights, which ranged from cheap Tokyo digs to expensive Ryokans, came in at under 700. Try that in Britain. I ate out often and it was never more than a tenner for a meal with a beer. Sake is under 2 for a third bottle of wine equivalent that's far stronger.

Quote this post so that I get an e-mail though, I've kinda gone off internet anything.

Kris, I've lost your number due to phone contract idiocy on my part. Email/PM me pal.

Arrigatto Gozaiamas!

But to elaborate slightly on Kyoto, I walked the Philosopher's Path during full cherry blossom.

It was pretty much full cherry blossom everywhere I went.

Not normally into pink flowers but when in Japan it's a big thing and it signifies their somewhat buddhist thinking of how beautiful and respected the ephemeralty of life is. They come and go for about 2 weeks in Japan, starting in the South and spreading to the North, with their weather forecasts being far more more obsessed by the blossom that the weather. They have parties in their parks when they arrive and it's a very nice time to be there. Obviously that's why I went when I did but I still got very lucky to catch in so fully.

Arrigato Gozaiamas!

Sounds like you had a fantastic time.Can I ask, what was the weather like and how much were your flights?

Of course you can.

Return flight from Heathrow was about 550. That was booked about 5 months before hand. Cost me more to get to Heathtrow and back. So be it.

The weather was slightly cold when I arrived. I got sunburnt when I went North then which makes no sense, And then it snowed in even Tokyo on my last day. Nothing and everything makes sense in Japan. Me, japan and Zen agree wholeheartedly that nothing is what it seems. So, expect the unexpected in Japan. lol

I deliberately went at the end of March to hit the Cherry Blossom season though, which is a big thing in Japan due to how much it echoes their philosophies regarding the ephemeral nature of existence. It gets rainy and humid in the summer but generally their weather is as unpredictable as ours.

Oh, and the food.

Incredibly brilliant.

From the first Onigri I had in a convi-stor to the okonomiyaki in hiroshima. So good.

I'm no foody but I just loved everything they served right up to that little octopus thing the entire country had quite obviously hidden behind the rice balls in my bento. lol.

One time I arrived in a restaurant where no-one spoke English. All smiles and bows so I asked for a menu. Bows, smiles and menu arrived but I had to smile as I released it was entirely written in Kanji and whatnot and not even a romanji character. Never mind. I asked for the speciality in Japanese and more bows and lovable smiles. Then I got served a bowl of cold noodles, a wee raw egg and a little plate of, eh, powder. F#ck it, I just mixed it all together and ate it.

Was ok, but then then a guy from the only other table that had people came with a plate of tempura and insisted I have it to many "Arrigatto Gozaiamas" from me. He shouted at the chef than and got me other things and refused, very insistently, not to take a penny from me. That was Otsu too, not a huge place. But he was very happy to have been kind to me. Bowing away and most distraught when he realised I'd bought them all a beer before I left. Seriously, just the kindest people. Help others is their default instinct and I'm the same I truly hope. It seems obvious to me that's the way to be.