Jam House in Queen Street closes permanently

Really sad news.
I was a regular there for many years at the week-ends, great Saturday night out.
They had some fantastic house bands, a big dance floor, and it was a great atmosphere when there was a good crowd in.
It had definitely gone downhill a bit over the last six or seven years, but it was still a great night out.
It was a great live venue as well. Saw a few really good gigs there.
No surprise to see it close with what is going on, but sad to see nonetheless. It won't be the last I fear.

Old BBC building, can’t say I frequented it but went to see Geno Washington there once plus a couple of truly terrible work Christmas parties years ago

Went there wi a mate years ago oot ma heid wi the bevvy. Mates tellin me tae try stand up straight as we approached the door. Bouncers shook his heid and ma mate says, he’s no that bad, bouncer said tae him, aye he’s awrite your no. ?

Edinburgh is a real desert, when it comes to music venues large and small. At one time you could see live music virtually every night of the week. Ones I have attended but now no more include....
The Preservation Hall
The Gamp
Magoo's
The Gonk Club
Calton Studios
Nicky Tams
The Eldorado
Hoochie Coochie Club
Cas Rock
The Blues Basement
Tiffanys/Cinderella Rockerfellas
The Venue
The Transport Halls (Annandale Bus Depot, only in the late 70's)
Edinburgh University Student's (when in Chamber Street)
Yellow Carvel
Odeon Cinema
The International/West End Club
The Caley Cinema....

Off the top of my head but there are definately more I can't remember .

Went there loads not too long after it opened around 2006-ish? Was a good place to finish off a night out. Always took runners-up spot to Harry's Bar in the grab-a-granny stakes though :evil:

@GORDONSMITH7 my dad had The Preservation Hall from about 1982 until I think 1987. Had plenty good memories of running about there when I was a kid. Seem to recall the music being pretty varied, but the Jazz Festival in particular stands out. Good times.

It was a great venue, varied as you say, Jazz, Blues, Folk. Ask your auld man if he was still there or remembers in 1988 the Blues and Boogie Festival there that had bands on every night during the Fringe.
A few years later I saw the brilliant Dr Feelgood there twice.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Now it's one of those ridiculously, crappy Irish themed bars. Good swap, eh!

Frisco's/Annabelles
George Square Theatre (70"s)
Eric Brown's in Dalry. Saw many punk bands there.
White Elephant/Valentino's/Muscular Arms