Is Scottish football being shortchanged by TV deals?

I have alwys been of the opinion that we are getting shafted.....

Thoughts

Pretty sure I read that we get about half of what equivalent leagues in Norway, Sweden, Belgium etc. get.

Doesn't help that our national broadcaster spends our license fees on England's league - if I recall correctly the Beeb pays about 70 x to the English Leagues what it does for the Scottish for only 10 x the population.

Edit: Sorry, the real details can be found in Dub's link :-)

The BBC have got right on my tattie, sorry tattie, this week.

The whole of last Sunday was a bloody results programme for the FA cup before the big teams were even in it. What relevance is there to a Scottish audience that some tiny wee team in some English backwater were getting beaten by someone even smaller?

Then, yesterday I think it was, Oxford University Vs Cambridge University in some rugby match.

Who gives a fuck up here, both programmes probably had a Scottish audience of less than a dozen!

They palm us off with any old English shite because Scottish sport isn't of any interest to us.

The BBC have got right on my tattie, sorry tattie, this week.

The whole of last Sunday was a bloody results programme for the FA cup before the big teams were even in it. What relevance is there to a Scottish audience that some tiny wee team in some English backwater were getting beaten by someone even smaller?

Then, yesterday I think it was, Oxford University Vs Cambridge University in some rugby match.

Who gives a fuck up here, both programmes probably had a Scottish audience of less than a dozen!

They palm us off with any old English shite because Scottish sport isn't of any interest to us.

There is a quote in the piece I put up: “Supporters in Scotland tell us they enjoy watching highlights programmes of both the Scottish Premiership and the English Premier League and we don’t believe that audiences in Scotland are being short-changed.

Now that may be correct but it doesnt mean that we want hour after hour of english sport with half an hour of Scottish footie shoehorned in. I emailed the Beeb once and got roughly that same reply.

I bet more Scots watch Match of the Day than Sportscene. I bet more Scots sky sports subscribers watch English premiership matches than Scottish ones. I bet we've all been in pubs heaving for big English matches (with folk actually cheering the goals!) and dead for the Scottish ones.

The guardians of the game are selling us short but the public have to take a look at themselves as well.

I bet more Scots watch Match of the Day than Sportscene. I bet more Scots sky sports subscribers watch English premiership matches than Scottish ones. I bet we've all been in pubs heaving for big English matches (with folk actually cheering the goals!) and dead for the Scottish ones.

The guardians of the game are selling us short but the public have to take a look at themselves as well.

Agreed.

I agree with that but instead of blaming the supporters we should be blaming the BBC and SKY for having lopsided coverage and particularly the amount of english football shown. If you pump it into the airwaves hour after hour with little choice of watching other football then its always likely that people will be seduced by it, which of course is the point of doing it.

I am not one of thos people you mention incidentally. If a Scottish game is on at the same time as an english game I will always watch the Scottish one and the only joy I really get from watching english footie in the pub is if one team is not being supported by the "fans" [say it's Manure V Norwich and all these pretend Manure fans are in the pub cheering "their team" on] I can support the other team and cheer loudly if they score just to annoy the pretentious pricks that think they are actual fans. There is an exception in my local though - a guy from Manchester who supported citeh in the bad old days so he's allowed to cheer because he's an actual supporter.

PS. As for the Champions League - I couldn't even tell you what teams are still in it such is my interest.

I agree with that but instead of blaming the supporters we should be blaming the BBC and SKY for having lopsided coverage and particularly the amount of english football shown. If you pump it into the airwaves hour after hour with little choice of watching other football then its always likely that people will be seduced by it, which of course is the point of doing it.

I am not one of thos people you mention incidentally. If a Scottish game is on at the same time as an english game I will always watch the Scottish one and the only joy I really get from watching english footie in the pub is if one team is not being supported by the "fans" [say it's Manure V Norwich and all these pretend Manure fans are in the pub cheering "their team" on] I can support the other team and cheer loudly if they score just to annoy the pretentious pricks that think they are actual fans. There is an exception in my local though - a guy from Manchester who supported citeh in the bad old days so he's allowed to cheer because he's an actual supporter.

PS. As for the Champions League - I couldn't even tell you what teams are still in it such is my interest.
Me too. And my local. If games clash most will be watching the fitba on the big screen with just a passing glance for the football on the telly in the corner, and constant eyes are watching the bastardin' incessant horse racing on tother.

Never watch EPL games, totally disinterested,dinnae have sky and there is definitely an imbalance on council telly on what is paid tae Scottish fitba'and what is shown. Although I live down south and love watching Hibs on the telly when I cannae come up I'm one o' thae Luddites that believe fitba' should be played 3 pm Saturday and nae telly except highlights

Pretty sure I read that we get about half of what equivalent leagues in Norway, Sweden, Belgium etc. get.

Doesn't help that our national broadcaster spends our license fees on England's league - if I recall correctly the Beeb pays about 70 x to the English Leagues what it does for the Scottish for only 10 x the population.

Edit: Sorry, the real details can be found in Dub's link :-)

Think it was a St. Johnstone fan's blog called 'A Saintee in Asia' -

The SFA/SPL TV myth: how we compare to Europe | A Saintee in Asia...

It's a good read, at the time I'm sure the 'Sunday Herald' printed a lot of his stuff as it basically ripped Reagan and (especially) Doncaster up for a**e-paper !!

P.s - nice wee interesting bit from Stenhousemuir about the Hun/Sevco and the 'Facts and figures' they were given from Reagan & Doncaster re what league the s*um should be put into - a bit 'economic' with the truth it seems, the 'Laurel & Hardy' of Scottish Football !!