Ironing

Findlayhibby

Should have been left back in the iron age.I've got a basket full of ironing that hasnae seen an iron in about two years.I just cannae be bothered.

I used to do the family's ironing to earn a few bob to go out; from my mum when I was on the dole.Once you get into the zone ironing isnae too bad.It's just the thought of it now.

Mrs Jackie insists on ironing stuff.

Something I have never got the hang of. Even to the point of in between marriages when I stayed in a shared flat we had a woman come in to do the cleaning and ironing once a week. Aye, I canny say I do much cleaning either 😅

I love Ironing.

Put something on the telly that you don't have to concentrate on or put on some music.

I find it really therapeutic, it's like you are ironing out the creases in your life.

My mum was terrible at ironing (she was fantastic at most other things). Used to have tram lines on my school shirts and trousers and that would never do for someone who always wanted to look smart!!

So i took on ironing for my mum, dad, brother and 2 sisters. Didnae have to do any other chores.

I love Ironing.

Put something on the telly that you don't have to concentrate on or put on some music.

I find it really therapeutic
, it's like you are ironing out the creases in your life.

My mum was terrible at ironing (she was fantastic at most other things). Used to have tram lines on my school shirts and trousers and that would never do for someone who always wanted to look smart!!

So i took on ironing for my mum, dad, brother and 2 sisters. Didnae have to do any other chores.
Absolutely agree

I love Ironing.

I find it really therapeutic, it's like you are ironing out the creases in your life.

Same here, except the mum part. When my bro and I started working it was 30% digs or 20% if we did our own washing and ironing.
I do all the household ironing still, music or audiobook for company 👍

I do all the ironing here. When I was in the polis and we still wore white shirts, you could have shaved with the standard of creases my shirt sleeves and trousers.
The secret was not to use an ironing board but a wide plank of wood on the floor. Lay a wooden ruler on top and place the trouser crease along the ruler. Cover with a dry cloth handkerchief and use a very hot iron with nae steam onto where the crease is and push down your body weight for 2 seconds and slide the iron off the crease pointing away from you. Repeat the full length of the trouser leg.
I was the only one on my college course of 150 that got awarded a A+

I do all the ironing here. When I was in the polis and we still wore white shirts, you could have shaved with the standard of creases my shirt sleeves and trousers.
The secret was not to use an ironing board but a wide plank of wood on the floor. Lay a wooden ruler on top and place the trouser crease along the ruler. Cover with a dry cloth handkerchief and use a very hot iron with nae steam onto where the crease is and push down your body weight for 2 seconds and slide the iron off the crease pointing away from you. Repeat the full length of the trouser leg.
I was the only one on my college course of 150 that got awarded a A+
Hmm didny know there was a degree in ironing , doubt I’d be that good 🤣

I do the ironing in my household - only took over that duty last year.
Admittedly I'm not very good at it, but I don't mind doing it.

Only yase an iron for funerals and weddings for shirts, suits hung up correctly to wear after a dry clean, , jeans t shirts and trousers all washed and folded by me so i know they`re not creased

I’m pretty hopeless with an iron.
I’ve got a set of ‘rescue clubs’ that are much easier to hit.

But still hopeless.

When I were a young office junior type, my technique involved ironing only the buttons and collar on my shirt, and then just keeping my suit jacket on :coffee1:

Never iron anything now.