International Space Station

There's a couple of good apps for android, other platforms too probably, that will help you find it.

Space junk is my favourite, Google Sky does a job too.

Meteor shower coming up in the next week aswell I think.

There's a couple of good apps for android, other platforms too probably, that will help you find it.

Space junk is my favourite, Google Sky does a job too.

No app needed.The thing was awesome against the bright blue sky.

Shame it was so cloudy :doh

Ach I know, inconsiderate bastardin' clouds!!

It'll be over us for a while longer yet eh? I'll need double check the OP link.

Anyone see this going overhead in the Sky last night?

It was like a slow moving Star going West to East in the South sky,my wee lassie loved watching it....

It's due again tonight at 22.14 and for the rest of Aug too

http://www.meteorwatch.org/uk-iss-passes-august-2013.html#more-5321

Cheers for that. I seen it last night, lasted about about 3 mins.
What time is it due past tonight( can't find it online, (it says its visible but dosent say what time?)

Laddies doin my nut in asking if we can watch it again. :banger:
And I take it it gets lower on the horizon as it gets further away?
Cheers

Wow, just managed to see it in a fairly small strip of sky with some high cloud from my balcony here in Haarlem, didn't think it would show but show it did... and just slid clearly and unblinkingly across the heavens from the south west.

Too cool for school :Sparkle_Cool:

Between the space station and the jets flying right over my gaff last night for the tattoo, fair to say I was in full geek mode last night :thumbgrin

aye, that's soon,eh?One is meant to be potentially bright enough to outshine the moon!hoping for clear skies then.

NASA reckon it offers the best chance out of all the meteor showers of seeing an ultra-bright meteor called a fireball....

Ooooooh a fireball :bbb:
According to the link in the OP, tomorrow to Tuesday with Monday being the peak for meteor activity.
With upto something like 60 meteors/hour :glassraise:

Hmm I'll see if I remember but between the rain and the light pollution in my area I'm not holding out much hope.

Find it really interesting but not interesting enough to go for a wander out into the sticks at 11pm.

Right, I'm away oot to see if I can spot this hing. Bit cloudy.

Edit: Yipee! seen it.

Meteor shower is tonight.
I just dunno where I should be looking and when :dunno:

One of the proclaimers songs length leads to an odd coincidence. The interval between the start and the end of 500 miles is 3 minutes and 30 seconds, and the ISS is moving is 7.66 km/s.
This means that if an astronaut on the ISS listens to 500 miles, in the time between the first beat of the song and the final lines ... they will have traveled just about exactly 1,000 miles.

Wee pub Fact for you all ;)

Just had a thought. Every time that The earth passes through the Perseid meteor field, the chances of the ISS scoring a direct hit from one and being holed must be fairly high? No? Must be like playing Russian roulette each time for the crew (or am I wrong with the chances of taking a hit?)