So that's a Scottish Nationalist I respect Jim Sillars abstaining.
...if it means re-entering the Eurozone, which it appears is more important to him. Fair enough position - but one you might have mentioned/clarified there, Kenny, especially as it's now not even remotely clear that this will be on the ballot paper.
I think Sillars could be a liability. I'm hoping Eddi Reader is also a nationalist who's anti EU too.
He spoke more sense than most in the last campaign I thought especially on currency.
I respect you wanting Scottish Independence mate. There's no reason why we can't be. I've never bought into the nonsense that 'Scotland is too wee' to go it alone. I just think we are in the UK better to be together. I'm open minded though. There was no compelling argument for me on either side the last time. I expect similar again this time. Indeed that Nicola Sturgeon has stifled all debate within the SNP on the EU I can't see me as someone who voted for Brexit voting for Scottish Independence, to see a Euro fanatical Scottish Government knocking at the open door of the EU membership with all its criteria including monetary union. I think today she's made a huge strategic mistake for her objective. The timing is wrong.
He spoke more sense than most in the last campaign I thought especially on currency.
I respect you wanting Scottish Independence mate. There's no reason why we can't be. I've never bought into the nonsense that 'Scotland is too wee' to go it alone. I just think we are in the UK better to be together. I'm open minded though. There was no compelling argument for me on either side the last time. I expect similar again this time. Indeed that Nicola Sturgeon has stifled all debate within the SNP on the EU I can't see me as someone who voted for Brexit voting for Scottish Independence, to see a Euro fanatical Scottish Government knocking at the open door of the EU membership with all its criteria including monetary union. I think today she's made a huge strategic mistake for her objective. The timing is wrong.
Not looking to start off on the wrong foot here, but I'm calling you out on this one. You said- repeatedly- that Scotland was too small ( tiny island) or words to that affect- plenty during the last epic. I mind because I called you out each time you did it and you deefied me each time.
Anyway, I reckon you'll vote yes/leave.
Not true Mark. And I challenge you to put up any proof of that.
What I consistently said was that IMO it's crazy to split up this wee island.
That's completely different to what you are suggesting I said.
On a slightly oblique note, I have said often in the past couple of years that they'll still be teaching this decade or so in modern studies/history classes in 200 years time. I bet it even has a name by then: "the great realignment" or something. It does feel like a distinct period of upheaval.
All that's missing is A REALLY BIG WAR...
did you miss the pitch invasion 21.05.2016?
OK fine, I'll concede on that because I can't be arsed trolling thru those epic threads and also I take your word as true.
Do you think that opinion is still true? ( even though you can't split an island and it's not actually tiny) but I get the gist of what you mean.
On a slightly oblique note, I have said often in the past couple of years that they'll still be teaching this decade or so in modern studies/history classes in 200 years time. I bet it even has a name by then: "the great realignment" or something. It does feel like a distinct period of upheaval.
All that's missing is A REALLY BIG WAR...

I don't expect you to be coming the c**t asking for "economic forecasts" and the like.
I watched Marr yesterday where Gerry Adams said he felt it was "immoral" for Ireland to be divided. I agree with him and it did make me think about the UK etc.
Ultimately it's all about people and their representation. I think the people on this small island (it is!) have much more that unites than divides. However, there is imbalance in the representation of that opinion.
But Ireland once was one country was it not? We've engineered it to be divided. That's an entirely different scenario and not relevant to this one bit.
GB is in the top 10 islands based on size on planet earth btw, it's fairly muckle.
I'm also not sure what things that do unite us would be stopped by Scotland becoming independent? I can't think of any of the good stuff that wouldn't continue? Genuinely, can you tell me some?
not sure what landsize has to do with it? or being surrounded by sea....if scotland were landlocked would the arguments essentially be any different.
I'm also not sure what things that do unite us would be stopped by Scotland becoming independent? I can't think of any of the good stuff that wouldn't continue? Genuinely, can you tell me some?
not sure what landsize has to do with it? or being surrounded by sea....if scotland were landlocked would the arguments essentially be any different.
Presumably those who voted remain are allowed to ask for this?
It has nothing to do with, except unionists seem to focus on it being small/tiny, which is utter bollocks. And 'splitting this tiny island' is barking at the moon stuff. Who can split an island?!
For both sides an effective single market?
For Scotland the current fiscal transfer? For EWNI the balance of payments assistance afforded by relatively strong Scottish exports?
There's a more complex argument that some make that the union stunts the access to power of the most right-wing tories in England and the crazier hun types in Scotland, although I'm not sure I buy it, especially nowadays.
Why are we still persevering with Naismith though? and Fletcher IMHO.

Funnily enough you are right but it wasn't God that determined we were separate, was the plates moving aboot innit.I agree, I find it on a par with "Scotland's a country so it should be a country" arguments, as though the eternal creator drew a line across the earth at Berwick. Having said that, divided islands do anecdotally seem to have issues. Not sure why.
Think you're right about the timing. Cant see Sturgeon and ScotGovt wanting to hold this so soon, without a clear lead in the polls, but Westminster has more or less set the timescale for them, wondering if they had the stomach to pick up the gauntlet. Well they know the answer now.Timings all wrong...and deep down Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP will know it. The problem is that they have put themselves in a corner after Brexit whereby they have to call for another referendum much earlier than they wanted to. A few years of Brexit would have been enough IMO to persuade many people in Scotland who voted no in 2014 to vote yes in the next referendum. As it stands just now there is still nowhere near enough support for scottish independence and I doubt there will be by late next year or early 2019. Sturgeon...under huge pressure from the 100,000 or so new SNP members, has been forced to go for indyref2 way, way before she wanted to. This is the last throw of the dice for her and the SNP. If May and the Westminster government agree to another vote (doubtful to say the least), then it's all or nothing. If Scotland again votes to stay in the Union then the party's over...literally.
From my own point of view I voted no in 2014, but I am much more open to persuasion this time. I am not a nationalist at heart but Brexit has totally scunnered me and I really don't want to be part of the sort of country the UK seems to be heading towards. At the same time I need to be reassured about several things before I could even contemplate voting yes in this new ballot. Economics, how are we going to fund the NHS, pensions, currency etc...all will have to be explained and detailed to myself and an overall increasingly aging Scottish electorate for there to be any chance of me changing my vote from the last time.
Timings all wrong...and deep down Nicola Sturgeon and the SNP will know it. The problem is that they have put themselves in a corner after Brexit whereby they have to call for another referendum much earlier than they wanted to. A few years of Brexit would have been enough IMO to persuade many people in Scotland who voted no in 2014 to vote yes in the next referendum. As it stands just now there is still nowhere near enough support for scottish independence and I doubt there will be by late next year or early 2019. Sturgeon...under huge pressure from the 100,000 or so new SNP members, has been forced to go for indyref2 way, way before she wanted to. This is the last throw of the dice for her and the SNP. If May and the Westminster government agree to another vote (doubtful to say the least), then it's all or nothing. If Scotland again votes to stay in the Union then the party's over...literally.
From my own point of view I voted no in 2014, but I am much more open to persuasion this time. I am not a nationalist at heart but Brexit has totally scunnered me and I really don't want to be part of the sort of country the UK seems to be heading towards. At the same time I need to be reassured about several things before I could even contemplate voting yes in this new ballot. Economics, how are we going to fund the NHS, pensions, currency etc...all will have to be explained and detailed to myself and an overall increasingly aging Scottish electorate for there to be any chance of me changing my vote from the last time.
It has nothing to do with, except unionists seem to focus on it being small/tiny, which is utter bollocks. And 'splitting this tiny island' is barking at the moon stuff. Who can split an island?!
Think you're right about the timing. Cant see Sturgeon and ScotGovt wanting to hold this so soon, without a clear lead in the polls, but Westminster has more or less set the timescale for them, wondering if they had the stomach to pick up the gauntlet. Well they know the answer now.
Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
From my own point of view I voted no in 2014, but I am much more open to persuasion this time. I am not a nationalist at heart but Brexit has totally scunnered me and I really don't want to be part of the sort of country the UK seems to be heading towards.
At the same time I need to be reassured about several things before I could even contemplate voting yes in this new ballot. Economics, how are we going to fund the NHS, pensions, currency etc...all will have to be explained and detailed to myself and an overall increasingly aging Scottish electorate for there to be any chance of me changing my vote from the last time.

[MENTION=2693]Smurf[/MENTION] . You've unfriended me on fb over this ? It appears so
Not at all mate. No chance of me ever unfriending anyone over bloody political differences. I respect difference!
And anyway, Fuck knows why I like you ya bam!
I've no idea why but facebook have suspended my account.
Didn't think it was your style but I could find you anymore , strange one
No idea why they've suspended me and I can't get back onto it!
I've just had a look. I'm sure you were on my friends list but you've disappeared.
They did the same to [MENTION=8716]hibbychubbs[/MENTION] and refused to re-enable his account until he used his full proper name. I think he had to let them see his passport or something like that to prove who he was. I know that doesn't help.
Sure, at least in the sense that they haven't blatantly and explicitly undermined their case for doing so.
But - and I'm sure you for one may perhaps remember this - I have consistently argued that the reduction of these debates, by and large, to the economy and nothing but the economy is a pointless exercise. Neither Scotland nor the UK will become a banana republic whichever way things go, and everybody knows it (barring the most rabid doomsayers). An independence referendum is not a budget, it's a choice deciding the parameters governing how and by whom those budgets will be made in the future. Furthermore, unless you've had your eyes tightly shut for the last ten years, you'll be forced to concede that "expert forecasting" regarding the outcome of economic conditions is about as reliable as a gypo in a tent rubbing a glass ball and telling you whether you're getting married or not. And finally, unless you're living in abject poverty, if you're the kind of person who is willing to decide the shape, outlook, and complexion of the country of your kids' future based on whether you'll be £48.50 better or worse off per month for the next two years, then you can fcuk off anyway - it's pointless talking to such people. As if anyone could ever guarantee even that information, anyway.
For me, it is and always has been a fundamental decision, based on the conviction that this nation - not an "emergent nation", a historic nation - would be able to govern its future more coherently and inclusively by itself, with a properly proportional system of government, and hopefully a rejuvenated political scene when the now-moribund Labour party, and the fatally-tainted Tories can reinvent themselves as positive forces within a less binary (even unitary up here at the moment) political scene. I accept that things will probably tend towards the largely binary eventually, but its time we refreshed the establishment parties up here - they can still represent largely coherent electorates, but not while they're labouring under the burden of toeing party lines that have little or no relevance up here.
Further, I just think it's time. You can feel the door being pushed. For what it's worth, I think an Indy Scotland can contribute far more effectively to a "British conversation" as an independent nation trying to address and take responsibility for its own undoubted problems, both social and economic, in its own way, rather than as a chippy but ultimately impotent voice in a distant and venal parliament which will only ever represent our interests and opinions in the instances when they accidentally coincide with its own. There's no reason whatsoever for antagonism and enmity in the future.
That single market is vital, would it be any different to whatever deal is in place between Denmark/Sweden & Norway? They used to be the same country way back too i think? I guess the same question could be applied to Croatia and Montenegro? I'm not so sure that's a problem more than one created to cause worry.
The fiscal transfer I've never, ever understood. The UK sending more money to Scotland that it creates. What's the reasoning behind successive Westminster governments agreeing to this? What do they get out of it in return?
you're 3rd paragraph is pretty much coming true I think?!