Indoctrination is a dirty word

Brainwrong

Spaktacuradge
Is indoctrination ever acceptable?

If I look back on my childhood there were elements where you could say I was indoctrinated, hardcore leftist old skool Labour dad, religious mum. These things have had an effect on me.

If I look at how I am with my kids in this respect I see that I do indoctrinate them in the sense that I give them my world view if they ask. I often use qualifiers saying; some folk think A and some folk think B, I think B and I think it because X.

Re politics or society I'm pretty socialist, I think it's right way no matter whether various forms have failed. The ethos is the most altruistic and that's what matters to me.

There is also the football indoctrination; I have encouraged a love of Hibs and a perception that all the other teams are smelly-er to lesser or great extents, Rankers & Smelltic being smellyist and Hertz running a close second. Football being rather emotive I find it hard to be impartial.

At a young age kids do not have the experience to make their own informed decisions, this means we as parents and carers have a massive responsibility to be impartial and give them the appropriate information.

When does being impartial become wishy washy unhelpful pish and when is it the correct path?

Is indoctrination inherently bad or does it have a valid application? Or, am I confusing indoctrination with something else?

Thoughts?

I see indoctrination as representing blind, unthinking acceptance and submission, rather than what you're presenting, which is more just an uneven presentation of viewpoints. It's fine to tell your kids that Hibs are plainly the source of all beauty and truth in the world, it's a bit shaky if you lock them in a cupboard for wearing a maroon t-shirt.

Oops! Better let mine oot then! :lookaround:

I tend to agree. It's an abused word more than a dirty word to me. IMHO it's only meaningful in a closed system where you have no access to alternative views.

Why on earth would you even have a maroon t shirt !!!!!!!!!!!

On a serious note,the Hibs thing is the only choice(until he is old enough to leave home)that i would make for any of my kids,the rest they can decide for them selves,sexuality, politics even religion are all to come ,and even though i would except a gunt infront of a muslim,it would be his choice,the other two are mid twenties after all and both thrown out lol.

i've caused offence at christmas before.

"thanks gran, but it's a bit.....you know....them."

Had a few laughs with my mrs over "reddy brown" or "plum" tops for the wee man, she supports Hibs as well so knows the colours:wink:

NOT EVEN A PAIR OF MAROON SOCKS OR PANTS IN THIS HOUSE INCLUDING THE MAID SORRY MRS.