If the weather was always like this, we'd have a whole different country

egb_hibs

I'm more convinced of this the older I get. Imagine a Scotland where it was like this the year round. It would be fabulous.r

Absolutely agree. I reckon of the 200 odd countries in the world only around 6 have capitals closer to the poles. We have a miserable climate.

Whilst I agree with you (first time I think ) you'd probably be amazed how many moaning faced fuckers I meet in the course of a normal week complaining about it being too hot!!

As I've mentioned in previous threads over the years I'm a Private Hire driver.... As you can imagine the number 1 topic of conversation from my passengers, regardless of the season, is the weather.
I think most folk on here would be amazed how many people complain about it being too hot (in Scotland FFS!!)
And I'm not talking about June, July, August IF we have a day or 2 where it's quite nice.

For example, a couple of years back, I picked up a guy one morning from his house in Livingston and took him to his work 2 minutes up the road. (This was around mid march..). He told me he HATED this heat.
When I asked him what heat he meant?? He told me that anything over 15°C was too hot for him! FIFTEEN FFS?

He may have been a penguin in a previous life!

From a personal utopian perspective I'd settle for winter being as cold as 15°C but Summer being no hotter than 30°C. That way, if we actually knew how our year was likely to go, we could plan family activities, sports, holidays etc way better than we can now.

If we had this weather all the time we wouldn't have enough rain to make all that beer and whisky!

I often hear tourists saying they like our crap weather, I remember one American describing our rain as soft.

Our summer is what May, June, July & August? I'd quite happily take what our summer is over an extended period of say March-October with colder weather November-February.

Whilst I agree with you (first time I think ) you'd probably be amazed how many moaning faced fuckers I meet in the course of a normal week complaining about it being too hot!!

As I've mentioned in previous threads over the years I'm a Private Hire driver.... As you can imagine the number 1 topic of conversation from my passengers, regardless of the season, is the weather.
I think most folk on here would be amazed how many people complain about it being too hot (in Scotland FFS!!)
And I'm not talking about June, July, August IF we have a day or 2 where it's quite nice.

For example, a couple of years back, I picked up a guy one morning from his house in Livingston and took him to his work 2 minutes up the road. (This was around mid march..). He told me he HATED this heat.
When I asked him what heat he meant?? He told me that anything over 15°C was too hot for him! FIFTEEN FFS?

He may have been a penguin in a previous life!

From a personal utopian perspective I'd settle for winter being as cold as 15°C but Summer being no hotter than 30°C. That way, if we actually knew how our year was likely to go, we could plan family activities, sports, holidays etc way better than we can now.

I didn't realise I'd been in your cab Brian :giggle: Yesterday was too hot for me. 15 sounds pretty good but I would raise the bar up to no more than 20 but with the caveat that it cools down to under 10 at night.

Our climate is fairly shite but you've got to accept that and make the most of it. Be prepared for good and bad and appreciate the lack of extremes.

Best weather is usually end of may to start July plus September. Festival time always pishy.

Go abroad for sun once a year at least.

Go shopping for hats, gloves and thick socks In October. Or if you're smart, January.

Be glad it's never too hot or too cold. It sucks to be mediocre but the big victories feel amazing when they come.

Also imagine if it was 26/27 degrees on a Saturday watching Hibs in The East? On the rare occasion it happens it's close to unbearable, it's like the biggest suntrap in Edinburgh.

I love the sun, wish it was hot June/July/August, but after that, I like Autumn and Spring. Winter is bleak.

I'm 100% a summer person so I'm inclined to agree. Its not so much the temperature, fresh cold mornings can be quite pleasant, but the wind and rain this country can suffer from for weeks at a time during the winter are miserable. Its even worse through here on the West coast.

I must google "emigrating to (Gibraltar/Caribbean/Australia/USA)" twice a day from November until about March every year.

Think last winter was very mild? Not many spells of relentless wind and rain I can recall? Was fairly bleak, but nothing too bad. January/February especially was ok, even for cycling [emoji467]

I love the summer....wish we could guarantee hot weather between June and August like Spain, Greece etc.
Have to say though working in the building I work in is hellish on a hot day.
I'd quite like to live in a hot country, but to be honest we have the perfect climate in Scotland. We need rain to live and we certainly get our share of that. Winter is crap here though. Dark and miserable and I hate snow and ice.

Currently in Jamaica , boy it's hot n humid. I like it tho, rain shower every day and red stripe on draught. What's not to like [emoji1135][emoji482]☀️

I do like it when it's hot back home, if only for the oxygen n cool air if nothing else :)

Well the weather today is crap and that's one of the reasons we all like to go abroad, drink local drinks, eat local foods and interact with the local waiting staff!!!

Speak for yourself Jacko.

Sorry Dub.

I just got my old folks bus pass today. The weather's so shite I canny be bothered going out to test it!

Old farts bus pass is great.
I didn't set foot on a bus for years (except Bounce Tours) but bus in to Edinburgh at every opportunity just because it's a bargain price!

I do not miss the Scottish climate. EGB is right, Scotland would be perfect if the weather was a bit nicer. I remember being at Easter Rd on the first day of the season against Celtic a few years ago and it was a glorious day and I was thinking how great it was to be out in the fresh air., enjoying a football game and not being freezing. Despite the defeat I left Easter Rd in good spirits as I headed down St Clair, basking in the warm sunshine. And I think people were less grouchy after the game. Maybe I'm wrong but there seemed to be a lot less effing and blinding as we made our way from the ground. When the weather is good, Edinburgh, Leith in particular is great !! Even when the weather is a bit $hite it's still good though.

The weather in Edinburgh won't bother you when you visit; You spend most of your time here in boozers :giggle:

You're not wrong there Dub :giggle: But sometimes I like to nip out to the bookies and the horizontal rain put me off !

Nae a lover of too much heat. 20 degrees is just fine with me. Don't mind the rain or snow. The one thing that is a pisser , is the bloody wind. Especially when you live on the North East corner . In winter the wind can be hiking doon from the Arctic, or straight on Easterly from Siberia. It can get a bit wearysome.
But, as one Australian incomer to Peterhead put it....'love the climate here mate'
I said to him he was kidding , surely?

He said....'nah. You get up every morning and have 30degreesC pound on yer head all day while you're trying to do a job of work'

Good point.

Nae a lover of too much heat. 20 degrees is just fine with me. Don't mind the rain or snow. The one thing that is a pisser , is the bloody wind. Especially when you live on the North East corner . In winter the wind can be hiking doon from the Arctic, or straight on Easterly from Siberia. It can get a bit wearysome.
But, as one Australian incomer to Peterhead put it....'love the climate here mate'

He said....'nah. You get up every morning and have 30degreesC pound on yer head all day while you're trying to do a job of work'

Good point.

Aye, fairly ruins golf and cycling too. Also don't really mind rain.Snow is alright too, as long as it properly snows, none of this sleet pish.

I think most folk would take a cracking 3 month summer in Scotland in return for the remaining 9 months being baltic and wet. The problem is we get the 9 months but the 3 month summer isn't really happening.

Aye, fairly ruins golf and cycling too. Also don't really mind rain.Snow is alright too, as long as it properly snows, none of this sleet pish.

I think most folk would take a cracking 3 month summer in Scotland in return for the remaining 9 months being baltic and wet. The problem is we get the 9 months but the 3 month summer isn't really happening.

True.

A 3 day summer would be a start!!!:shock:

A bit more sunshine and warmth for a bit longer would be nice. But in the East (of Scotland, not stand) you don't get too much rain and there are these lovely fresh, bright spring days that we don't seem to have down here as much. The longer days are noticeable and nice too.

I wonder if Scotland would be as hospitable (in the sense of convivial, welcoming) if it wasn't for the weather? Piling into a warm pub out of the cold, shedding layers, being offered (or offering) a drink - it's what it's all about isn't it?

Good point.

I concur with your mate. Since arriving in Oz 5 years ago Ive worked at a car wash when I first arrived and further down the line jobs requiring suits/formal attire. Both grafts when the sun is beating down are a pain and sap the energy like you would not believe.

The inlaws came over last summer and spent most of the time hiding from the heat in the air con

The other issue is with sport. Playing fives indoors on a 39degreesC day, no thanks. Tennis, doubles not too bad but singles against young bucks its savage. If you've had a few the night before its a head spinner.

Winters in Adelaide are actually good, air is cool but sun warm in the day (bit like the Alps) but overall the temperate Edinburgh/UK climate aint too bad in terms of living/working in.

e0927b6b761432b3326fa5b6deafae7d.jpg

A paltry 37 here in Jamaica later today [emoji1135]

Tbf the humidity here at night sees me inside by 9-10pm as it's unbearable some nights when it reaches 90% +.

e0927b6b761432b3326fa5b6deafae7d.jpg

A paltry 37 here in Jamaica later today [emoji1135]

Tbf the humidity here at night sees me inside by 9-10pm as it's unbearable some nights when it reaches 90% +.

I've seen pints with heids on thum but never toes! :surp@