Ian Mackay RIP

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
Quite sure there are folk on here that have coached youth fitba over the years and will remember the name of Ian Mackay. He was youth and amateur fitba in Embra and the East of Scotlands answer tae Alec Cameron (ask yer auld man) for the Evening News.
Sadly passed away.

Aye I mind him. He was excellent on the bairns fitba from what i remember.

This was posted as a sort of tribute tae him. There’s a few mentions of players faithers, including a couple of good Hibbys. 😉

Quite sure there are folk on here that have coached youth fitba over the years and will remember the name of Ian Mackay. He was youth and amateur fitba in Embra and the East of Scotlands answer tae Alec Cameron (ask yer auld man) for the Evening News.
Sadly passed away.
Ian grew up in Bryson Road and was neighbours with my mum. Like a lot of kids from Drumbrae I played for Tall Oaks in the late 70s and early 80s and he was our coach. This was real grassroots football where you paid 10p a week to be a member and about 8 kids would pile in the back of someone’s car to drive to somewhere like Eskmills and we’d invariably get humped about 11-3. Good times.

I also remember him from my Tall Oaks days.
RIP Ian.

We played Tall Oaks at Under 9 and 1 player stood out in their team and he eventually signed for us. A certain Mikey Stewart. We, Liberton United (Captains Cabin), won the league that year beating Tynie and Hutchie and Salvie in the process.

A bit after my time but same teams as we used to play regularly.

Funnily enough I was back at Tall Oaks for the first time in 30 odd years a few months ago tae watch my grandson playing. Wisnae Tall Oaks they played though, Corstorphine something the other team was.

Lot of Tall Oaks connections here……. I never played for them but my eldest was goalkeeper there for a couple of years.
I'm sure Joe Jordans laddie Tom played for them tae.