• HIBEESBOUNCE PICKEM PRIZE LEAGUE Season 2026-2027

Info on how to buy an Entry Pass HERE

I would switch it now

Cabbageman

Whenever we change manager it's when we're in crisis 3 months into a season. Why not aim a bit higher and try to upgrade now while SDG has got us into a half decent place

It's no disrespect to him from me, i just think in order to improve we should capitalise on being in an underwhelming yet stable situation. IMO it's a good position to build on?

Have to give credit to Gray because no one would touch the main job at hibs the way we were when he was appointed. He's steadied the ship and in my eyes turned it back into a desirable job so massive credit for that, i just think it's time to move on up. Thoughts bouncers?

Whenever we change manager it's when we're in crisis 3 months into a season. Why not aim a bit higher and try to upgrade now while SDG has got us into a half decent place

It's no disrespect to him from me, i just think in order to improve we should capitalise on being in an underwhelming yet stable situation. IMO it's a good position to build on?

Have to give credit to Gray because no one would touch the main job at hibs the way we were when he was appointed. He's steadied the ship and in my eyes turned it back into a desirable job so massive credit for that, i just think it's time to move on up. Thoughts bouncers?
Any new man taking on the job is going to want to make changes, so the stability takes a knock first. Fans’ favourites are moved on, not so popular or completely unknown players arrive, squad numbers increase, a few poor results and where are we?

'Move on up'
Could be move on down?

Totally agree mate. They surely can't be happy with this season? We need fresh voices in the dressing room as it's went very stale.

It’s a really good position to build on , however gray isnt the man to do it.

If We bring in a forward thinking coach to work with these players then we’ll push on.

Reactions: mod

If Celtic win the cup it will be the first time in 50 years we have qualified for Europe in two consecutive years.
But you come here calling for the man who achieved that to be binned.
Who do you suggest Hibs should approach to be our next manager?

If Celtic win the cup it will be the first time in 50 years we have qualified for Europe in two consecutive years.
The fact we’re relying on another team to get us into Europe after the money we’ve spent says it all.

Time to go

Reactions: mod
Whilst that is true and I understand why you want him to keep the job I don't think our underachieving for the size of club we are should be made as an excuse for the man to keep his job another season if we want to go to the next level.

Is qualifying through a loop hole, an achievement of his?
Yesterday was his chance to qualify for Europe in his own right and his team didn't make an effort to win.

Us getting to Europe through celtic beating a team from the championship, that we couldn't,is hardly an achievement .
Something changed from our European displays,I genuinely thought that was how we were going to approach our league games, we didn't.
With the odd exception, the whole season has been boring.

That's not our job
It's not our job?

Neither is sacking the manager! Meant in the nicest possible way :))

If we can write about sacking the manager then surely those doing so must have someone in mind otherwise it's a pretty pointless statement to make.

I don't think SDG is attacking minded enough but I can't think of anyone that is likely to come in and do any better. I can't think of anyone in Scotland, or knows the game here well enough to do better than SDG.

There's a list longer than the A9 of foreign and English managers who have failed in Scotland and I might suggest we've had more than our fair share!

A better option might be for someone to remind SDG the game is about scoring goals and we can't do that while we're farting about in our own half with a defensive minded midfield that aren't supplying or supporting the strikers enough!

It's not our job?

Neither is sacking the manager! Meant in the nicest possible way :))

If we can write about sacking the manager then surely those doing so must have someone in mind otherwise it's a pretty pointless statement to make.

I don't think SDG is attacking minded enough but I can't think of anyone that is likely to come in and do any better. I can't think of anyone in Scotland, or knows the game here well enough to do better than SDG.

There's a list longer than the A9 of foreign and English managers who have failed in Scotland and I might suggest we've had more than our fair share!

A better option might be for someone to remind SDG the game is about scoring goals and we can't do that while we're farting about in our own half with a defensive minded midfield that aren't supplying or supporting the strikers enough!
If that has to happen he's in the wrong job

If we can write about sacking the manager then surely those doing so must have someone in mind otherwise it's a pretty pointless statement to ma
Those two things just don't follow. Fans can be really fed up with how a manager is performing week on week and of course can voice their concerns. We can't possibly be expected to know who is available and more importantly affordable.

We got rid of our best striker which effectively cost us a higher league finish IMO. The transfer fee will make up for it though and hopefully Celtic win the cup for Europe.

Yes Suto and Elding have made a decent start but are not better than Bowie. Had we retained him I think we would have achieved forth before the game yesterday.

We need to regroup, get some better players in. The likes of: Campbell, Obita, Newell , the Caddens are not good enough to push Hibs to the next level.

Sir Dave does still have much to learn but I do not see who we could attract as alternative if we fired him tomorrow.

We got rid of our best striker which effectively cost us a higher league finish IMO. The transfer fee will make up for it though and hopefully Celtic win the cup for Europe.

Yes Suto and Elding have made a decent start but are not better than Bowie. Had we retained him I think we would have achieved forth before the game yesterday.

We need to regroup, get some better players in. The likes of: Campbell, Obita, Newell , the Caddens are not good enough to push Hibs to the next level.

Sir Dave does still have much to learn but I do not see who we could attract as alternative if we fired him tomorrow.
I think losing Mulligan in Jan had a big effect too though Chaiwa has been decent

DG is obviously a good coach hence he’s been here since he stopped playing. Having been mates wth most of the players I’m no sure he has their respect. Also I think he needs a new stronger background team. We have a goalie coach screaming instructions fae the touchline. Let him coach the goalies and bring in an experienced ex player tae work with DG.
We have a great squad of players who should be daein better in this league.

I'm repeating myself here, but...

Every available piece of evidence - historical, contemporary and statistical - indicates that, should we punt David Gray, his successor will be less successful than Gray has been.
In my view, that's a fact.
Indisputable.

Percentage wise, even given our strengthened position as a result of the recent gratuities & donations we've received, I'd put the chances of the next manager falling short of Gray's achievements at 65% to 70%😳.

So long as the "Gray Out!" brigade accepts that, they have a case.

The argument for punting Gray is not wholly unreasonable.

There are times when folk might justifiably consider their situation to be bad enough that taking a risky decision in an attempt to improve it is the best course of action - even if taking that risk is not a "percentage shot."
Let's say you're down the bookies, Winston Ingram style. You're doing badly. Very badly. You realise you've lost so much money that you're short of your rent. It's due tomorrow. Your landlord's a bastard who'll throw you out. You need £40. Sharpish. The most likely winner in the remaining races is an 8-11 shot in a steeplechase. It's a classy horse, but it's a dodgy jumper and it's at Wetherby or Haydock or somewhere else with bastard fences. (I'm not up to date, but Wetherby & Haydock used to have bastard fences 40 or 50 years ago) You reckon the animal has a 20% chance of falling and should be no shorter than evens, but it's still a more likely winner than anything else running in the last few races.
Do you stick £55 on it to get the £40 you need for your rent?
There's a case for saying you should.

Aye, there are undoubtedly lots of better managers than Gray out there.
Aye, keeping him for a whole two seasons will have diminished the "Watford Lite" reputation we were acquiring amongst the "Managerial Community"...
...But I doubt any manager/coach who is obviously superior to Gray will be applying for the post of Hibernian FC Manager if we punt him.

Foreign coaches - Sassenachs included - have an alarming tendency to misread the Scottish game, mainly on the matter of its relentless physicality. Tommy Docherty's quip about George Graham's Arsenal comes to mind: "Games should be officiated by a referee, not two linesmen and Air Traffic Control."
Foreigners' Little Black Books of contacts are of little use, because most of the names in it will be other coaches who fail to understand Scottish football and players who won't adapt to Scottish football.

I keep saying this.
Our next manager will either be a "highly regarded" English coach with little experience of being the main man, or a "continental" that none of us have heard of.
McInnes is not defecting.
Askou isn't coming.
McGlynn might... "But he's a Gunt! And a Hun! And an ex-Smellie! And he'll relegate us on purpose!"... but few of you would accept him.

Sticking with Gray is the "percentage shot." If you accept that and still want to roll the dice, fair enough, but, by my calculations, you're being offered 7-2 about rolling seven and that's not good value... Unless you're Winston Ingram, you're skint and Nicholas Van Hoogstraten's your landlord.

My biggest concern is would you trust Ian Gordon to appoint a good manager. Under Bydand Sports they have appointed Johnson, Maloney, Monty and SDG. Dave the most successful.

Appointed Sun Bed Ben and the lack of basic corporate controls were amateurish. He was allowed to operate like a kid in a sweatshop. The cost of these mistakes is now apparent.

Circa £21m operating losses over the last three years. A good indicator of a poorly run business.

DG is obviously a good coach hence he’s been here since he stopped playing. Having been mates wth most of the players I’m no sure he has their respect. Also I think he needs a new stronger background team. We have a goalie coach screaming instructions fae the touchline. Let him coach the goalies and bring in an experienced ex player tae work with DG.
We have a great squad of players who should be daein better in this league.
Most players here now never played with Dave .

Im not convinced we have a good squad.

Chris cadden can’t defend or cross . Hanley is finished he can’t move. Iredale last season had best season off his career and been poor . Same for Nicky Cadden , he can’t beat a man , injury prone and if doesn’t put a dangerous cross in , contributes nothing.

Barslarr and Newell can’t run or tackle, which is crucial for a midfielder in Scotland.

Cambell miles off it if you want to be a top
Four team .

Once again yesterday McGrath doesn’t influence a big game. If we don’t dominate the ball , he’s a man short .

January signings on a whole very poor . Andrews and Scarlet pointless . Waste of money.

For me a poor summer window, which left us with a weaker squad that finished last season.

Spot light should be firmly on McKay and Gray .

Chris cadden can’t defend or cross . Hanley is finished he can’t move. Iredale last season had best season off his career and been poor . Same for Nicky Cadden , he can’t beat a man , injury prone and if doesn’t put a dangerous cross in , contributes nothing.

Barslarr and Newell can’t run or tackle, which is crucial for a midfielder in Scotland.

Four team .

Once again yesterday McGrath doesn’t influence a big game. If we don’t dominate the ball , he’s a man short .

January signings on a whole very poor . Andrews and Scarlet pointless . Waste of money.

For me a poor summer window, which left us with a weaker squad that finished last season.

Aye, but apart from Iredale, Cadden, the wine, McGrath, Newell, irrigation, sanitation, Barlasser, the aqueducts, the other Cadden, Hanley, peace, education, Scarlett, Andrews, public order & public baths, what have the Gordons ever done for us?

My biggest concern is would you trust Ian Gordon to appoint a good manager. Under Bydand Sports they have appointed Johnson, Maloney, Monty and SDG. Dave the most successful.

Appointed Sun Bed Ben and the lack of basic corporate controls were amateurish. He was allowed to operate like a kid in a sweatshop. The cost of these mistakes is now apparent.

Circa £21m operating losses over the last three years. A good indicator of a poorly run business.
completely agree.

The fact we’re relying on another team to get us into Europe after the money we’ve spent says it all.

Time to go

Whilst that is true and I understand why you want him to keep the job I don't think our underachieving for the size of club we are should be made as an excuse for the man to keep his job another season if we want to go to the next level.

Is qualifying through a loop hole, an achievement of his?
Yesterday was his chance to qualify for Europe in his own right and his team didn't make an effort to win.

Us getting to Europe through celtic beating a team from the championship, that we couldn't,is hardly an achievement .
Something changed from our European displays,I genuinely thought that was how we were going to approach our league games, we didn't.
With the odd exception, the whole season has been boring.
Somebody give me the name of the manager who we are replacing SDG with ?

John McGlynn plays football the way I want us to play football. The only team to boss Motherwell this season. Has an eye for a player as well which we sadly lack in spades. I would be surprised if he's no been on the clubs radar.

Aye, but apart from Iredale, Cadden, the wine, McGrath, Newell, irrigation, sanitation, Barlasser, the aqueducts, the other Cadden, Hanley, peace, education, Scarlett, Andrews, public order & public baths, what have the Gordons ever done for us?
You’ve lost me

John McGlynn plays football the way I want us to play football. The only team to boss Motherwell this season. Has an eye for a player as well which we sadly lack in spades. I would be surprised if he's no been on the clubs radar.
Sack SDG and replace him with John fuckin Mcglynn. I rest my fuckin case.

Have you watched Falkirk this season? They play far better football than us. He's taken them from league 1 to the top 6 in 3 seasons. David Gray would never achieve that. Fuck watching this hoofball, cautious, putrid shite for another season. He plucks Barney Stewart out of obscurity whilst we spend 1.3 million on a fucking diddy.

Why does it need to be just 1 name right now.

We've no idea who would be open to the job. I'm sure there will be some good, some bad, and something in-between options.

Up to Malky and co to figure that bit out. But a rookie it shouldn't be.
Literally thousands of managers out there. I wouldn't limit us to the few any of us know about.

Four team .

In Chaiwa, Mulligan and McGrath, we’ve a stronger midfield than last season I think.
You can argue we’ve not replaced Triantis but he wasn’t our player.
We’ve signed a better goalie too.
Miller has been a big miss this season.

If poss you’d look at Jason Kerr and Stephen Welsh for defence next season maybe

Hibs have restructured since those days.
Malky Mackay is completely in charge of the football department at the club, and he would have a massive influence on the Gordons regarding David Gray's future or who any new manager would be.

I think the biggest question at the moment is how healthy the current working relationship between Malky MacKay and David Gray is.

We are in an unusual situation with the Head poncho Mackay being an experienced football manager himself, and Gray...still in his 30's and only two years into management.
As Sporting Director or Director of Football, MacKay is ultimately responsible for the performance of the football department at all levels.
For me, the only danger to David Gray at the moment is if MacKay feels things are going backwards, and he no longer has confidence in him to take the First Team forward.
If he is still completely confident in Gray to be the man, then the Gordons need to back him properly in the summer...as in fairness they have done in the last two years.

In Chaiwa, Mulligan and McGrath, we’ve a stronger midfield than last season I think.
You can argue we’ve not replaced Triantis but he wasn’t our player.
We’ve signed a better goalie too.
Miller has been a big miss this season.

If poss you’d look at Jason Kerr and Stephen Welsh for defence next season maybe
That midfield has litterly never played together. It’s not relevant if Triantis, wasn’t our player, he was our player and the job he did in the team : ball winner , agression , driving runs … replaced with barslaarr who does none of that .

McGrath doesn’t influence big games. Chaiwa in and out of the teams and shown bits of the potential talent he has .

Hibs have restructured since those days.
Malky Mackay is completely in charge of the football department at the club, and he would have a massive influence on the Gordons regarding David Gray's future or who any new manager would be.

I think the biggest question at the moment is how healthy the current working relationship between Malky MacKay and David Gray is.

We are in an unusual situation with the Head poncho Mackay being an experienced football manager himself, and Gray...still in his 30's and only two years into management.
As Sporting Director or Director of Football, MacKay is ultimately responsible for the performance of the football department at all levels.
For me, the only danger to David Gray at the moment is if MacKay feels things are going backwards, and he no longer has confidence in him to take the First Team forward.
If he is still completely confident in Gray to be the man, then the Gordons need to back him properly in the summer...as in fairness they have done in the last two years.
McKay has never appointed a manager. Dave already had the job . Went thru the charade of interviews who was the managers McKay identified… Scott Gemmill his SFA pal who has never managed a club and hardly won a game for Scotland U21s. And Neill Collins