Home Removal Companies in Edinburgh

Keepitgreen

Hanover Frederick Castle Radge
I'm moving hoose for the umpteenth time next month, and I'm thinking of biting the bullet and hiring a company to lug everything to the new gaff. It's got to be one of life's biggest pains, humphing all your crap in and out of hired vans - and now I have a 2 year old to bundle in the boot as well, I just can't face it.

Anyway, I tried some comparison site thing but it was useless, all it did was pass my number onto 3 companies who are now bombarding me with phonecalls to confirm all the minute details before even estimating a price. If I have to, I'll call them back, but if there's a chance anyone here has a recent, decent experience and can confirm a rough cost then I think I'd be happier going with that..

Please do share if you do, would be much appreciated, thanks

Where are you moving from and to might be useful.

Some companies will do all your packing, obviously more expensive.

The lot we had a few years ago were decent, it was a Leith company doing Leith to Leith. Only fucked up by the lawyers who didn't get the keys swapped until 5pm when it was supposed to be midday! That cost us a few hundred extra quid overtime and angst, which the lawyers paid for ... and more!

Big tip. Make sure all your packing boxes are the same size.

The lot we had a few years ago were decent, it was a Leith company doing Leith to Leith. Only fucked up by the lawyers who didn't get the keys swapped until 5pm when it was supposed to be midday! That cost us a few hundred extra quid overtime and angst, which the lawyers paid for ... and more!

Thanks Jack. As luck would have it, its Leith to Leith! 6 minute drive, less than a mile.

I've already presumed that the fees for packing would be over the top, am I wrong? I mean I'd love to dodge that part too, but I'm tighter than Ryan's tinfoil hat..

And do not overfill the boxes so the arse may fall out of said box.
I've just taken delivery of 30 moving boxes but they look a bit on the small side for me. Will keep that in mind! And now start looking for bigger yins..

You can sometimes get banana boxes from the supermarkets. They're brilliant for moving and really solid. Some even come with lids.

I'm moving hoose for the umpteenth time next month, and I'm thinking of biting the bullet and hiring a company to lug everything to the new gaff. It's got to be one of life's biggest pains, humphing all your crap in and out of hired vans - and now I have a 2 year old to bundle in the boot as well, I just can't face it.

Anyway, I tried some comparison site thing but it was useless, all it did was pass my number onto 3 companies who are now bombarding me with phonecalls to confirm all the minute details before even estimating a price. If I have to, I'll call them back, but if there's a chance anyone here has a recent, decent experience and can confirm a rough cost then I think I'd be happier going with that..

Please do share if you do, would be much appreciated, thanks
Blackhall Moving & Storage are excellent.
Check the reviews.

0131 235 2525

You can sometimes get banana boxes from the supermarkets. They're brilliant for moving and really solid. Some even come with lids.
Thanks Bofa. My mrs had mentioned something about supermarkets boxes actually. I can ask at the Asda round here.

Got any CEF, Edmundson, Screwfix, Toolstation type shops near by?

The boxes all the goods get delivered in are solid.

If this popped up a month ago I could've loaded you with enough cardboard to take the building with you.

Got any CEF, Edmundson, Screwfix, Toolstation type shops near by?

The boxes all the goods get delivered in are solid.

If this popped up a month ago I could've loaded you with enough cardboard to take the building with you.
Dammit!

Ta - there's a ToolStation down Seafield actually, are they easy about giving out the boxes aye?

Dammit!

Ta - there's a ToolStation down Seafield actually, are they easy about giving out the boxes aye?

Can't see any reason why not, if we don't reuse them in the van we have to bale it and pay to get it removed. Would imagine they're much of the same.

Last time I moved I used Edinburgh based 1st Movers. Thought they were excellent, even helped me get a large TV unwrapped and on its stand which I would have struggled with .

Jack, firstly, how was your first weekend in the land of the rising sun?

And secondly, what was the name of this company you used please? :giggley:

Jack, firstly, how was your first weekend in the land of the rising sun?

And secondly, what was the name of this company you used please? :giggley:
We think it was Thistle Removals. Neither of us can remember for sure and on the photo I took of the full van I can't see the writing.

The flight was not very enjoyable. Security at Edinburgh was a nightmare and despite being more than 2 hours early we didn't even have time for the traditional pints photo. As a result we arrived in Amsterdam 30/40 minutes late and no time to doddle there.

Tokyo weather was crap but we saw a bit and ate in a scruffy wee restaurant. We've not been ill so all is well.

Mt Fuji, the shy mountain (only clear 120 days a year), one of 8,000,000 or so gods in Japanese culture looked spectacular.

We're now 30 hours on board, drink has been flowing and the food a solid 9/10 so far.

First stop was in a tiny town and we didn't expect much. We weren’t disappointed 😆 whole town came out to wave us off though with a traditional drums thing and about 20 odd massive flags being waved. Quite touching.

We think it was Thistle Removals. Neither of us can remember for sure and on the photo I took of the full van I can't see the writing.

The flight was not very enjoyable. Security at Edinburgh was a nightmare and despite being more than 2 hours early we didn't even have time for the traditional pints photo. As a result we arrived in Amsterdam 30/40 minutes late and no time to doddle there.

Tokyo weather was crap but we saw a bit and ate in a scruffy wee restaurant. We've not been ill so all is well.

Mt Fuji, the shy mountain (only clear 120 days a year), one of 8,000,000 or so gods in Japanese culture looked spectacular.

We're now 30 hours on board, drink has been flowing and the food a solid 9/10 so far.

First stop was in a tiny town and we didn't expect much. We weren’t disappointed 😆 whole town came out to wave us off though with a traditional drums thing and about 20 odd massive flags being waved. Quite touching.
That sounds superb Jack, delighted you got a clear day for Fuji, ours was rotten! Please keep the reports coming, looking forward to your steak!

As for Thistle, I shall give them a shout for a quote. Thank you