Guns

Bofahibee

Been working on a project about social media and troll farms. Something interesting came up that apparently organisations like the NRA (National Rifle Association) fund people who amplify people’s paranoias and concerns about “the other” coming for them. Apparently when there is instability and fear they sell more guns. The same sites promote social division on this side of the Atlantic too. Nigel Farage has already said (a few years back) that he thinks we should legalise guns here.

So, if you could legally own a gun, would you?

Been working on a project about social media and troll farms. Something interesting came up that apparently organisations like the NRA (National Rifle Association) fund people who amplify people’s paranoias and concerns about “the other” coming for them. Apparently when there is instability and fear they sell more guns. The same sites promote social division on this side of the Atlantic too. Nigel Farage has already said (a few years back) that he thinks we should legalise guns here.

Not a chance.

Where I am in the US, there's tension and division. And I think it's going to get worse.

After Jan 6 my wife and I had the awful conversation I never thought we would; do we get a gun. I'm dead set against them, she is too - her dad, a highly decorated US marine doesn't have any in his house.

But the question in our minds was, "if it goes bad, do we really want to be the people that DON'T have a gun"

The answer was still, and will always be, no.

Thing is they originally nicked the idea from the British ie to defend the realm, it's an amendment and a right.
Naw.

For the record, I wouldn’t own a gun. That anyone could think it’s a good idea is madness.
I spent a couple of months in Houston many years ago. I remember going into a night club and seeing two men in police uniform, complete with holstered guns, giving it laldy on the dance floor. I said to the barman (bartender) “Didn’t realise it was fancy dress night.” His quizzical look prompted me to point to them and I said “Two guys over there are dressed like cops.” “Yeah, they are cops” he said. Thank fcuk i didn’t complain that the beer tasted like pish.

Absolutely not same as most 'normal' folks. However after a few years there would be so many guns in the hands of fuckwits that the normals would inevitably give in and get one for 'protection'
Then Britain becomes even more American than it is already.

Absolutely not same as most 'normal' folks. However after a few years there would be so many guns in the hands of fuckwits that the normals would inevitably give in and get one for 'protection'
Then Britain becomes even more American than it is already.
This is not America...

You can legally own a gun in the UK but you have to go through a thorough series of checks to get a gun licence. The first thing the Police will ask you is "Why do you want to own a gun?"

My late Dad used to go target shooting with his friend. His pal grew up on a farm near Montrose and had owned guns all his life. He kept two shotguns and a .22 sports rifle which were stored in a locked cupboard. Once a year he'd get a visit from an auld polis who would do an inspection and check the guns were being maintained properly and stored correctly though he was usually more interested in the coffee and biscuits that were laid on for him.

But for me it's a no. I wouldn't want to own a gun.

When I was a kid, my dad had a Thompson sub machine gun. Bounty from the war. I used to play with it. I was gutted when the police came and took it away (after Dad owned up). Can you imagine a society where everyone has a machine gun in the house? Thats the world the gun manufacturers want - they get rich, the politicians they support get rich and tens of thousands of poor souls lose their lives every year.

If I could legally own a gun the law is wrong.
Couldn’t be trusted.
Nail on the head Doc.
I have had a few hairy experiences over my 78 years and I'm pretty sure if I had had a permit to carry a concealed gun, at some of these times, I would have used it. An American (from Florida) I met on holday said it changes your whole attitude to situations. He said that knowing he had a gun gave him more confidence especially in confrontational situations, but when he reflected on how many times he almost pulled his gun out, he realised it could just be a matter of time before he actually shot someone and he gave up his gun. He said that there are far too many "macho men" and too many who carry/own a gun who are nowhere near responsible enough to know when or not to use it. We both agreed that the screening process for the granting of a firearm licence would never be good enough to match the importance of it's decisions. He also believed that there will never be a national referendum on "the right to bear arms" as there is too much influence from businesses and politicians who gain from the status quo.

He has a taser in his house for their main fear of house invasion (a concession to his wife).

Nail on the head Doc.
I have had a few hairy experiences over my 78 years and I'm pretty sure if I had had a permit to carry a concealed gun, at some of these times, I would have used it. An American (from Florida) I met on holday said it changes your whole attitude to situations. He said that knowing he had a gun gave him more confidence especially in confrontational situations, but when he reflected on how many times he almost pulled his gun out, he realised it could just be a matter of time before he actually shot someone and he gave up his gun. He said that there are far too many "macho men" and too many who carry/own a gun who are nowhere near responsible enough to know when or not to use it. We both agreed that the screening process for the granting of a firearm licence would never be good enough to match the importance of it's decisions. He also believed that there will never be a national referendum on "the right to bear arms" as there is too much influence from businesses and politicians who gain from the status quo.

He has a taser in his house for their main fear of house invasion (a concession to his wife).
Good insightful post.

I wouldn't buy a gun as it goes against my principles.

And no, not the principle of never sticking my hand in my pocket for owt 🤨

Should buy the first team one each, it might encourage them tae shoot mare.

Nah, not an operational one.

Can't think of a worse idea than there being less gun control.

Owned multiple guns for years, but wouldn't of given the chance in the UK. Maybe some people would think differently if they did legalize them and knew the bams, thieves and criminals around them all had access. Knowing some radge could burst through the door armed, your kids in bed and all you've got is a kitchen knife, or bat to defend your family.

I made the choice to own guns for many personal reasons. I went through a lot of self defense classes and training before hand though. All voluntarily and not mandatory.

Owned multiple guns for years, but wouldn't of given the chance in the UK. Maybe some people would think differently if they did legalize them and knew the bams, thieves and criminals around them all had access. Knowing some radge could burst through the door armed, your kids in bed and all you've got is a kitchen knife, or bat to defend your family.

I made the choice to own guns for many personal reasons. I went through a lot of self defense classes and training before hand though. All voluntarily and not mandatory.
I think you've hit the crux of the problem right there; the classes and training. You (imo) did the right things in learning more about them and how to handle them. It should be mandatory.

Its way too late for that to be implemented here now though