GTA V

Stirlinghibee

Leith's 2nd finest institution are about to release it's next GTA incarnation.

Now , I lost a good few months of my life with GTA San Andreas , so i'm kind of looking forward to this game set in the same location.

GTA San Andrea's was full of Hibs and other local references that went over the heads of most gamers worldwide, but gave me a lot of giggles, who can forget Wang cars and Quank air? Or the colour of the Grove Street gang compared with the Jambo's eh, I mean, Ballass.:giggle:

Will be interesting to see if they repeat this again.

It looks fantastic. Really does.

Most expensive video game ever made I was reading yesterday.

No plans to move it over to the next generation consoles though, which sucks because that gives the game a limited lifespan for me :sadwalk:

It does indeed look the business. A mate of mine who works at Rockstar North has put in countless hours of OT in the past 6 months or so getting this baby ready for release, so I'm expecting big things! Will probably be the last game I get for the PS3 so hope it's a good 'un :thumbgrin

As an aside, finished LA Noir: Complete Edition not so long ago, what a game that was. Also from the Rockstar stable :bbb:

It looks fantastic. Really does.

Most expensive video game ever made I was reading yesterday.

No plans to move it over to the next generation consoles though, which sucks because that gives the game a limited lifespan for me :sadwalk:

You can play Xbox and Ps3 games on the next gen consoles. :thumbgrin

No you can't :tuttut:

Xbox is working on making it possible through their cloud service, but PS4 isn't backwards compatible at all.

That shite :banger:

PS4 will be able to Download digital versions of PS3 games.

Not sure which ones.

That $#@!e :banger:

PS4 will be able to Download digital versions of PS3 games.

Not sure which ones.

Aye I think that'll happen eventually, but not for a while yet. Same with the Xbox.
But it is shite, cause the hardware is completely different, something to do with voice rendering being the biggest problem (for xbox anyway)

:dunno:

Sony saying some(all?) PS3/PS2/PS1 games to be available as downloads from Playstation store? Although fcuk paying twice for GTA5 :pf:

I'll have it finished before the PS4 comes out anyway :wink:

Sony saying some(all?) PS3/PS2/PS1 games to be available as downloads from Playstation store? Although fcuk paying twice for GTA5 :pf:

I'll have it finished before the PS4 comes out anyway :wink:

Reckon they'll be sorted with PS1 and PS2 games, as they're already heavily marketed and they're the only games I play on my PS3.
Not sure about the PS3 ones tbh, last I read there was nothing ready and that was that :dunno:

I'll have it finished within 10 days because the new fifa will be out, but I usually go back and have madness in GTA throughout the year, won't be doing that this time around, until Xbox get's their cloud thing sorted out.

Was i the only one a bit dissapointed with GTA4? Epic in scale but a bit of a dull slog at times. Vice City was my favoirite.

Nah, not the only one.
Quite well written, but, not something that captured you like Vice City did. Vice City was awesome, great missions, characters and even the side quests caught your attention.

This one looks the business though, abseiling down a building, shooting through the windows, then switching characters to provide sniper fire from a helicopter..... Yes please :bbb:

Nah, not the only one.
Quite well written, but, not something that captured you like Vice City did. Vice City was awesome, great missions, characters and even the side quests caught your attention.

This one looks the business though, abseiling down a building, shooting through the windows, then switching characters to provide sniper fire from a helicopter..... Yes please :bbb:

Vice city was my favourite as well , I'm having to get 2 types (360 n ps3)as my laddie wants to play it as well , there's no danger he would get me off it if we only got it for ps3 ,

I'm just gutted I go to see roger waters in Dublin the day after it comes out !!!

( I'm not really gutted ) :)

Vice City was my favourite for the setting, storyline, and music. Lost a good few years with that one:Sparkle_Cool:.

Feeling old as I remember playing GTA 1:shock:

Can I just say - I dont have a fukking clue what you lot are on about

Thank you :roll:

So what are these Hibs references in San Andreas about?

The GTA games are just made up the road (next to the Omni to be precise). In 2004 the guys put a lot of subtle local references in , what at face value, is a game set entirely with a US west coast vibe (and a damned good job they made of it !).

The main heroes in GTA San Andreas all wear Green , white and black gang colours. A few locations are Easter basin and Leaf Links.

I talked to a few Rockstar North guys, and it was deliberate!

The capital is amazing, The worlds best selling Computer games, Book and movies series all come from here. Take a bow!

That's great stuff.

The GTA games are just made up the road (next to the Omni to be precise). In 2004 the guys put a lot of subtle local references in , what at face value, is a game set entirely with a US west coast vibe (and a damned good job they made of it !).

The main heroes in GTA San Andreas all wear Green , white and black gang colours. A few locations are Easter basin and Leaf Links.

I talked to a few Rockstar North guys, and it was deliberate!

The capital is amazing, The worlds best selling Computer games, Book and movies series all come from here. Take a bow!

Geeky fact; we all know that parts of Vice City, particularly the final mission, are based on the movie Scarface. But did you know that in it's predecessor GTA 3, the radio station Flashback FM plays exclusively tracks from the soundtrack to Scarface, by Giorgio Moroder? :fyi:

Im sure it is Vice City where you can find a billboard that reads Visit Dundee: We Have a Boat Owned by a Loser.

I believe this is to do with Rockstar moving operations to Edinburgh from Dundee for whatever reason.

My mate works (as a graphic artist) for them and from the stuff he's told me, they are one of the worst companies I've ever heard about to work for. Worse than my years in a call centre, and that was abysmal. Enforced overtime for actual years. No extra pay. Shitty bonus. And if you refuse to work from early morning to 10/11pm at night every night of the week including putting hours in at the weekend then you're told quite plainly that you will not even be considered for a bonus even if you achieve your targets.

Fuck Rockstar.

Decent game though.

Find it a wee bit bizarre grown men being so into computer games, really dinnae get it.

Hi M, ;)

I've no used the PS3 for about 2 year now , but this is a game I've played since the very first one came out in about 98 ?

The soundtrack on this is meant to be very very decent as well , theres over 40 hours seemingly (when in cars you change the radio)

Anyway I'll find out quite quickly I've no got the time to play it with the amount of work we have got on for the next 4 months !!

Forget this, get on Saints Row 4.

That's just absolute madness.... Think they realised they'll never compete with GTA so they just made it as crazy and silly as possible.. Good fun though.

Indeed haha. I've been running about killing folk with a 3ft rubber dildo.

Making people dance themselves to death with a dub step gun aswell, ridiculous but brilliant.

My mate works (as a graphic artist) for them and from the stuff he's told me, they are one of the worst companies I've ever heard about to work for. Worse than my years in a call centre, and that was abysmal. Enforced overtime for actual years. No extra pay. Shitty bonus. And if you refuse to work from early morning to 10/11pm at night every night of the week including putting hours in at the weekend then you're told quite plainly that you will not even be considered for a bonus even if you achieve your targets.

Fuck Rockstar.

Decent game though.

Boo-hoo. They make computer games for a living. I'll swap with them???

I was gonna say this too. The long hours and high pressure environment is exactly what you should be expecting at a company spending 250million on a game.

Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

Aye, right. You shouldn't expect to earn a decent wage or be treated like an adult when you make computer games.

What are youse on?

Aye, right. You shouldn't expect to earn a decent wage or be treated like an adult when you make computer games.

What are youse on?

I never said that. Every big game company is the same, they would've known what they were getting themselves into when they accepted the job surely?

There's nothing in your description up there that isn't what everyone already know's about the industry.

I never said that. Every big game company is the same, they would've known what they were getting themselves into when they accepted the job surely?

There's nothing in your description up there that isn't what everyone already know's about the industry.

He does not get paid for the extra work that he is expected to do. This extra work for not just weeks or months but years at a time was not in his contract or job description. It's perfectly reasonable to expect folk to do extra hours every now and again, and usually folk get paid for it. But at Rockstar, the level he's at, he does not get any extra pay. They have him over a barrel because they know there'll be 1000 job apps if he walks cause he's sick of being treated like shit. They are taking advantage of him and many more like him. To dismiss being treated like shit like that by a company making millions is extremely naive.

To be honest, I was fannying about. Didn't mean to stir up a hornet's nest.

If it's that bad however, why hasn't he quit? Or is it simply there are too many applicants and not enough jobs going around?

To be honest, I was fannying about. Didn't mean to stir up a hornet's nest.

If it's that bad however, why hasn't he quit? Or is it simply there are too many applicants and not enough jobs going around?

I seem to be on the fucking blob this week.

There aren't that many jobs for his skillset about so he is kinda stuck. It's all died down now though, now V is nearly out. Makes a mockery of me even bringing the whole think up.

Like I said, I seem to be a bit highly strung the now.

I seem to be on the $#@!ing blob this week.

There aren't that many jobs for his skillset about so he is kinda stuck. It's all died down now though, now V is nearly out. Makes a mockery of me even bringing the whole think up.

Like I said, I seem to be a bit highly strung the now.

There's a good chance I've mistook the first one I replied to aswell. I thought at first it was all stuff he should've expected when he took the job. But it does sound a bit more cut throat than I thought.
Especially with them being one of the few big companies over here, everyone can be replaced so they probably do just look down on them.

He should move to Canada, loads of big companies out there, nice enough place too :giggle:

Sent from my HTC One using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

He does not get paid for the extra work that he is expected to do. This extra work for not just weeks or months but years at a time was not in his contract or job description. It's perfectly reasonable to expect folk to do extra hours every now and again, and usually folk get paid for it. But at Rockstar, the level he's at, he does not get any extra pay. They have him over a barrel because they know there'll be 1000 job apps if he walks cause he's sick of being treated like $#@!. They are taking advantage of him and many more like him. To dismiss being treated like $#@! like that by a company making millions is extremely naive.

I know where you are coming from, my mate works as a level designer for Rockstar and the hours of OT he has had to put in this year is ridiculous. He had to miss out on a stag trip back in May because of this. Always looks permanently shattered!

The other side of the coin is, he has now been there for 8 years + and I have never heard him moan to the extent that he was looking for work elsewhere. I do know Rockstar lost a shitload of staff to Ubisoft in Canada a while back, I guess if he really wanted out that was his opportunity.