Greatest sportstman

Haruki

For me it's one man and one man only.

Ali.

The Greatest.

I realize (?) he's not the perfect human being.

I just watched the HBO documentary about the Thrilla in Minalla and, although skewed against him, it didn't paint him the best.

Fair enough, no-one's perfect, his mouth wasn't for everyone, his muslim stance although not what muslim means nowadays, was hard to take.

But still;

That mouth! That hand speed! That defence! Oh my god. From the Olympics to when he destroyed Liston as an 8/1 underdog he was quite something. And he did it with style.

Whupped ass with the fasted moving fist/defence rope a dope style that has ever been seen. Took his beating from frazier, came back to whup Foreman. The biggest dual ever against Frasier and he probably knows he was lucky but they almost killed each other. For our entertainment.

Heart beyond belief.

A bygone era.

Leanoard/Hagler/Hearns/Durrand were good then too. UFC's, sadly, taking over. Eddie Hearn can kiss my arse if he thinks I'm paying £15 to see Joshua whip some no-mark in two rounds when F1's free.

Plenty choices out there. Jack Nicklaus would be high on my list, not just for his major victories, but for his inner of second finishes.
Bo Jackson is a spectacular sportsman, as is Roger Federer.Jessie Owens or Ali.

maradonna - flawed certainly but beautiful to watch and a tenacious wee cant as well with a huge heart

For such a wee guy Ken Buchanan must be up there.

I have a problem though with these 'greatest ever' things. None of us can really compare with what went on before our lifetimes, certainly not before TV and film?

What was Gentleman Jim Corbett really like, was he that good? Who knows.

Different equipment, just look at the changes to boots and balls in football, never mind training methods.

Comparisons between sports!

Nah!

Diego Armando Maradona. Fact, end of. He even has his own religion.

Ali certainly is up there and may have been my number 1 in the past, but like has been said there are many sportspeople and many sports. Sticking to boxing, you can't rule out Joe Calzaghe who had 26 defences at super middle and light heavy and lost none. Ali was very abusive to opponents...yes to sell tickets but there was times I felt he went past an acceptable point. Ken Buchanan certainly was an extraordinary boxer who feared no one and fighting anywhere, unlike so many fixed fights nowadays.

But as has also been said, standards in sport improve and it is difficult to come to a conclusion had the opportunities been equal. I never thought anyone would beat Steve Davis' record in world championships till Hendry walked in, same With Borg, but now his records are falling again to the likes of Federer.

Jesse Owens and Michael Johnson both 4 times gold winners have been trumped by Usain Bolt with 6 golds.

Ali certainly is up there and may have been my number 1 in the past, but like has been said there are many sportspeople and many sports. Sticking to boxing, you can't rule out Joe Calzaghe who had 26 defences at super middle and light heavy and lost none. Ali was very abusive to opponents...yes to sell tickets but there was times I felt he went past an acceptable point. Ken Buchanan certainly was an extraordinary boxer who feared no one and fighting anywhere, unlike so many fixed fights nowadays.

But as has also been said, standards in sport improve and it is difficult to come to a conclusion had the opportunities been equal. I never thought anyone would beat Steve Davis' record in world championships till Hendry walked in, same With Borg, but now his records are falling again to the likes of Federer.

Jesse Owens and Michael Johnson both 4 times gold winners have been trumped by Usain Bolt with 6 golds.

Bolt with 6 golds?

What about our own Chris Hoy? Or the rowing chap, Vanessa Redgrave.

Sachin Tendulkar, I, yup me Jack, taught him everything he needed to become a sporting superstar, could start a debate about sports popular around the world but not on the HibeesBounce :giggle:

... so then you come to the problem of how can the greatest sportsman only come from a popular sport.

Bolt with 6 golds?

What about our own Chris Hoy? Or the rowing chap, Vanessa Redgrave.

Sachin Tendulkar, I, yup me Jack, taught him everything he needed to become a sporting superstar, could start a debate about sports popular around the world but not on the HibeesBounce :giggle:

... so then you come to the problem of how can the greatest sportsman only come from a popular sport.

Or Michael Phelps way out on his own with a whopping 18 golds.

How about somebody who's won Olympic medals in different disciplines? Take yer pick:

List of athletes with Olympic medals in different disciplines - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Agree comparing sportsmen from different eras is a pointless exercise, from different sports even more so. But if we have to, I would say it would have to be someone who has done more than just dominate their sport over a sustained period - you could probably come up with a list of hunners of folk who satisfy that criteria. They would have to have an extra edge; whether that be a charismatic personality, charitable acts, acts of outstanding sportsmanship, or a "prevailing against all the odds" backstory maybe? I dunno. :hmmm

Plenty choices out there. Jack Nicklaus would be high on my list, not just for his major victories, but for his inner of second finishes.
Bo Jackson is a spectacular sportsman, as is Roger Federer.Jessie Owens or Ali.

I like your shout for Bo Jackson.

If not for injury then he could have been unbelivable.