Get Gray to fuck(sarcasm)

So there's probably about 60/70 games played since then.
We've conceded first in nearly half of that? And failed to win.

Actually quite shocked at that.
Utd away in Feb 25 as Kev has posted. Thats the last time we conceded first then came back to win a game. Fuckin brutal.

Aye that looks more like it. Terrible stat. Thing is we all know that if we lose goal first we are not likely to win the game. Not with Gray in charge.
I'm surprised at the stats.

It seems to me we only start to put a game together when we go a goal down.
Obviously not enough of a game.

It's just time for a clean slate and new coaching unit from top to bottom. The mindset and mentality all through the club isn't good enough and starting to bleed into the stands.

I've watched Hibs for 40 years and over the past 4-5 seasons, there's a dread inside the team and support in the closing stages of every game where we are marginally ahead.

Back in the day against teams like Killie, St Mirren, etc, when we'd score first, we expected to then kick on and score another 2 or 3. Under this regime, it's score one and then back off. Every manager in the league can see this and I'm sure it's pointed out in team meetings against us. Even against Patrick Thistle, we score the one goal and hang on. This is fucking Hibs ffs, this shouldn't be the case

A few days ago one of the most experienced and respected managers in football, Martin O'Neill, sat in the technical area and watched his team blow a 4-0 lead on aggregate to exit the Champions League costing his club north of £25 million. As he watched this, there is no doubt he would have tried to make changes to help stem the tide of attacks hitting the Celtic goals, but at the end of the day he personally could do nothing to stop it. Why was this ? It's because once the players cross that line it's ultimately up to them to play to the best of their ability and win the match. The manager can only work with the players during the week, pick the team and set the tactics. After that, it's up to the players to perform....and very highly paid players at that.

I think the people who feel the need to carry on this onslaught of criticism of David Gray should maybe keep the above in mind. The manager can only do so much. Substitutions are made for a reason. Players get knocks and have to come off as was the case with Passlack on Thursday night. Then there are players who have maybe been carrying injuries or are completely wiped out.

As manager, of course Davie Gray ultimately takes responsibility for results, and there are 15,000 people at Easter Road who all think they can do the job better than a fully qualified coach who has been involved in the game for the best part of 20 years. We are all entitled to our views and opinions. For me though it's the players who win or lose a game. They all want to win as much as the fans, but it's easy to forget that there is another team and another manager who wants to win that game as much as we do. I know Thursdays result and the manner of the defeat was a real sore one, I was absolutely gutted after the game, but we have to back the team and the manager. If the board decide he isn't the right guy for the job any more, they will make the decision, but until that time I really hope the support get behind the manager and the team. We have some huge games coming up that we need to win, and we need everyone at the club to pull together.

I really don't like the "Get Gray to fuck" mentality. The man is a Hibernian legend. As big a legend as there will ever be. Doesn't mean he can't be criticised and doesn't mean he can't, or shouldn't, be sacked but for me does mean he should be given more respect than that.

That all said he's IMHO getting the criticism and scrutiny because we are really quite a bland and boring football team to currently watch. We are beat if we concede first. We appear to only react if we concede and then we quickly revert to type. We never look like a side really looking to win a game.

It isn’t so much that it isn't swashbuckling but that it has become so tedious and predictable.

I really don't like the "Get Gray to fuck" mentality. The man is a Hibernian legend. As big a legend as there will ever be. Doesn't mean he can't be criticised and doesn't mean he can't, or shouldn't, be sacked but for me does mean he should be given more respect than that.

That all said he's IMHO getting the criticism and scrutiny because we are really quite a bland and boring football team to currently watch. We are beat if we concede first. We appear to only react if we concede and then we quickly revert to type. We never look like a side really looking to win a game.

It isn’t so much that it isn't swashbuckling but that it has become so tedious and predictable.
I get what you say. I think the title of the thread could have been put more diplomatically. However it must be discussed.

I agree late goals is an issue. But that stat is 18% of Grays games which must mean we aren’t conceding late in 82% of games. Needs more analysis (were we ahead; drawing or behind - cos that’s a different story entirely).
The real thing is how many times have we thrown away a lead in those 80+ minutes. Or thrown away a draw
Then compare to how often we’ve saved a draw or managed to win after 80 minutes.
Stat is not 18% mate
Stat is 18 games its happened thats poor no matter how looked at

Back in the day against teams like Killie, St Mirren, etc, when we'd score first, we expected to then kick on and score another 2 or 3.
When was this?🤔😂
Maybe under Turnbull, but not in the last 40+ years... Unless what we "expected" and what almost always actually happened are different things... Which they rarely are to folk with a modern sense of entitlement.
I'd cautiously suggest that the number of times we've ragged Killie, St Mirren, Motherwell, Dunfermline, Partick, Falkirk & St.Johnstone by 3 goals or more in the last 50 seasons barely exceeds the number of times they've beaten us by 3 goals or more.
Maybe fans "expected" a post-match blowjob from Agnetha Fältskog, Farrah Fawcett, Tracey Lords, Pamela Anderson, Smamfa Fox, Cybill Shepherd, Gabriella Sabatini, Anna Ford, Anna Kournikova, Susannah Hoffs or Madonna "back in the day"... but I doubt they got one
Nowadays, we apparently "expect" to "kick on" from a 3rd place finish and a couple of wins in Europe.
I mind being back once and seeing us hand out a couple of tannings (Pars & Dundee🤔) but we can file "expected to kick on and score another 2 or 3" v "Yo-Yo clubs" under "Things That Never Happened."

There’s a lot of scrutiny in managers and high expectations all round and rightly so too. They are in high profile, public facing jobs.

But what I cannot abide is the venom that comes from our fans. I get - to an extent - that in the case of the likes of Johnson and Montgomery they weren’t entirely straight with us so possibly deserved some vitriol. But Davie, the man who Captained our team to the Scottish cup final then scored the winning goal that gave us our first SC win in 114 years, does not deserve it!

He is honest with us doesn’t billy big baws it and is hard working and dedicated.

In return for that he gets threads on this forum titled ‘get Gray tae fuck!’. He deserves more respect than that.

Mixu got the same, he was a man who loved Hibs and yet he was hounded out.

How some people survive their days without their heads exploding because of some little thing happening,.I’d hate to see them if things went really pear shaped, like a 100ft wall of flood water engulfing their town.

Every time the job is up for grabs I always dread it being given to one of our legends, because I know that it will end poisonously.

There is definitely a debate to be had and these forums are for that but I just don’t get why it has to be so vicious when it’s about a great servant of our club!

Imagine if the same attention was applied to the fans. Someone wasn’t watching for the full 90+ mins, went for a piss 10 mins in. Missed the first 10 mins cos they were still in the pub. Only turns up for big cup games…!

Some folks need to get perspective and show some respect!

show some respect!
He's an ex footballer, not bad nothing special and now a manager, not bad nothing special. Scored the winning goal in a Scottish cup final we hadnae won for 114 years. For that he's elevated to legend status and knighted. Would he be so revered if it was 4 years? 14 years?
Bigger heroes for me in that campaign were Paul Hanlon, Conrad Logan and far and away the biggest...Anthony Stokes.
Respect? Nah, I'll reserve that for those more deserving, and they won't be celebrities or sports people.

He's an ex footballer, not bad nothing special and now a manager, not bad nothing special. Scored the winning goal in a Scottish cup final we hadnae won for 114 years. For that he's elevated to legend status and knighted. Would he be so revered if it was 4 years? 14 years?
Bigger heroes for me in that campaign were Paul Hanlon, Conrad Logan and far and away the biggest...Anthony Stokes.
Respect? Nah, I'll reserve that for those more deserving, and they won't be celebrities or sports people.
David Gray did much more during the Cup run than just score the winning goal. For a start, as captain, he took it upon himself to ring round every player the morning after the Ross County defeat to lift them for the midweek ICT replay and tell them to make sure they got themselves back to Hampden. Then there was his warrior performance in the final as well, not just his goal.
We owe him far more respect than some on here give him. Shame on them.

Ok so you think he doesn’t deserve the respect, your choice.

But, does he deserve to be vilified…?

Ok so you think he doesn’t deserve the respect, your choice.

But, does he deserve to be vilified…?
No He's definitely not my idea of a good manager but I certainly wouldn't go as far as some in the hate stakes.
My post was more a comment on the word "respect" and it's application.
Of course people will read what they think a post means rather than the actual meaning.

There’s a lot of scrutiny in managers and high expectations all round and rightly so too. They are in high profile, public facing jobs.

But what I cannot abide is the venom that comes from our fans. I get - to an extent - that in the case of the likes of Johnson and Montgomery they weren’t entirely straight with us so possibly deserved some vitriol. But Davie, the man who Captained our team to the Scottish cup final then scored the winning goal that gave us our first SC win in 114 years, does not deserve it!

He is honest with us doesn’t billy big baws it and is hard working and dedicated.

In return for that he gets threads on this forum titled ‘get Gray tae fuck!’. He deserves more respect than that.

Mixu got the same, he was a man who loved Hibs and yet he was hounded out.

How some people survive their days without their heads exploding because of some little thing happening,.I’d hate to see them if things went really pear shaped, like a 100ft wall of flood water engulfing their town.

Every time the job is up for grabs I always dread it being given to one of our legends, because I know that it will end poisonously.

There is definitely a debate to be had and these forums are for that but I just don’t get why it has to be so vicious when it’s about a great servant of our club!

Imagine if the same attention was applied to the fans. Someone wasn’t watching for the full 90+ mins, went for a piss 10 mins in. Missed the first 10 mins cos they were still in the pub. Only turns up for big cup games…!

Some folks need to get perspective and show some respect!
As the aged one posted it was a heavily sarcastic thread title.
There are a few in here never seem to derive any pleasure watching Hibs makes you wonder why they go to games.
I watch games then come on here to hear the views of ppl seem to have watched a completely different game.
Opinions eh.

A few days ago one of the most experienced and respected managers in football, Martin O'Neill, sat in the technical area and watched his team blow a 4-0 lead on aggregate to exit the Champions League costing his club north of £25 million. As he watched this, there is no doubt he would have tried to make changes to help stem the tide of attacks hitting the Celtic goals, but at the end of the day he personally could do nothing to stop it. Why was this ? It's because once the players cross that line it's ultimately up to them to play to the best of their ability and win the match. The manager can only work with the players during the week, pick the team and set the tactics. After that, it's up to the players to perform....and very highly paid players at that.

I think the people who feel the need to carry on this onslaught of criticism of David Gray should maybe keep the above in mind. The manager can only do so much. Substitutions are made for a reason. Players get knocks and have to come off as was the case with Passlack on Thursday night. Then there are players who have maybe been carrying injuries or are completely wiped out.

As manager, of course Davie Gray ultimately takes responsibility for results, and there are 15,000 people at Easter Road who all think they can do the job better than a fully qualified coach who has been involved in the game for the best part of 20 years. We are all entitled to our views and opinions. For me though it's the players who win or lose a game. They all want to win as much as the fans, but it's easy to forget that there is another team and another manager who wants to win that game as much as we do. I know Thursdays result and the manner of the defeat was a real sore one, I was absolutely gutted after the game, but we have to back the team and the manager. If the board decide he isn't the right guy for the job any more, they will make the decision, but until that time I really hope the support get behind the manager and the team. We have some huge games coming up that we need to win, and we need everyone at the club to pull together.
Under Grays watch last minute goals, poor game management and poor substitutions have cost the club north of 8 million pounds in prize money in the last 12 months. Against Legia he brought on Megwa who is out his depth at European level leaving the vastly experienced Hanley on the bench. Megwa makes an inevitable mistake and Legia score a 90th minute goal. Rinse and repeat 12 months later. Its unbelievable that a manager has not learnt his lesson.

We've had such horrible last minute disastrous failures it's easy to forget that really it's been impressive we got there in the first place. Gent were a good team and we went toe to toe. Two seasons of getting into the European qualifiers and then good runs in each. I reckon we'll have another ok but bit depressing season, Gray will leave and we'll get someone rubbish and regret it

It is the Hibs way.

No He's definitely not my idea of a good manager but I certainly wouldn't go as far as some in the hate stakes.
My post was more a comment on the word "respect" and it's application.
Of course people will read what they think a post means rather than the actual meaning.
I understand that and agree wholeheartedly about the number of people who are only famous for being famous and whose moral example is questionable at best, yet they demand respect.
I think there is a difference in respecting someone and blindl devotion.
I think Gray has done enough to be treated with decency and respectfully!

David Gray did much more during the Cup run than just score the winning goal. For a start, as captain, he took it upon himself to ring round every player the morning after the Ross County defeat to lift them for the midweek ICT replay and tell them to make sure they got themselves back to Hampden. Then there was his warrior performance in the final as well, not just his goal.
We owe him far more respect than some on here give him. Shame on them.
What about the fans getting some respect.Season after season expected to part with their cash to watch tedious crap.It is meant to be entertainment.Yes nobody makes people attend but fans do it because they love the club.It would be nice if the club gave something back instead of empty promises.I support Hibs not David Gray.Why people continue with this hero worship of Gray blows my mind.Yes it was great but now in the past.As a club and support we have to move on. The club is stagnant and it needs fresh idea’s.I think we need a new manager and coaches that is why I want change.I would like to see us challenge at the top end of the league sometimes.Our supporters deserve it.

Also I can imagine Gray winning a cup with this squad. Lee Johnson, Montgomery, Maloney, it just felt beyond the realms of possibility

I can see the squad winning a cup.
The football played doesn't lean into it though.

There are a few in here never seem to derive any pleasure watching Hibs makes you wonder why they go to games.
I watch games then come on here to hear the views of ppl seem to have watched a completely different game.
Opinions eh.
I think that's the nub of the issue. "Deriving any pleasure" and "watching Hibs" have been mutually exclusive for a long time now. As much because of the style of play as because of the results.

Opinions eh.
Yea, apologies I missed the irony in the title and the nuance in your post, but fully agree the sentiment of it.

Agree entirely with this.

There seem to be some people who aren’t happy unless they have something to be unhappy about. Not saying that by any stretch that the state of things currently is great, but it’s not terrible either.

I wonder what everyone thinks they’re entitled to in return for paying for their season ticket/walk up ticket and supporting Hibs.

Are we simply entitled to watch a game of football and hope for a win…or is it something else eg a win every time!

Whatever it is, does it allow us to lambast players, call them whatever we feel like, be so angry some may feel threatened. Just for the crime of not scoring or making a killer pass, or an inch perfect tackle every time and the manager for allowing that to happen.

Yea, apologies I missed the irony in the title and the nuance in your post, but fully agree the sentiment of it.

Agree entirely with this.

There seem to be some people who aren’t happy unless they have something to be unhappy about. Not saying that by any stretch that the state of things currently is great, but it’s not terrible either.

I wonder what everyone thinks they’re entitled to in return for paying for their season ticket/walk up ticket and supporting Hibs.

Are we simply entitled to watch a game of football and hope for a win…or is it something else eg a win every time!

Whatever it is, does it allow us to lambast players call them whatever we feel like be so angry some may feel threatened. Just for the crime of not scoring or making a killer pass, or an inch perfect tackle every time and the manager for allowing that to happen.
Just want to win

Ron Burgundy What GIF

Looking at bit deeper into the late conceding over the last 9 games things got a little less painful than the first glance of 5 games and 6 goals.
Hibs scored enough across the tie to counter the two Malisheva scored, lost to Well, came back and scored a winner against the Huns and lost to Gent.
So 3 of the 5 we still got the result in the end.

2 of the 6 goals were Chiawa own goals if you want to see that as bad luck, on him or still just a wider defensive problem. Then there are the two we have scored past 90 to win games.

Sure it's a tiny sample size and the late goal trend is a worry but at this point I'm still in the it's just Hibs never doing anything the easy way mind set.

Might be clutching at straws and talking pish mind.

I would argue that, given how long the same old, same old problems have persisted, the "invective" has mostly been quite subdued. Maybe that's part of the problem - Hibs supporters are too tolerant. 🤔
Let's see how the "invective" is if we produce another eye-bleeding performance tomorrow and are convincingly beaten. 😉