Fuckin Shambles Taxi Outing For the Bairns Cancelled

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
This year’s Edinburgh Taxi Outing is set to be cancelled due to a national policy change which will prevent police from escorting the procession.
Organisers of the event, which has been an annual fixture since the 1940s, said they have been informed of a policy change from the National Police Chiefs Council which means that police officers will no longer be able to escort the event which takes place annually in Edinburgh and East Lothian.
Fuckin outrageous.:53:

Each year I see a brilliantly decorated taxi turn up in our street and a delighted kid get in for a fun day out. What a bummer. Who is happy with this?

Did they not do one down south not long ago..
Do the taxis need an escort?

It's to get them through the city nice and quick.
Some of the bairns wouldn't cope well being trapped at traffic lights at the west end forever and a day.
Will split the cabs up, won't be the same thing.

Thats awful. The police are a public service ffs
The polis are fuckin skint. Like everything else. I saw something the other day that cops are due something like 800 years of time off having accrued it through overtime working, cancelled rest days and cancelled annual leave. When they ask for time off they’re told they can’t be spared.
Thank fuck I retired before it fell this far

This year’s Edinburgh Taxi Outing is set to be cancelled due to a national policy change which will prevent police from escorting the procession.
Organisers of the event, which has been an annual fixture since the 1940s, said they have been informed of a policy change from the National Police Chiefs Council which means that police officers will no longer be able to escort the event which takes place annually in Edinburgh and East Lothian.

Couple of Edinburgh MPs are on the war path already, Scot Arthur and Ian Murray.

As someone who's son used this outstanding event i think it is a tragedy tbh and reflects very poorly on our city.

Did they not do one down south not long ago..
Do the taxis need an escort?
There's something like 70 taxis take part along with a few other vehicles. Apart from kids getting upset the procession would get all split up turning into traffic, traffic lights, congestion and the rest. God knows how long after the first would the last one arrive.

Between them the council and the police allow all sorts of demonstrations, including the likes of the orange order, in our streets. They'll still be going on.

Couple of Edinburgh MPs are on the war path already, Scot Arthur and Ian Murray.

As someone who's son used this outstanding event i think it is a tragedy tbh and reflects very poorly on our city.
I know a few drivers who do this every year including 1 whose daughter participates.
Terrible decision tae stop it.

I'm trying to work this out, so forgive me if I have missed something.
Last year, and for the last 80 years, there was enough police available to escort this event, but this year all of a sudden there isn't ?
All due to a change in policy ?

I'm trying to work this out, so forgive me if I have missed something.
Last year, and for the last 80 years, there was enough police available to escort this event, but this year all of a sudden there isn't ?
All due to a change in policy ?
Its a weegie police force now. Must be the only country in the world where police HQ isnae in the capital

It's a National policy, mandatory to Scotland too, or so I understand.
The Weedgie version is going ahead,

The details for this year's event are:
  • Date: Wednesday, June 17, 2026
  • Start Time: 10:45 AM
  • Starting Location: Kelvin Way, Glasgow
  • Route: Parades through the city before heading down to Troon Beach

The Weedgie version is going ahead,

The details for this year's event are:
  • Date: Wednesday, June 17, 2026
  • Start Time: 10:45 AM
  • Starting Location: Kelvin Way, Glasgow
  • Route: Parades through the city before heading down to Troon Beach
Maybe no cops on bikes needed for that one.

Now look at all that money that was wasted on barriers, signage, buses etc for a sPecial evEnt that was supposed to take place last weekend 😂.

How much would it cost for 3 cops on bikes for the day to take these kids to the beach.

This parade is an institution in Edinburgh.

Kids drive through the toon soaking passers by wi their water pistols, Doon tae Lucas for an ice cream, then onto the beach to finish a fantastic day. I would only think that these kids remember this for a lifetime.

Not sure you can fault the police but something has to be done for this to continue.

I know a few drivers who do this every year including 1 whose daughter participates.
Terrible decision tae stop it.

It's the taxi drivers who make this day for kids & parents alike.

Spend hours decorating their taxis and giving up their time. No money can replace just seeing a wee smile on these kids faces. Some have maybe never been in a taxi or car, been to an ice cream shop or a beach before.

People need to realise we pay their wages.

Your paying more money for the same service...they camt provide.

Do it anyway.....what they gonna do?

Maybe they should get one of the "Royal" family to attend. There would be no problems policing it, Im sure.

Or

Take a few thousand from the tourist tax and direct it there to pay for the polis. Its for Edinburgh
after all
Auld Richmond fingers heid is like a taxi wi the doors open and the bonnet up.