Football in Germany

Gareth

I know some of you chaps have gone over to Bundesliga games recently. I'm looking to take my old boy over for his 70th and have been having a look at fixtures and flights etc. Had fancied Dortmund but don't seem to be any direct flights (?) so mibbes Frankfurt. Any suggestions re where to buy tickets and what part of the ground is best for a bit of atmosphere?
Any other useful info also appreciated.
Cheers

I know some of you chaps have gone over to Bundesliga games recently. I'm looking to take my old boy over for his 70th and have been having a look at fixtures and flights etc. Had fancied Dortmund but don't seem to be any direct flights (?) so mibbes Frankfurt. Any suggestions re where to buy tickets and what part of the ground is best for a bit of atmosphere?
Cheers

Hi Gareth

You won't be dissapointed with your choice of Frankfurt, was there last season with my boys and a few from the Bounce and have to say it was a superb weekend.

Drop Zondervan or Smoking Bob a PM, (the latter lived in the city for a few years) both sound guys and veterans of numerous Frankfurt trips to the fitba and with them having mates over there shouldn't be a problem getting tickets. Me and me boys will give you our experience of the wonderful trip we had when i see you on Sunday.

Hi Gareth

You won't be dissapointed with your choice of Frankfurt, was there last season with my boys and a few from the Bounce and have to say it was a superb weekend.

Drop Zondervan or Smoking Bob a PM, (the latter lived in the city for a few years) both sound guys and veterans of numerous Frankfurt trips to the fitba and with them having mates over there shouldn't be a problem getting tickets. Me and me boys will give you our experience of the wonderful trip we had when i see you on Sunday.

Thanks Bomber. I remember you talking about that trip and it did sound good. I'll drop them a wee note now. Needless to say, not a word to the auld yin until I get it sorted. See you Sunday!

been to football in berlin, bremen and munich - all amazing, all ryanair/easyjet out of edinburgh

Cheers

When is the old boy 70 Gareth. Give him my regards if you would be so kind. I'm going over to watch Dortmund some time in the spring. I was under the impression there were direct flights but I havent checked. I will ask my mate how we are getting there and let you know.

I go over to Dortmund quite regularly, From the UK, I know Ryan Air fly to Dusseldorf Weeze which is near the Dutch border and about an hour away from Dusseldorf/ Dortmund.
The match day experience at the Signal Iduna Park is amazing, the locals are friendly and the beer is cheap. I must admit that I have not experienced anything like it in the uk. The town is rocking from early doors until the wee hours on matchday.
Tickets go on sale to the public a month before the game, but are hard to come by. I get tickets via a Supporters club. Another problem is that the hotels in town sell out rapidly, again you would have to book a good month in advance. BVB sell out every home game, 81000 :shock:, the sd tribune is all standing and it holdes about 25000, its huge.I definately recommend a weekend in Dortmund.

Tickets are available via Viagogo.com but you pay over the odds for cat A games.

When is the old boy 70 Gareth. Give him my regards if you would be so kind. I'm going over to watch Dortmund some time in the spring. I was under the impression there were direct flights but I havent checked. I will ask my mate how we are getting there and let you know.

A week today Dub, but looking to go to a game late Feb/early March. I'll pass on your regards mate

been to football in berlin, bremen and munich - all amazing, all ryanair/easyjet out of edinburgh

Cheers Kenny. I was under the impression Berlin wasn't great for games due to the size of the stadium and the atmosphere getting a bit lost. Love the city so if thats not true might have to opt for that

A week today Dub, but looking to go to a game late Feb/early March. I'll pass on your regards mate

Cheers Kenny. I was under the impression Berlin wasn't great for games due to the size of the stadium and the atmosphere getting a bit lost. Love the city so if thats not true might have to opt for that

we went about 5 years ago, hertha top of the league, stadium half full, but its the 1938 olympic stadium (possible rudolf hess?), most amazing stadium i've ever been to, all marble and brass, no concrete or steel girders...still the holes where they removed the swazstikas.

bremen was the best for a drink and walk to the stadium, the other two are trains to the stadiums

The Berlin atmosphere is always decent enough at one end of the ground and depending on the opponents might be even better than that if the stadium is nearer capacity. Was one of the best atmospheres I have seen for the Frankfurt game on the opening day of the season. Bonus of having plenty to see and do in the city as well.

If considering Dortmund you would be far better staying in Duesseldorf anyway which is a good city (very good compared to Dortmund) and your match ticket covers regional trains to the stadium from there. I've seen all that German teams have to offer home and away and Dortmund's atmosphere is way overrated in my opinion considering the numbers in there but its a very good stadium albeit with a lot of football tourists jumping on the Dortmund wankfest of late. Not helped by their old firm type fans either.

Schalke is handy for a Duesseldorf stay as well but not sure re availability of tickets these days. You may also have the option of Cologne or Fortuna Duesseldorf Bundesliga 2 games nearby on a different day as well depending on matchdays and who is home or away.

Hamburg is a great city and another good stadium to visit.

Bremen is smaller but good boozer scene although not sure what else is on offer in the city.

Not a lot to do tourist wise in Frankfurt to be honest but the football is a good day out. The Stuttgart game you mentioned would be near sell out with full away end.

Munich is a great city with plenty to do and a very impressive stadium. Atmosphere not the greatest and tickets would probably have to be bought in advance at a premium on viagogo or try your luck at the stadium train station where people always sell them - isn't ideal when it's for a birthday present!

That covers most teams mentioned. You are probably best checking which games take your fancy on the weekends you are looking at Clubs and players - Bundesliga - official website - matchday 23 -and then checking dates, times and prices of the flights.

The best support of all 18 bundesliga teams is in frankfurt. They are most creative and loudest.
Most impressive stadium in my opinion is Munich especially at an evening match when the arena is covered in red completely. Hamburg is also a good adress.

But it is really hard to get tickets for any of them. Dortmund i. e. Has sold more than 50.000 season tickets.