Flag debate (again🙄)

Beagle

Am I the only one here who gets hacked off with folk appending the Irish tricolour on threads? To me, it just screams Celtc wannabe. It is NOT the flag of Hibernian as far as I’m concerned. It had relevance well after our club’s founding.
The ONLY Irish flag we should celebrate is the harp.
Rant over

• IMG_0991.jpeg
    IMG_0991.jpeg
    20 KB · Views: 5
Ps it also seems to be a self limiting thing - the numbers have never really grown for 30 years or so that I recall. Go back earlier and there were probably a few more than today.

Am I the only one here who gets hacked off with folk appending the Irish tricolour on threads? To me, it just screams Celtc wannabe. It is NOT the flag of Hibernian as far as I’m concerned. It had relevance well after our club’s founding.
The ONLY Irish flag we should celebrate is the harp.
Rant over
I couldn't agree more .
Whether we like it or not, the smellies have changed the significance of that flag and it is viewed by others as Hibs trying to be plastic paddys. Very much like seeing union jacks and red hand flags at the gunts games. It could be argued they are a British club with protestant roots but you just look at they flags and shake your head.
The harp every day for me, and the ship for Leith . Why anyone would wish to align themselves with the bigotry and poison associated with the ugly sisters is of utter bemusement to me .

I couldn't agree more .
Whether we like it or not, the smellies have changed the significance of that flag and it is viewed by others as Hibs trying to be plastic paddys. Very much like seeing union jacks and red hand flags at the gunts games. It could be argued they are a British club with protestant roots but you just look at they flags and shake your head.
The harp every day for me, and the ship for Leith . Why anyone would wish to align themselves with the bigotry and poison associated with the ugly sisters is of utter bemusement to me .
Noone has changed the significance of the flag , may have changed narrow minded peoples opinion of the flag
Red hand of ulster has no significance to either of the huns in anyway whatsoever
Waving the current flag of Ireland is not aligning themselves to bigotry or posion

The orange on the tricolour is for protestants for starters. Anyone offended by it are the problem.

15 minutes into the games tonight but ranting about a tricolour 😆

I couldn't agree more .
Who wants to align themselves with weegie bigotry ? Not me for a start.

I'd rather have a starry plough.
Now that is a flag with origins in Irish republicanism - and indeed of the armed sort. Although subsequently adopted by the non armed sort, and while it wouldn’t bother me personally, I have more sympathy with the complaints of others on this one.

Who wants to align themselves with weegie bigotry ? Not me for a start.
It is how it is perceived I was getting at. Don't kid yourself that to the rest of Scotland, that flag is a symbol for many disturbing wrongs. As is the UJ and Ulster flags.
Celtic and all their IRA pish have hijacked it. I think you more than in touch with common perceptions than I could ever explain. In fact I don't think, I know.
I'm sick off having to explain to Huns and gunts why a portion of our support fly the tricolour. All I get is " your just as bad as the Smellies" or probably even worse, smellies commenting that we really are their wee cousins and they appreciate the support.
We.need to distance ourselves from that pish, there are plenty more Irish symbols we could adopt to show our proud heritage.

It is how it is perceived I was getting at. Don't kid yourself that to the rest of Scotland, that flag is a symbol for many disturbing wrongs. As is the UJ and Ulster flags.
Celtic and all their IRA pish have hijacked it. I think you more than in touch with common perceptions than I could ever explain. In fact I don't think, I know.
I'm sick off having to explain to Huns and gunts why a portion of our support fly the tricolour. All I get is " your just as bad as the Smellies" or probably even worse, smellies commenting that we really are their wee cousins and they appreciate the support.
We.need to distance ourselves from that pish, there are plenty more Irish symbols we could adopt to show our proud heritage.
Sorry I don’t misunderstand you, I do know exactly what you mean. I just don’t agree on the flags while agreeing on the bigotry.

To me it’s like the English right on sorts who dissociated themselves from their national flags because they were ‘hijacked by the far right’. I always thought that was flawed reasoning - ‘are you just going to let them, then’ was my instinct. The English put that to bed at euro 96.

Now, even apart from the sectarian pish, I would not like us to be like Celtic fans in emphasising Ireland over Scotland but I see no danger whatsoever of that.

We have the Harp, much better than a tricolour.
Don't know why anybody wants tae fly a foreign flag at a fitba' match.
We shake our heids at the wee dafties on the other side of the city with their union flags etc but some think the tricolour is okay.
We're a Scottish club with a proud heritage leave the article paddy bit tae the soapys

Don't shake my head at UJ.
Red hand of ulster, para flags aye . Because neither of the hun teams have a single thing to do with Ireland.

I don't give a single fuck what anyone else in Scotland thinks ref the tricolour
It's the flag of Ireland the country our founders hailed from and fuck let's be proud of it different because it might upset Billy in Ayr, or Malcolm in Perth

Screenshot_20230928_081752_Photos.jpg

Don't shake my head at UJ.
Red hand of ulster, para flags aye . Because neither of the hun teams have a single thing to do with Ireland.

I don't give a single fuck what anyone else in Scotland thinks ref the tricolour
It's the flag of Ireland the country our founders hailed from and fuck let's be proud of it different because it might upset Billy in Ayr, or Malcolm in Perth

View attachment 12091
The tricolour isn’t the flag of our founders though. The flag of Ireland at the time of our founding was the harp. That is the distinction I was making.

Or Torquil in Gorgie.

The tricolour isn’t the flag of our founders though. The flag of Ireland at the time of our founding was the harp. That is the distinction I was making.
Aye and I get that. But it is the flag of Ireland now.

Not a symbol for the IRA, not exclusive to Celtic and not aligned to bigotry either.

If people want to say you want just just be like Celtic they need told to get to fuck.

It is the flag of our founders country now, and recognised by folk who probably widnae know about the harp flag.

Aye and I get that. But it is the flag of Ireland now.

Not a symbol for the IRA, not exclusive to Celtic and not aligned to bigotry either.

If people want to say you want just just be like Celtic they need told to get to fuck.

It is the flag of our founders country now, and recognised by folk who probably widnae know about the harp flag.
Nope. That disnae wash with me. If we’re going to lecture the soap dodging plastic scum bags from the west about history then we should be embracing it ourselves otherwise we just succumb to the perception of those that would see us as ‘wee cousins’ but just lack the bus fare.

• IMG_0991.jpeg
    IMG_0991.jpeg
    20 KB · Views: 3
Nope. That disnae wash with me. If we’re going to lecture the soap dodging plastic scum bags from the west about history then we should be embracing it ourselves otherwise we just succumb to the perception of those that would see us as ‘wee cousins’ but just lack the bus fare.

Why do you care about the perception of others? Particularly from Celtic, Rangers of Hearts fans?

Folk can think the fuck what they like, I'll no lose any sleep over it.

Unfortunately just as the St Georges Cross was highjacked by certain right wing elements so the tricolour has been highjacked by certain elements to represent something else.
I feel a connection to the Irish founders of our club I feel no connection to ireland as a country

All a lot of different strokes for different folks here.

Unfortunately just as the St Georges Cross was highjacked by certain right wing elements so the tricolour has been highjacked by certain elements to represent something else.
I feel a connection to the Irish founders of our club I feel no connection to ireland as a country
For you aye.

For me naw

Who's lecturing ? I certainly give no fucks what they think
As for the wee cousin stuff I also have no interest in it either.

The current flag of Ireland was intended to show unity and peace between the faiths anyone that sees it the other way that's their problem.

Was also flown above the GPO in 1916 where a certain Mr Connolly played a massive part

So fuck celtic , fuck the rest of the narrow minded people in Scotland

Why do you care about the perception of others? Particularly from Celtic, Rangers of Hearts fans?
I’m more interested in why some of our own fans would want to fly the flag of a modern country that has nothing to do with a Scottish football club. It’s a rhetorical argument though.

When you started this thread I was more interested in what was happening on the park, watching us try get to a semi final and trying to work our how it can cost £2.70 ( season ticket discount included) for a flat coke zero

But each to their own

Who's lecturing ? I certainly give no fucks what they think
As for the wee cousin stuff I also have no interest in it either.

The current flag of Ireland was intended to show unity and peace between the faiths anyone that sees it the other way that's their problem.

Was also flown above the GPO in 1916 where a certain Mr Connolly played a massive part

So fuck celtic , fuck the rest of the narrow minded people in Scotland
Maybe you missed the fact that Hibernian (the ancient Latin name given to Ireland by the Romans) football club was founded in 1875 when the flag of that country was the harp. The tricolour came later and is regarded by many (despite its true nature) as a symbol of political and religious division - like Celtc.
If we want to revere a symbol of our historical identity it should be the harp with the saltire as our own country’s symbol. No?

Maybe you missed the fact that Hibernian (the ancient Latin name given to Ireland by the Romans) football club was founded in 1875 when the flag of that country was the harp. The tricolour came later and is regarded by many (despite its true nature) as a symbol of political and religious division - like Celtc.
If we want to revere a symbol of our historical identity it should be the harp with the saltire as our own country’s symbol. No?
I'm not denying the flag came after our formation
But it is now the flag of the country of our founders.
But I've said already anyone that sees the tricolour as symbol of religious division is wrong and narrow minded

I just don't get rattled by a flag or rattled by what people may think of the flag.

Fuck knows what you think of the starry plough flag or the flag with Connolly on it

When you started this thread I was more interested in what was happening on the park, watching us try get to a semi final and trying to work our how it can cost £2.70 ( season ticket discount included) for a flat coke zero

But each to their own
I started the thread due to seeing a post, containing said flag, just around kick off time. I have my reservations about the poster who I’m yet to be convinced isn’t an interloper. I just find it odd that someone would sign off a post with a tricolour on a Hibs match thread. It annoyed me at the time as I thought what the fuck has that got to do with the match.

Cowgateharp has alot to answer for 😂

Ireland wasn't an independent country when we were formed, but still under the British yoke. The tricolour is not regarded as you describe anywhere in the world but in hun enclaves.

My head doesn't zip up the back and I do get what you mean in terms of the manner in which it is used by celtic supporters.

But tricolours have long been a small but regular feature at ER without ira songs or other ludicrous posturing accompanying them. This has been the case for decades and I see no reason it will change.

I'm not denying the flag came after our formation
But it is now the flag of the country of our founders.
But I've said already anyone that sees the tricolour as symbol of religious division is wrong and narrow minded

I just don't get rattled by a flag or rattled by what people may think of the flag.

Fuck knows what you think of the starry plough flag or the flag with Connolly on it
I’ll tell you what I think. That they’ve got bugger all to do with a Scottish football club. Although I must admit I haven’t seen a Connolly one but, unless he’s wearing a Hibs strip and it’s a political flag with his picture on it, then again, it’s got nothing to do with a Scottish football club and is just a means to antagonise.

Ireland wasn't an independent country when we were formed, but still under the British yoke. The tricolour is not regarded as you describe anywhere in the world but in hun enclaves.

My head doesn't zip up the back and I do get what you mean in terms of the manner in which it is used by celtic supporters.

But tricolours have long been a small but regular feature at ER without ira songs or other ludicrous posturing accompanying them. This has been the case for decades and I see no reason it will change.
I live in West Lothian. You don’t need to explain Hun enclaves to me. 🤣

Paragraph 2 is the exact point I’m making.

I remember the 70s when pro IRA songs were the norm before Tom Hart I believe it was told the fans to put a stop to it. I was quite young then so it may not have been as black and white as I remember. Whatever happened, it made attending the football a far more enjoyable and inclusive experience and Easter Road especially is place for everyone to enjoy - the away supporters excepted of course. The last thing we’d need to see is all that shite raising its ugly head again.