Why was there games lats weekend holding minutes silences for this? Bit early, no?
Sorry dude but i see no relevance to football and the wearing of poppies.
http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/08/hibernian-football-club-in-the-great-war/
There you go.
I'm afraid I'm of the opinion of Chester on this one. No one gave a hoot about this until about 5 years ago when someone "decided" they should be on fitba shirts.
Poppies are a personal decision to wear IMO. I'm sure a fair few folk would be unhappy if their employer wanted everyone to wear one and you would be frowned upon if you said no.
I agree it's a personal decision.For me it's about the remembrance of individual sacrifice .For Fifa to say no is taking away the right of individual expression of those who want to be involved on both sides of the border.However I think players , supporters & officials on both sides will not totally adhere to FIFA's ruling.In your personal day to day life it should be up to the individual whether tae wear one or no', as an ex serviceman I wear mine with pride, but as representatives of our country the players, IMO, if required, should wear one. Lest we forget
Some people wear poppies, some people don't wear them for whatever reasons. I can visualise a situation where the FA and SFA decided to tell FIFA to do one and put poppies on the shirts and a player said that he didn't want to wear one. He would then be villified for something that is a matter of personal choice as has happened already. Players shouldn't be put under pressure to wear a poppy and they can do that in their own time if they wish.
ThisIn your personal day to day life it should be up to the individual whether tae wear one or no', as an ex serviceman I wear mine with pride, but as representatives of our country the players, IMO, if required, should wear one. Lest we forget
People gave their lives for the freedoms that allow us to choose to wear poppies, which I happily do. If we ignore those freedoms and attempt to enforce poppies then it really does stand for something much less meaningful. I'm sure FIFA won't stop us having a minutes silence, in which case, what are we really arguing about?
you're quite right Dub, it was a disaster and i dont find it dreadful that your personal choice is no' tae wear one, personally i wear one to remember those who died, not commemorate those who sent them to their deaths. I do however feel quite strongly that those who are fortunate enough to represent our country,in whatever capacity, shouldnae disrespect the feelings of the majority of our citizens and should wear one, if asked to do so, on the 11th of novemberThis is the reason I normally avoid a poppy debate. Yes, people died, brave men and women one and all I'm sure but thousands of them were sent to their deaths needlessly because Haig thought it was a great idea just to keep rushing the enemy guns. Around 20 thousand killed by his tactics at the Somme alone and thousands more wounded and even when the casualties were mounting up he wouldn't agree he got it wrong. It is my belief that when he set the Poppy appeal up at the age of approx 60 he did so to try to salve his own conscience and ensure his 'place in heaven' when he died rather than for altruistic reasons and for that reason I don't wear one. I know I'm in a minority in that belief and many will find it a dreadful way to think, that's their choice.
PS. Blackadder goes forth final episode brilliantly satirised Haig when Blackadder went to see him and he [Haig] was standing at his battle board knocking over rows of toy soldiers.
FIFA's stance here is that it is perceived as a political statement and as such is banned under their rules. As the match is a tournament qualifier I assume (haven't looked yet) there are other countries playing similar qualifiers on the same day? Those other countries will have lost their countrymen in war too and will be subject to FIFA rules like everyone else. Has there been a big hoo-ha from other countries wishing to make a display in a similar fashion to those in the British Isles? If not, then the whole episode has been manufactured for political gain (poppy nazis anyone?) in my opinion and therefore backs up FIFA's stance in all this.
Thanks for link.I agree it's a personal decision.For me it's about the remembrance of individual sacrifice .For Fifa to say no is taking away the right of individual expression of those who want to be involved on both sides of the border.However I think players , supporters & officials on both sides will not totally adhere to FIFA's ruling.
GGTTH.
I don't think people will remember any less because a shirt isn't adorned with a poppy.
Some people wear poppies, some people don't wear them for whatever reasons. I can visualise a situation where the FA and SFA decided to tell FIFA to do one and put poppies on the shirts and a player said that he didn't want to wear one. He would then be villified for something that is a matter of personal choice as has happened already. Players shouldn't be put under pressure to wear a poppy and they can do that in their own time if they wish.
That's what a poppy means to me.
the feelings of the majority of our citizens
They can wear them on their suits before and after the game if they wish but shouldn't be forced to wear something that is now more a political symbol than a symbol for the fallen off WW1 & WW2.
dispute itThis.
Operative word there being "me".
Quite a claim.
dispute it
i didnae put would feel disrespected, i said disrespect the feelings, 2 completely different things. i personally widnae feel disrespected if poppies weren't worn on kits but i would think it disrespectful if the SFA decided poppies would be worn and individual players refused. Opinions ehNae problem:
I dispute that the majority of UK citizens would feel - as you put it - "disrespected" if our national teams' players didn't wear poppies on their strips/armbands. In fact, my counter contention is that the majority of UK citizens don't give two sh!ts whether they do or not. That you may feel disrespected is another thing altogether.
Furthermore, to me the whole poppy racket is of a piece with folk putting French flag overlays on their Facebook profile pictures; and I've no problem with such a public display of sentiment - who would? However, how come no one gets all bent out of shape if people don't "French flag" their profile pics? Simple - because of course everyone knows that not doing so does not preclude the ability to feel sympathy/pay private respects (and I emphasise private)/remember the war dead.
But poppies seem to be a special case, where folk who work in the public eye representing the country they happened to be born in, at the sport they happen to play, have to have this stuff foisted upon them, and effectively be painted into a "damned if you don't" corner as a result, by people who can't seem to separate public remembrance from private display.
Clear enough?
i didnae put would feel disrespected, i said disrespect the feelings, 2 completely different things. i personally widnae feel disrespected if poppies weren't worn on kits but i would think it disrespectful if the SFA decided poppies would be worn and individual players refused. Opinions eh
Eh? Genuinely mystified - what else is there to disrespect, essentially, other than feelings? What you said was: "shouldnae disrespect the feelings of the majority of our citizens and should wear one". Are you saying that if their feelings were disrespected, they wouldn't feel disrespected? I'm baffled, like.
Anyway, I've responded to you asking me to dispute your claim. How about you support what your claim essentially is: that the majority of the population would "feel that their feelings had been disrespected" if the national football teams didn't wear poppies?
shouldnae disrespect bthe feelings o' the majority o' the population of our country if asked to wear one. The majority of our population, IMO,support t6he idea of the poppy and while very few , if any, would feel personally disrespected if a player ,if asked to do so, refused to wear a poppy, many would see it as a show of disrespect. Anyway,i'm entitled to my opinion as you are to yours so i'll wear my poppy with pride and you obviously wont. Life goes onEh? Genuinely mystified - what else is there to disrespect, essentially, other than feelings? What you said was: "shouldnae disrespect the feelings of the majority of our citizens and should wear one". Are you saying that if their feelings were disrespected, they wouldn't feel disrespected? I'm baffled, like.
Anyway, I've responded to you asking me to dispute your claim. How about you support what your claim essentially is: that the majority of the population would "feel that their feelings had been disrespected" if the national football teams didn't wear poppies?
In 2015 approx 40 million poppies where sold in the uk. Now that doesn't suggest everyone would feel disrespected if our fitba team don't wear a poppy , but it might cause a ripple or two ?
shouldnae disrespect bthe feelings o' the majority o' the population of our country if asked to wear one. The majority of our population, IMO,support t6he idea of the poppy and while very few , if any, would feel personally disrespected if a player ,if asked to do so, refused to wear a poppy, many would see it as a show of disrespect. Anyway,i'm entitled to my opinion as you are to yours so i'll wear my poppy with pride and you obviously wont. Life goes on
I don't think people will remember any less because a shirt isn't adorned with a poppy.
Im with fifa on this one.
Is it this weekend club teams will have them in england and James McLean can go back to being public enemy no 1?
Just to be clear, I've nothing against poppies. I do, however, take issue with people being compelled to wear them - whether explicitly, or in this case implicitly by being put in a situation in the public eye which comes with an unavoidable and seemingly automatic presumption from some people that not wearing one implies disrespect - ie youse, and others who feel strongly about poppies. Feeling strongly about them is fine, but doesn't give that minority of those who'd feel genuinely aggrieved the right to dictate to people they've never even met.
After all, in the British legion's own words: "Wearing a poppy is a personal choice and reflects individual and personal memories."
I fail to see how that means sports teams should wear them, or otherwise run the risk of disrespecting other folk, memories, or whatever.
fortunately nae outrage on here only differences of opinion which is only tae be expected on a forum like this. Nothing wrong wi' any o' the above alternatives by the way, you could have the players just wearing a black armband as long as rememberance day is recognised. tae be fair i dont think anybody has said the poppy has tae be stitched on the top, and its no' just U.K. war dead that are remembered. i dont have anything against antbody that chooses no' tae wear a poppy, it is, and always should be a per.sonal choice. I just feel,and this is my own personal opinion, that in a country that by and large observes rememberance sunday people chosen tae represent that country on that day should , if asked to do so,reflect that. Nae offence, intended or otherwise, tae anybody that has a different opinionWasn't there "outrage" back in 2011 when the same happened? In the end alternatives were proposed and used.
Minutes silence, laying wreaths before the game, wearing poppies before and after the games and most notable players wearing a black armband with a poppy on it.
Surely all of those options are still available yet apparently to some you can only "respectfully" remember UK military dead if you have a wee flower stitched directly on your top.
I will add that I am not a poppy wearer however so maybe that's why I feel any of the above is enough.