Favourite Motorway Service Station?

Hibee Kev

An Alan Partridge thread if ever there was one! Mine's would have to be Purdy's Lodge on the A1, was always good for a decent breakfast driving down to the North-East with work.

2616a.jpg

Strathcaro on the A90 on the other hand, would be the worst in my opinion. Bloody awful.

stracathro.jpg

"Ye may gang faur and fare waur" - I'd question that to be honest! :giggle:

Washington Services on the A1(M). Not for the quality of the place but purely because it normally means I'm on the way home to the Burgh.

Strathcaro on the A90 on the other hand, would be the worst in my opinion. Bloody awful.

stracathro.jpg

i've always quite liked that one

isn't there one called "the horn" up near that way

i've always quite liked that one

isn't there one called "the horn" up near that way

Yeah that one's between Dundee and Edinburgh IIRC? Not been in it for ages but it has the look of a proper greasy spoon caf!

Scotch Corner on the A1, it's got everything and reaching it is usually my half-way point.

Most minging'? Bamburgh services or one of the other manky independent garages near it, mingin' toilets, coffee like raw sewage etc

Southwaite Services on the M6. Used to stop there every year when travelling to see family down in Manchester. Nothing special, just fond memories!

Tebay services. Has massive conservatory thing and is surrounded by open fields. Swallows nest in the space above the windows during summer and you get to see them really close up with beakfuls of grub for the wee yins
(Posted fae ma mobile fone)

From whats been said so far they are favourite landmarks rather than any thoughts that what they serve isn't overpriced, dried out cruel.
So far I'd agree. Always need a pee when I see the first one on the M6 going south, doesn't matter if I had one just before I left. I can then make it to south of London or Devon without stopping!

An Alan Partridge thread if ever there was one! Mine's would have to be Purdy's Lodge on the A1, was always good for a decent breakfast driving down to the North-East with work.

2616a.jpg

stracathro.jpg

Sorry to be a pedant but its Stracathro!!:wink:

I agree its a dump but its fine for a pony and trap and a mug of tea and a bacon roll for under 3 quid.:smug:

Tebay services. Has massive conservatory thing and is surrounded by open fields. Swallows nest in the space above the windows during summer and you get to see them really close up with beakfuls of grub for the wee yins

That would be my choice too, in the UK.

The Horn is on the Perth to Dundee road. It is a greasy spoon type place, but in the old-fashioned way, and I used to be quite fond of it. Not been for a long time, though, because we used to stop there on the way to Dens or Tannadice and every time we did, Hibs got beat. Every time we didn't, Hibs didn't get beat.
No brainer, no?:dunno:

Sorry to be a pedant but its Stracathro!!:wink:

I agree its a dump but its fine for a pony and trap and a mug of tea and a bacon roll for under 3 quid.:smug:

Can you get the roll and the tea on its own or is it tied up in a meal deal with the crap?

You're a sad bunch of ****s

:laff::laff::laff::laff::laff::laff::laff:

You're a sad bunch of ****s

:laff::laff::laff::laff::laff::laff::laff:

Somebody's never been fortunate enough to see the bright lights of tebay

Not motorway ones (although I do like some of the original ones on the M1) but I like these:-

3896974477_1911f2937b.jpg

SC426813

This one in London has closed now.

1577880_c967bafdb5.jpg

Not motorway ones (although I do like some of the original ones on the M1) but I like these:-

3896974477_1911f2937b.jpg

SC426813

This one in London has closed now.

1577880_c967bafdb5.jpg

Is the middle one not Majestic Wine on Causewayside now?

Can you get the roll and the tea on its own or is it tied up in a meal deal with the crap?

Yes, and waitress service too.

not a fav but i usually pick up my early morning paper around 0130 from stirling services most mornings the boy behind the desk cannae wait to say hello:hiya: also on my way back from dundee on sat mornings i always stop at the dundee services a90 for my fresh jumbo sausage rolls which are always piping hot and a couple of red bulls to see me through.
berwick upon tweed is a good pitstop aswell, morrisons for petrol and cross the road for a quick micky d's:thumbgrin