Facebook

Bangkokhibby

Just chillin'
I shouldn't use it and have actually binned it a couple of times but family back home want to see what I'm up to. Having a Thai wife obsessed like many Thais with taking photos ensures they're happy.
Here's my question.... How the fuck does it know what you're thinking/saying? I've got all its permissions switched off and still the bastard presents me with an advert minutes after I talk about it. I very seldom eat chocolate but just had a wee craving so told the wife I was nipping to the shop for something chocolaty. Come back with a Kit kat and the first thing on fb I see is an advert for Lindt chocolate. Never have I seen a chocolate advert on there before. Two days ago I went to pick up new glasses from the local optician and fuck me a host of adverts for glasses. Maybe Ryan can explain?

Edit: It's kitchens now, the wife was talking about new cupboards!!!

I shouldn't use it and have actually binned it a couple of times but family back home want to see what I'm up to. Having a Thai wife obsessed like many Thais with taking photos ensures they're happy.
Here's my question.... How the fuck does it know what you're thinking/saying? I've got all its permissions switched off and still the bastard presents me with an advert minutes after I talk about it. I very seldom eat chocolate but just had a wee craving so told the wife I was nipping to the shop for something chocolaty. Come back with a Kit kat and the first thing on fb I see is an advert for Lindt chocolate. Never have I seen a chocolate advert on there before. Two days ago I went to pick up new glasses from the local optician and fuck me a host of adverts for glasses. Maybe Ryan can explain?
Do you use Whatsapp? It's all under the same ownership (Meta). A while back Whatsapp basically updated their T's and C's to allow Facebook to provide personalised ads based on your Whatsapp conversations. I don't think there was or is any way to opt out of it.

Ah yes and only recently started using it but never had a voicecall on it. Maybe it's listening. I'll check its permissions.

Your device is listening to you. Always. My mother in law’s iPad even tells you it’s listening every now and then. You can be sitting at dinner and the next thing is the iPad actually speaks and says, “I’m listening”. Creepy as fuck.

More and more mobile devices are used by the state during legal proceedings because they are hoovering up what you think is private data and conversations unless they are completely powered off. This can all be viewed and heard from the vast databases created by Apple, Google, Microsoft etc.

Big brother is indeed watching.

Your device is listening to you. Always. My mother in law’s iPad even tells you it’s listening every now and then. You can be sitting at dinner and the next thing is the iPad actually speaks and says, “I’m listening”. Creepy as fuck.

More and more mobile devices are used by the state during legal proceedings because they are hoovering up what you think is private data and conversations unless they are completely powered off. This can all be viewed and heard from the vast databases created by Apple, Google, Microsoft etc.

Big brother is indeed watching.
I read somewhere that getting rid of apps and using websites instead via a safe browser like Brave ensures more privacy. I'll need to do more research. I suppose there's worse things in the world than being shown ads for chocolate but it's all a bit sinister.

I hate fb for same kind of reasons and have continually rejected installing the app cos of the extra ads and privacy concerns.

But they are fkn sneaky as hell. My browser-based usage has been cut short as they now won't let you post media on the smartphone browser version of fb.

And where are all your pics and vids? Yeah, on the fkn phone of course 🤬😈

Edit: It's kitchens now, the wife was talking about new cupboards!!!
Your phone is a listening device.

You should look up what Edward Snowden says about smart phones.

Why do you think you can't remove the battery anymore.
Cause when it's off....Is it really off?

Your phone is a listening device.

You should look up what Edward Snowden says about smart phones.

Why do you think you can't remove the battery anymore.
Cause when it's off....Is it really off?
I'll have a look.

How does the alarm still go off.....if it's switched off. It's still functioning.
Try phoning your phone when it’s switched off (not stby). It will go to answer machine, then leave a message . Switch your phone on and check missed calls and voicemail- nothing there . You can retrieve your voicemessage from your provider , not from your phone which was inaccessable when switched off 👍 unlikely someone could access your phone when switched off then , mibby dynamo or some other magician could though 🤪

How does the alarm still go off.....if it's switched off. It's still functioning.
Just YOUR phone. THEY are listening to YOU. YOUR camera is always live too ...

... but THEY need to have a specialist team for that taking anti puke pills.

Got Facebook, but hardly ever use it and certainly never share photos or even worse get into debates with people.
The only reason I have it is for good communication (I can message people) and news feeds about my local area.
No interest at all in any other social media.

I think I'll believe a tech genius over yourself thanks. 👍
You alarm goes off when your phone is switched off - ie powered down?

That’s impressive. Which model do you have ?

Edit - been googling this and phones used to do it through a hardware clock for the purpose with its own small battery. Don’t think current models do it anymore - mine doesn’t anyway.

There isn’t much that can be done with a powered down phone. Electrical devices require electricity to work.

Confusion may arise from things like a whole bunch of things still working in sleep mode (which is just a low power mode that stops doing non core things) and GPS tracking working in airplane mode. But these things don’t work when it’s powered down. In fact this has been a feature of a few criminal trials - people can’t be tracked but it’s declared suspicious that they switched their phone off during the window the crime took place.

As well as knowing what you like it seems to know what you hate! I'm being bombarded by hunnish groups and posts by the hour. Block one and another appears.

Could just as easy put this on the used cars thread.
Looked up cars for sale on Google the other day and have been unindated wi car ads ever since.

Could just as easy put this on the used cars thread.
Looked up cars for sale on Google the other day and have been unindated wi car ads ever since.
I have a free version of the ad blocker Blokada 5.

Works a treat on the auld dog and bone

As well as knowing what you like it seems to know what you hate! I'm being bombarded by hunnish groups and posts by the hour. Block one and another appears.
That's weird as fuck mate, I'm the same. Constantly get updates from various hun Facebook pages. For the life of me I can't figure that one out.

Your telly's listening to you and the street lamps,and they read the Bounce.Paranoid?Moi?Siri,Alexa, and Spotify,Twitter,and Instagram.

That's weird as fuck mate, I'm the same. Constantly get updates from various hun Facebook pages. For the life of me I can't figure that one out.
Blocked 6 or 7 then got two Celtic ones. Blocked them too, now moved on to Spurs! 🤷

Me and my wife were discussing getting a new wok the other day as one of my shit for brain laddies burnt the earse out the old one. So she's scrolling down on her iPhone "There’s a nice orange wok "
Now we're getting bombarded with Mason Boyne and his cronnies playing their flutes and banging their drums 🥁