F.A.O those going to Belfast

paisley_hibee

Paisley Radge
Just been having a look on the main chat and sunshine on leith has booked the holiday inn for 44.50 per room plus breakfast .... dont know what kinda rooms they r thou', could be worth a shot? or the Days Hotel? I dont know the where abouts to have a look but days hotel was 35

Whats the thoughts on where we can book up?

Cheers

Days Hotel is fairly handy to the venue (you'll need a taxi but it isn't far), Holiday Inn is reasonably close also.

We're starting to get quite a few emails asking about tickets so it's looking like a cracking night!!

Northern Ireland Hibby said:
Days Hotel is fairly handy to the venue (you'll need a taxi but it isn't far), Holiday Inn is reasonably close also.

We're starting to get quite a few emails asking about tickets so it's looking like a cracking night!!
it've still been a cracking night if it was just me, you and eddie. :thumbgrin

Re matches on the Saturday, this is on the BBC site.

March 12th
Ards v Ballymena, 15:00
Cliftonville v Dungannon Swifts, 15:00
Institute v Glentoran, 15:00
Larne v Coleraine, 15:00
Limavady v Portadown, 15:00
Linfield v Omagh, 15:00
Lisburn Distillery v Crusaders, 15:00
Loughgall v Newry, 15:00

Did I hear Glasgowian indicate he fancied going along to Glentoran? (or mibbie I woz just wasted at Xmas night)

If so,then they are away...anyone know where Institute is?
And would going with Hibs tops on be acceptable?

jockodile said:
Re matches on the Saturday, this is on the BBC site.

March 12th
Ards v Ballymena, 15:00
Cliftonville v Dungannon Swifts, 15:00
Institute v Glentoran, 15:00
Larne v Coleraine, 15:00
Limavady v Portadown, 15:00
Linfield v Omagh, 15:00
Lisburn Distillery v Crusaders, 15:00
Loughgall v Newry, 15:00

Did I hear Glasgowian indicate he fancied going along to Glentoran? (or mibbie I woz just wasted at Xmas night)

If so,then they are away...anyone know where Institute is?
And would going with Hibs tops on be acceptable?
if joe t has anything to do with it, it'll be the women's institute. :lol:
you saying ian is a closet glen? i knew he'd 'come out' if you applied enough jungle juice. :wink:
C'MON THE GLENS!!

jimmyhibs said:
if joe t has anything to do with it, it'll be the women's institute. :lol:
you saying ian is a closet glen? i knew he'd 'come out' if you applied enough jungle juice. :wink:
C'MON THE GLENS!!

WHIT :shock:

Dunno about anyone else but I'll be at Solitude supporting the Reds of Cliftonville (hangover permitting). Vini & flag are also rumoured to be making an appearance, unless he bumps into some Asda checkout girls the night before that is :razz: :tuttut:

Institute come from Derry City, so I think you can forget about that one as it's a good distance from Belfast.

Probably the only ground (in Belfast, anyway) where the Hibs top would be acceptable would be at Cliftonville. Well, it was when we played them there in '95 :bbb:

rin go brgh,
Keith

'Fizzure', who uses our forum, knows his spuds when it comes to Irish soccer - I'll ask him to look in on this thread and see if he can help.

Anyone going back on the boat could stop off at Larne.

Unless you have a death-wish, I would not recommend anybody to wear anything green to Windsor Park (Linfield).

Solitude (Clifonville) is a very, very Celtic-friendly place, so if that's not your thing, stay away. I certainly will :bye

I'll be at Solitude for the Cliftonville game that saturday, youse would be more than welcome. Glens would be out of the way, and trust me, youse wouldn't want to go to Institute. Its near 2 hours on the bus from Belfast, and the place is completely alcohol free, pokey wee ground full of bible-bashers.

Seems to be caught on a sht week for fixtures, the only half decent game is the Limavady v Portadown game, 4th vs 3rd, but Limavady is a brave journey away, and Portadown are the biggest bunch of bitter cnts you are likely to come across, every time we go there we get several bricks through the window on the bus.

Oh and if you're worried about wearing a Hibee top in a Smelticy-type area, you'll be grand, I do it all the time up in the bar at the ground, you'll be grand. Solitude is where most supporters of foreign teams come to for a game when their over here, we had 9 Borrussia Dortmund supporters over for the derby on Boxing Day, I've seen St Pauli, Ath Bilbao, Everton supporters at the ground in the last few seasons to name but a few, and Shamrock Rovers bring a crowd up at least 3 or 4 times a season.

fizzure said:
Oh and if you're worried about wearing a Hibee top in a Smelticy-type area, you'll be grand, I do it all the time up in the bar at the ground, you'll be grand. Solitude is where most supporters of foreign teams come to for a game when their over here, we had 9 Borrussia Dortmund supporters over for the derby on Boxing Day, I've seen St Pauli, Ath Bilbao, Everton supporters at the ground in the last few seasons to name but a few, and Shamrock Rovers bring a crowd up at least 3 or 4 times a season.
looks like soltitude by default. :lol:

glasgowian said:
No default about it James it was always Solitude for me - 'MON THE REDS :applause:
always the glens for me. but i''l support the 'ville for a day. :wink:

fizzure said:
and Shamrock Rovers bring a crowd up at least 3 or 4 times a season.

Another good reason for me to stay in a bar well away from Solitude :bbb:

The only thing worst than Celtic hooped tops is the sight of Shamrock Rvs fans in hooped jerseys :evil:

Northern Ireland Hibby said:

yep! days hotel for me. any one else booked into the days inn?

I'm going to looking into booking accom soon Jimmy,
if Days hotel is convenient then I'll give them a call

John

Guys, I know most of you that are going to the Belfast bash probably already have their accomadation sorted but if you haven’t and you want to treat yourself or ‘er indoors , you might be interested in the deal on offer from the Hilton Hotel.

This 5 star hotel, complete with fitness room, pool etc are offering 2 nights bed and breakfast with one evening meal for 2 people for stg139 all in. 6 of us already booked in. :mrgreen:

A wee bit of tourist info for you all...

If you arrive early enough on Friday or aren't going to the match on Saturday you'd be able to take a tour in.

If you contact the Belfast tourist office* in front of City Hall they can let you know about bus tours or black taxi 'Troubles tours' of the city.

Either would be good but I reckon the black taxi trip would be particularly worth doing as you'll get to see parts of Belfast that even I wouldn't take a car into to show you.

It's a fine looking city these days - you'll see Queen's University, City Hall and the like for yourselves and one of these tours would show you the rest of the city.

From discovernorthernireland.com:

Belfast (& Northern Ireland) Welcome centre...
Contact Details:
Address: Belfast & Northern Ireland Welcome Centre 47 Donegall Place, Belfast
Email: info@belfastvisitor.com
Telephone: 028 9024 6609
Facsimile: 028 9031 2424

Tours...

All Ireland Tours
Tel: (028) 9030 1832, Mobile: 07712 673 178
www.allirelandtours.com

Original Black Taxi Tours
Mobile 07800 918 468
Freephone: 0800 032 2003

Black Taxi Tours
Tel: (028) 9064 2264
Freephone: 0800 052 3914
www.belfasttours.com

(* - The Northern Ireland Tourist Board was once described by PJ O'Rourke as a tourist body dedicated to making sure visitors don't end up as, errrr, tourist bodies!!!)

Wee update....

We're delighted and honoured to annouce that former players Alan Gordon and Tommy Preston will be joining Eddie Turnbull at the Turnbull sesh.

Things are going well with the Hibs raffle and auction in aid of the Hibernian Former Player's Association, with prizes now including:

Whyte and Mackay standard blended whisky
Whyte and Mackay 12 Year Old Masters
Reserve whisky
Whyte and Mackay 18 Year Old Deluxe whisky
Whyte and Mackay 21 Year Old whisky
Signed shirt
Two sets of five Hibs DVDs
Actual Dean Shiels player shirt, unused
as 'Shiels' spelt wrongly by printers!!
Framed 50s Hibs players trading cards and European programmes
Ten 'Hibernian Historical Trust' calenders
Erin Trust polo shirts