Euro and San Miguel

Davy

As I am in Engerland babysitting grandkids, I decided I might as well watch song for Europe. Well can it get worse than changing jobby nappies and running back and forward putting out fires so to speak? Not to mention making dinner for the kids only for the dog to steal it all!

Anyway deciding a few San Miguel's might help the evening I struggled to even separate the darned things. Whoever thought glueing cans together was a good idea?? Nearly lost a finger trying to insert a sharp knife between them.

Anyway back trying to remember my point. Oh yeh, Revels! Always loved guessing what would come next, but I am feeling distinctly cheated. The hard centres of which are my least favs seem to take up a large part of the packets these days. Mars need to get a grip and get more soft centres in or next time I'm buying the bars of Frys 5 centres. If I can find them.

Back to Euro. What a load of toalys. Save for a couple of bands that I can't remember who they were, partly to do with the San Miguel and partly to do with being harassed by energetic kids, one who is a typical getting Into everything 3 year old. A 5 year old with Autism who just writes the rules for himself and an 11 year old? (Are you allowed to forget your grandkida ages?) who tries to help but causes me way more work in doing so, I can't remember who was who. Currently France is on and at least he is cohesive. I can't remember who else I liked. I think Israel was OK, and admittedly paid more attention because of the furore which is probably spearheaded by Moaty.

Anyway I'm not sure I had any real points other than the chocolate and maybe just reaching out to communicate with some adults. Yes I know that's a long shot on the bounce. I hear the 5 year old back up. Is it only kids who are allowed to hide?

PS I thought as an outsider, Cyprus. But I hadn't heard the song and missed it...Guess the girl must have been nice looking...fickle me

Poundland Cradle of Filth for Ireland were probably the stand out performance.

The Finnish lad doing the Austin Powers skit with bits of the stage hiding his boab was mildly amusing.

Austria's mid tier 90s techno-pop "We Will Rave" was probably the best tune.

Those creepy CGI Abba monstrosities managed to have more personality than all the acts combined mind you.

Poundland Cradle of Filth for Ireland were probably the stand out performance.

The Finnish lad doing the Austin Powers skit with bits of the stage hiding his boab was mildly amusing.

Austria's mid tier 90s techno-pop "We Will Rave" was probably the best tune.

Those creepy CGI Abba monstrosities managed to have more personality than all the acts combined mind you.
Guy in a beard and dress was too much for me. Sure I saw Moaty with a feather type jacket on..but too young. 5 year old back up and won't shut up...like listening to a nagging wife..except he makes more sense. Ireland is the typical pseudo devil worshipper straight out of drama school. Much like Lady Gaga but with much less talent

Is that barely dressed woman a spider in a cocoon?

Switzerland doing well. I was sure their lead singer was a young Moaty

Didn’t hear Switzerland , but the guy looks annoying.
France running away in 2 spot.
I DID hear that one,
Fuckin dire.

Croatia was catchy if not visually attractive.

Last time I watched Abba won.

Didn’t hear Switzerland , but the guy looks annoying.
France running away in 2 spot.
I DID hear that one,
Fuckin dire.

Croatia was catchy if not visually attractive.

Last time I watched Abba won.
The 5 year old out screamed them all and I suspect he will be screaming longer than the Swiss are pop stars

Re: those glued together cans @Davy - take a can in each hand and twist/rotate one clockwise and the other one anti-clockwise and they should separate fairly easily! 👍🏻

I never thought there would be a better information source than google, well done Kev 👏👍

It's a fkn fashion show now. The crazier the better. Music = dog turd heavy metal apologists.

Meltdown domestically here in NL after 'our guy' was dq'd having threatened an Israeli camerawoman filming against his wishes... apparently.

And a chortle at the UK's cottaging homage.

Toe curlingly bad tv - what's not to like? 😄

Not been the same for me since the two girls in Bucks Fizz got their skirts ripped off.
Would have watched it all the time since then if they had nae drawers on. It would have worked wi Sandie Shaw if I had a foot fetish.:gigglle:

That the commentators, judges and acts are out of touch with public opinion.
Its not a song contest anymore, its a political freak show
one might interpret the public vote as a show of support for Israel by a very vocal minority. Doesn’t take much to come out top in a vote of 20 choices.

Another vocal minority protesting against Israel outside.

Don’t know about other countries but looking at opinion polls, most in the UK aren’t supportive of Israel’s actions.

It is indeed. Judging by media coverage, it’s not just political but very very narrowly so; a desperate exhibition of everything that might earn a pat on the head at an establishment dinner party.

I also wonder if it has any core audience in Britain now bar young women and gay men, at whom it seems ever more laser targeted. Surprised to see folk here watching it but am assuming it’s in a kind of ironic, car crash way.

I did find it mildly amusing that if I have interpreted newspapers correctly, Britain remains even more unpopular with the continent’s luvvies than Israel.

They were getting booed relentlessly by the crowd. Did fairly poorly points wise from the judges but got a massive amount of points from the public vote. Read into that what you will.
that enormous gulf between the establishment and joe and guiseppe public rearing its head again? I mean I assume we have all immediately dismissed this as being about opinions on the Israeli entry as, like, a song in a ‘song contest’ !

one might interpret the public vote as a show of support for Israel by a very vocal minority. Doesn’t take much to come out top in a vote of 20 choices.

Another vocal minority protesting against Israel outside.

Don’t know about other countries but it looking at opinion polls, most in the UK aren’t supportive of Israel’s actions.
I'm not supportive of Israeli actions, I've been a long time supporter of a 2 state system but forgetting the rights and wrongs( mostly wrongs IMO) of the Israeli land grabbing the current shit show in gaza was started by a hamas massacre at a music festival , (and the reprisal was exactly what hamas hoped for.).
Rather ironic that those non binary weirdos are protesting against israel taking part in a music ???? festival.
I would imagine if they went to any Muslim state to protest they would find themselves splattered under the nearest High building, not that there's many left in gaza

Rather ironic that those non binary weirdos are protesting against israel taking part in a music ???? festival.
I would imagine if they went to any Muslim state to protest they would find themselves splattered under the nearest High building, not that there's many left in gaza
don’t look for logic. It’s an outcome of the cultish doctrine that has blossomed out from American universities and captured the arts world lock stock and barrel, as well as other bastions of unworldliness and privilege.

They’ve made their choice, let’s see how they enjoy the consequences in time.

that enormous gulf between the establishment and joe and guiseppe public rearing its head again? I mean I assume we have all immediately dismissed this as being about opinions on the Israeli entry as, like, a song in a ‘song contest’ !

Hard to tell if it's a true reflection of public opinion. I think the political bias of the crowd and judges probably just had a mirror held up to it by an easily manipulated public vote. Every boo on the live broadcast likely encouraged any pro-Israel viewer to add 15p to their mobile bill in anger. How indicative anything about the Eurovision Song Contest is with regards to society at large is pretty debatable I think.

Interestingly enough, the UK public vote was shown on screen near the end and our public vote showed Israel getting the most points from British viewers. Similar to @Purple & Green , I don't sense overwhelming pro-Israeli sentiment about the UK just now.

It definitely wasn't about the rather pedestrian song though.

Turned it on with the wife to see what it was like nowadays; didnae last long. Back in the day it was almost exclusively campy euro pop with the odd Johnny Logan thrown in - but now it was rakes of oddballs screaming and shit. Terrible.

Oh, and the UK entry was shite an aw. That boy CANNOT sing live.

Stop backtracking you. I was hurt and my feelings were upset. Especially as I'm working with the skinny wee *&*^ Taliban Tel who would go up the way if he fell oot the windae.

I'm struggling to drink my can of beer because you've upset me so much ,😏

Hard to tell if it's a true reflection of public opinion. I think the political bias of the crowd and judges probably just had a mirror held up to it by an easily manipulated public vote. Every boo on the live broadcast likely encouraged any pro-Israel viewer to add 15p to their mobile bill in anger. How indicative anything about the Eurovision Song Contest is with regards to society at large is pretty debatable I think.

Interestingly enough, the UK public vote was shown on screen near the end and our public vote showed Israel getting the most points from British viewers. Similar to @Purple & Green , I don't sense overwhelming pro-Israeli sentiment about the UK just now.

It definitely wasn't about the rather pedestrian song though.
An ‘easily manipulated public vote’ ? Why is everything to do with Israel ‘manipulated’? Harks back to some very unfortunate tropes this sort of thing, which is sadly once more commonplace.

My own suspicion is that most British people would like to see an end to the conflict, and in the first instance to Israeli bombing etc. I suspect there is also widespread dismay at rising anti semitism. If there was a swell of sympathy votes across the continent I suspect it was due to the latter. No other countries singers, sports people etc, get targeted in the same manner whatever their countries are involved in, and I think many people will be appalled by it and by the dark currents circulating within our societies

They should just make it an LGBT experience, it almost is anyway 🤔
first BINARY winner . Doesn’t know what he/she/they are 🤷‍♂️

An ‘easily manipulated public vote’ ? Why is everything to do with Israel ‘manipulated’? Harks back to some very unfortunate tropes this sort of thing, which is sadly once more commonplace.

My own suspicion is that most British people would like to see an end to the conflict, and in the first instance to Israeli bombing etc. I suspect there is also widespread dismay at rising anti semitism. If there was a swell of sympathy votes across the continent I suspect it was due to the latter. No other countries singers, sports people etc, get targeted in the same manner whatever their countries are involved in, and I think many people will be appalled by it and by the dark currents circulating within our societies

Easily manipulated because a, it's not something that's voted for in particularly high numbers b, there was a significant boycott of viewership reducing audience participation further and c, as I mentioned, there was suitable motivation to prompt voting a certain way provided during the event.

Perhaps "predictably reactionary public vote" might have been a better word choice than "manipulated" to avoid setting you off. Doubt it though...

Not when four were stuck together. Plus there seemed to be glue near top and bottom which made it harder...someone winding me up I think

Has been for a long time. Was even worse a few years ago when everyone gave points to their neighbours.

Easily manipulated because a, it's not something that's voted for in particularly high numbers b, there was a significant boycott of viewership reducing audience participation further and c, as I mentioned, there was suitable motivation to prompt voting a certain way provided during the event.

Perhaps "predictably reactionary public vote" might have been a better word choice than "manipulated" to avoid setting you off. Doubt it though...
So the people in, what, fourteen countries, that voted are “predictably reactionary” for not joining in the two minute hate? Ok