ESPN/BT Sport

Hammi

Cable Selling Radge
Anybody know what's happening with these channels next season?
I know that BT Sport has bought some of the rights for some stuff from ESPN, I cancelled ESPN because of it but now it's advertising that it's not going off air anymore...

I like watching the motoGP when its on. I notice these fuckers have bought the rights to it so it wont be on the BBC anymore :(. Hope it goes the same way as setenta.

Who`s bought the rights? ESPN or BT? :dunno:

I need my Rossi fix. :sadwalk:

Who`s bought the rights? ESPN or BT? :dunno:

I need my Rossi fix. :sadwalk:

BT, although after some googling it seems BT is keeping ESPN and using it as a 3rd channel.

15 per month and you get all 3.
If you have BT broadband you're supposed to get it for free.
Dunno where the SPL games will be shown or if SKY has took them all for themselves.

IV got BT VISION, broadband, phone and whatever, you Ken the score. As far as im aware, if you are a BT customer by or before next season, you will get ESPN and BT SPORTS as part o yer deal /package. They have secured the rights tae loads o EPL matches AND show live BUNDISLIGA matches,which,IMO , are worth watching!!!!

BT, although after some googling it seems BT is keeping ESPN and using it as a 3rd channel.

Dunno where the SPL games will be shown or if SKY has took them all for themselves.

So........I`m Sky everything. Should I toss ESPN now, and look into BT VBision as a PPV? Or subscribe? :dunno:

I'm SKY everything too, tossed ESPN last month when I read it was selling all it's programs leading to it going off air.

I'd toss it and look into BT sports, but I don't know much of what's confirmed on it, I'm guessing they have BPL, Bundesliga, Moto GP, UFC, maybe SPL... Not sure.

I'm SKY everything too, tossed ESPN last month when I read it was selling all it's programs leading to it going off air.

I'd toss it and look into BT sports, but I don't know much of what's confirmed on it, I'm guessing they have BPL, Bundesliga, Moto GP, UFC, maybe SPL... Not sure.

Ta. ESPN gettin` hoofed tonight. :thumbgrin

your subs to ESPN will end when the channel officilaly becomes part of btsport

to continue watching espn you need to contact btsport

btsport
http://www.bt.com/sport/

from sky
Our agreed carriage date of the channel with ESPN has come to an end. Subsequent to BTs acquisition of ESPN on 25th February of this year, a new agreement couldnt be reached. Because of this, on 31st July 2013, the ESPN subscription will be removed as an a la carte on Sky TV. ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN America, ESPN America HD and ESPN Classic channels will also cease to exist on the Sky TV subscription platform from this date and wont be able to view ESPN content or channels through their Sky TV subscription anymore.

You won't be billed for their ESPN subscription after this date either. Your bill immediately before the 31 July will pro-rata how many days left of the subscription they have before the channel closure, and charge the a representative amount. If you wish to cancel your ESPN subscription now, then you can do this by providing a 31 day cancellation at your MySky.

I hope this information has helped answer your question. If so, then please click Answered as this may help other customers with a similar question. If not, then please post your query on the relevant board in our Help Forum.

Thanks,

your subs to ESPN will end when the channel officilaly becomes part of btsport

to continue watching espn you need to contact btsport

btsport
http://www.bt.com/sport/

from sky
Our agreed carriage date of the channel with ESPN has come to an end. Subsequent to BTs acquisition of ESPN on 25th February of this year, a new agreement couldnt be reached. Because of this, on 31st July 2013, the ESPN subscription will be removed as an a la carte on Sky TV. ESPN, ESPN HD, ESPN America, ESPN America HD and ESPN Classic channels will also cease to exist on the Sky TV subscription platform from this date and wont be able to view ESPN content or channels through their Sky TV subscription anymore.

You won't be billed for their ESPN subscription after this date either. Your bill immediately before the 31 July will pro-rata how many days left of the subscription they have before the channel closure, and charge the a representative amount. If you wish to cancel your ESPN subscription now, then you can do this by providing a 31 day cancellation at your MySky.

I hope this information has helped answer your question. If so, then please click Answered as this may help other customers with a similar question. If not, then please post your query on the relevant board in our Help Forum.

Thanks,

Cheers for that, I binned it once I knew what Hibs' last game on it would be so that I wasn't paying during the off-season, would've been wasting money not watching it. Only other thing I watch on ESPN is the UFC and I get that on the computer the next day anyway.

I heard channel 4 will be showing a live German match every week. Can anyone confirm this?

I would doubt that as BT Sport have the rights now and will presumably show some Friday and Sunday games as ESPN did.

Yippee, I have BT broadband so I should get free access to their channels. I hope you are right Hammi. I will need to check into this.

Thanks for the link mate. I've had a quick read and it looks like an offer to new customers. I could be wrong of course. It better not exclude existing customers or I will cease to be one.

That would be bad patter, I never read it that was as I'm not a customer... But I can see why it seems that way.

Anyone know where this all leaves virgin? Gutted. Moved house two months ago, got rid of Sky and went Virgin. Looks like I've proper Donald Ducked it.

looks like you have mate.:doh

leaving virgin, :pf:...sky being installed on saturday all singing all dancing and much cheaper than virgin. :yas:

It'll be on Virgin,they just haven't said what price it'll be yet...

espn was free on virgin, hoping it will be the same with BT
Your right but ESPN was just a channel,BT are trying to compete for Broadband customers so no sure if they'd be keen on letting Virgin give it away for free.
Hope your right though or i'll be ditching the XL package (Virgin will know others will do the same so you never know)

Yeah good points re virgin XL package, I will be on phone to them cancelling xl for lower package if they don't give it for free.

Hope its on sky go as i use the basic virgin package for 20 odd quid a month and my parents sky go on the xbox for all the good channels.

It'll only be on it if they pay for it mate, you'll need convince them that BT Sport is worth it.

Your right but ESPN was just a channel,BT are trying to compete for Broadband customers so no sure if they'd be keen on letting Virgin give it away for free.
Hope your right though or i'll be ditching the XL package (Virgin will know others will do the same so you never know)

Yup, I'm in the same boat. If it's not being offered free with the XL bundle it'll be getting binned. They gave us Setanta for nowt and then ESPN so guess it's a possibility :dub:

I can't get a Sky dish where I stay so stuck with Virgin sadly. Suppose BT is an option too. How does BT compare with Sky/Virgin price-wise? Is Sky Sports available through BT?

EDIT: Just checked the BT site: seems you can get a package with broadband, phone line (you have to take one), and the BT Sports channel with Sky Sports 1&2 for 57.50 a month with 86 one-off fee. A fair chunk cheaper than what i'm currently paying Virgin per month :g:

Just spoke virgin sales staff. XL customers likely to keep espn until October only ish. As for BT sports they are still in discussion. We should know mid July.

He informed me that sky will be charging 12 per month extra for bt sports. I would imagine virgin customers will he charged a similar amount.

You no get BBC two? And if not on beeb 2, it's on the red button.

They won't be showing it on BBC2 as BTSports have the rights for next season. Possibly highlights but defo not live.

I'm the same with the moto gp, currently with sky and pay extra for ESPN, but If I'm not paying for ESPN after July the saving will go to BT as a subscription, might be a fiver so so dearer per month, but for me worth it

They won't be showing it on BBC2 as BTSports have the rights for next season. Possibly highlights but defo not live.

o so next season!! this season has practically started and it is on beeb 2.

i would expect next season it will be the same as this, and previous years. it will be on bbc 2, or via red button.

Just spoke virgin sales staff. XL customers likely to keep espn until October only ish. As for BT sports they are still in discussion. We should know mid July.

He informed me that sky will be charging 12 per month extra for bt sports. I would imagine virgin customers will he charged a similar amount.

Are they not keeping ESPN going though (as a channel). Virgin XL customers would still get it and not the BT sports channels :dunno:. Can't see them getting away with XL package as if they don't do something they'll lose thousands of subscribers.

yeah i would imagine ESPN is still gonna be available as a channel, but bloke said only until oct. ish. BT have bought out ESPN's tv deal next season so they will all most likely charge virgin/us for it. its upto virgin if they are gonna swallow cost for their XL's...i doubt it tho.