Embra festival

HaarlemShuffler

Coffeeshop Radge
Was chatting with my sis in Embra the other day and she was on about the Book Festival online, telling me where to find it and what kind of thing was on. Had a wee look yesterday and found one thing that interested me, the rest was all a bit - well - literary (oddly enough) for my taste.

But what about the rest? Has the whole festival been cancelled? Is there still a few shows on somewhere?

The citizens of Embra have long wanted the town back to themselves during the festival. Are they now appreciating the fact that they have the streets to themselves again... or do they?

Genuinely interested in what the general view is on this in Embra in this odd year of Covid.

The citizens of Embra did not get our city back, there are 1,000s of tourists in town apparently. I passed through the Grassmarket a few times a week or so ago and I doubt there was a socially distanced seat to be had outside. Most of the accents were English.

There's also been a few tourists in my local, the Windsor. The local Airbnbs seem to be quite busy too.

Nothing like what we'd expect in a normal year but of course there's no shows for them to dissappear into so they're clogging up the streets AND the bloody restaurants so I'm struggling to make full use of the Eat Out to Help Out deal :grrr:

The citizens of Embra did not get our city back, there are 1,000s of tourists in town apparently. I passed through the Grassmarket a few times a week or so ago and I doubt there was a socially distanced seat to be had outside. Most of the accents were English.

There's also been a few tourists in my local, the Windsor. The local Airbnbs seem to be quite busy too.

Nothing like what we'd expect in a normal year but of course there's no shows for them to dissappear into so they're clogging up the streets AND the bloody restaurants so I'm struggling to make full use of the Eat Out to Help Out deal :grrr:
So no live shows at all then I guess?

Was reminded of this by a wee story onthe beeb Scotland website about a couple of (local, Lothian) street enteryainers who were enjoying having to work for their audience more than before.

And you say the Airbnb is going well so what % of the usual tourist numbers you reckon are there this year?

(PS Noticed downtown Haarlem - also a touristy place - is fckin hoochin in much the way you describe: full occupation of tables outside pubs n restaurants, enough to ban bicycle use in some central streets - then you know it's busy - n thats without a festival)

So who TF is stayin at home then (apart fae me obvs) in these 'surge' days?

So no live shows at all then I guess?

Was reminded of this by a wee story onthe beeb Scotland website about a couple of (local, Lothian) street enteryainers who were enjoying having to work for their audience more than before.

And you say the Airbnb is going well so what % of the usual tourist numbers you reckon are there this year?

(PS Noticed downtown Haarlem - also a touristy place - is fckin hoochin in much the way you describe: full occupation of tables outside pubs n restaurants, enough to ban bicycle use in some central streets - then you know it's busy - n thats without a festival)

So who TF is stayin at home then (apart fae me obvs) in these 'surge' days?
No live shows. I'm not sure they're even allowed yet.

As for numbers they say Edinburgh normally more than doubles in population during the Festivals to around a million but although I've heard numbers are running at a third of normal (fag packet calc around 200k) it doesn't feel there's that many.