Edinburghs farcical council scams

Hattie

LEZ
AN ABSOLUTE SCAM.
It covers basically the city centre right along to clerk st for roads worst hit by emissions… allegedly.
Yet Scotlands worst road for emissions AND other forms “per gram” of air quality is St johns road… yet it is nowhere near any LEZ zone.
This council has been on a crusade ever since the people who live in the city, its residents, voted NOT to introduce congestion charges.
So their plan?
Shut roads, narrow roads, no right turns all over, in essence, remember it was to stop emissions, ie people driving, yeah their plan? So they actually made people drive further to get to their destination, ie creating more emissions!!!
So now they set up LEZ and funnily enough, it makes people drive even further again to get to where they want to go, more emissions again.
But, they charge people to go the shorter distance through town, not exactly cutting emissions is it?
Where does the money go?
Oh yeah, for future LEZ planning 🙈
Spend thousands on new vehicles or lump 1ton of deliveries to deliver to businesses on your back and cycle.
If it was serious….. then why is the worst road in Scotland at the time of “implementing” it, not included? oh with a 2 year grace period they say, even though there was not a single sign anywhere to “deter” people from entering said exclusion zones which actually didn’t exist at that time?
Over and over the ridiculously anti residential pro tourist village hall councillors have done over the cities residents and now it’s just the start of it costing businesses and innocent drivers an arm and a leg so as the village idiots can create a city centre to benefit no one but tourists and fuck over the very people who pay their taxes to keep the clowns in their job.
If all that is nonsense then simply, why have they not made the worst road for emissions in scotland an LEZ exclusion zone?
AND all the way to clerk st? Entering the city from the south, south east is already criminally ignored for road infrastructure and has been for decades? So they make us pay for what is already a massive problem, due to the council, just to keep the status quo of ignorant and clueless planning.
Remember these LEZ exclusions were, as this link states, in place since 2022🙈🙈🙈

Wow
And the more money they screw out of drivers the more mental schemes they will spend it on.
Simply put… extend it!!
Fix the fuckin roads instead, disgrace the state of our roads, EVERYWHERE. Huge potholes enough to destroy suspension, wheels etc, but the money is getting spent on mad cycle laces so over west end And Hay market area.. Scott Arthur is a fuvkin idiot

Those cycle lanes are a wast of money.

I’ve been a cyclist since I was knee high to a grasshopper and there were no cycle lanes.

You just used common sense to get from A to B.
Stay as close to the pavement as you possibly can and make sure you know the rules of the road.

It seems that quite a few cyclists really don’t have the slightest clue what they are doing and unfortunately a few have paid the ultimate price.

If you’re going to push a cycling initiative then surely education should be a top priority.
You don’t get to drive without learning the rules of the road so why can you just jump on a bike and off you pop onto roads that have the potential to send you to your maker before your time.
It’s just unbelievable.

Those cycle lanes are a wast of money.

I’ve been a cyclist since I was knee high to a grasshopper and there were no cycle lanes.

You just used common sense to get from A to B.
Stay as close to the pavement as you possibly can and make sure you know the rules of the road.

It seems that quite a few cyclists really don’t have the slightest clue what they are doing and unfortunately a few have paid the ultimate price.

If you’re going to push a cycling initiative then surely education should be a top priority.
You don’t get to drive without learning the rules of the road so why can you just jump on a bike and off you pop onto roads that have the potential to send you to your maker before your time.
It’s just unbelievable.
Have you seen the work they are putting into it from Haymarket, Manor place, Melville st etc…. Millions of £’s in just that area to add a cycle lane!!!! Roads been shut for major works to reorganise the big statue that acts as a roundabout… absolutely mental

Aberdeen city raked in over £100,000 in fines in the first 11 days of their LEZ. Meanwhile shoppers etc are deserting the city centre in droves. Aye make the air cleaner in the deserted streets and clog up the rest of the city with traffic.

That’s pretty wild,88% of cars,vans and buses meet the LEZ standard. Why are they avoiding?

I read that the biggest problem now is the way they've made the city centre more difficult to access with 'strategically' placed bus gates.
In Edinburgh they’re aiming to make it so you can’t drive through the city centre to get to other side of town…. Madness.. so they’re deliberately making people drive further in town to get to where they want to go, so not only adding to the emissions they are creating Jams elsewhere…. So we can all guess what happens with the fines they bring in!!!
“Oh these streets are now suffering air pollution so we’ll extend LEZ into there”
Creating problems to hit the motorists with the excuse of traffic jams….. that they cause..
Edinburgh has been aiming for this for years.. they want an empty city centre of cars, to the huge detriment of shops, pubs, restaurants etc needing deliveries, add in the fact Edinburgh is a very hilly city, they are literally “aff their heeds”

The first 30 days of LEZ in Edinburgh resulted in fines of £378,000 😳😳

Have you seen the work they are putting into it from Haymarket, Manor place, Melville st etc…. Millions of £’s in just that area to add a cycle lane!!!! Roads been shut for major works to reorganise the big statue that acts as a roundabout… absolutely mental
A waste of money that would be better spent educating cyclists and enforcing Highway Code on those just eat and Deliveroo guys who flout it and then act like cry babies when cars cut them up!

Kids do get educated on cycling ( Our SLO does it for a living),It’s Adults on bikes and in Cars that are the issue.
Thankfully most cyclists and drivers are sound and just go about their day using common sense to get from A to B.
That’s great to hear but with a high percentage of cyclists who work for delivery companies coming from overseas, I’d question if any of them would even know what the Highway Code actually is.

I witnessed one of those said delivery drivers on his electric bike the other day, not even looking ahead. He was too busy looking down at his phone at whatever ? Maps? He went through several red lights, skirted in and out of lanes like he was the only one on the road.
I can’t believe our council are spending all this money on cycling infrastructure for these morons!

I witnessed one of those said delivery drivers on his electric bike the other day, not even looking ahead. He was too busy looking down at his phone at whatever ? Maps? He went through several red lights, skirted in and out of lanes like he was the only one on the road.
I can’t believe our council are spending all this money on cycling infrastructure for these morons!
Go to Leith Walk in the evening and you'll see this every couple of minutes.

One of my bug bears is there's big arrows on the cycle paths showing which way to go. Probably ignored by about a third of cyclists. Imagine if cars did that!

Getting back to educating cyclists. The one thing you should never ever do as a cyclist is pass a lorry on the inside, especially when it’s turning, same applies to any large vehicle.

There was a lady killed last year or the year before down at Portobello road were it joins Sir Harry Lauder Road.
The lady tried to undertake a lorry on the inside whilst he was turning the corner and I don’t have to go into detail about what happened next. So so sad.

The councils answer was to make that particular junction a no left turn for HGV vehicles and closed the slip off completely making it a hard left turn from the main junction.
Absolutely bonkers decision.
HGV’s now have to drive up Portobello Road and turn past Scotties bar and along Northfield Broadway ( past a primary school ) hence the new huge speed bumps put all the way along ( 13 of them ) at what cost I don’t know?
The HGV’s then have to pass another busy junction at Duddingston crossroads that’s normally busy with kids going to either Holyrood or St John’s and then further up the road they pass yet another school ( Porty High School ) if they want to get back onto the A1.

Now that’s complete madness!

In Edinburgh they’re aiming to make it so you can’t drive through the city centre to get to other side of town…. Madness.. so they’re deliberately making people drive further in town to get to where they want to go, so not only adding to the emissions they are creating Jams elsewhere…. So we can all guess what happens with the fines they bring in!!!
“Oh these streets are now suffering air pollution so we’ll extend LEZ into there”
Creating problems to hit the motorists with the excuse of traffic jams….. that they cause..
Edinburgh has been aiming for this for years.. they want an empty city centre of cars, to the huge detriment of shops, pubs, restaurants etc needing deliveries, add in the fact Edinburgh is a very hilly city, they are literally “aff their heeds”
Aye but the tourists will get 'clean air' Stu.

The schemes will get double the traffic.

How did we get from LEZs (which pretty much all my last 5 cars would pass) to the usual tropes bashing cyclists? I'm a regular cyclist and car driver (as are approx 80% of adult cyclists) and I consider the endemic speeding by motorists to be a bigger danger than Deliverloonies jumping red lights.

That’s great to hear but with a high percentage of cyclists who work for delivery companies coming from overseas, I’d question if any of them would even know what the Highway Code actually is.

I bet lots of accidents they cause is due to drivers having to swerve ti avoid then said driver would post the cost literally as there would be no insurance.
Surely anything with power on the roads must n be made to have road insurance?
Yet another cost to the motorist. Why when most of the time, driving is a necessity, not a fun drive, are the drivers persecuted at every angle for going about their daily business?
Edinburgh is so anti car you’d think idiots like Scott Arthur is quietly pulling his wire over the pain, financially and frustrations, he causes.
In the end his schemes do nothing but cause chaos with fruitloop ideas to save the world but kill businesses

How did we get from LEZs (which pretty much all my last 5 cars would pass) to the usual tropes bashing cyclists? I'm a regular cyclist and car driver (as are approx 80% of adult cyclists) and I consider the endemic speeding by motorists to be a bigger danger than Deliverloonies jumping red lights.
My cars as well, that’s bully for us.,
but lots small business in the trades etc don’t!
Seriously?
Daytime, where can you speed in Edinburgh? 🤣🤣🤣

I had to slam on the brakes when a cyclist ran straight through a red light the other day, if i hadn’t he’d be dead!!
Also, if i crashed who would’ve covered the cost as he cycles away?
The reason it’s went to “cyclists” is simple, the council spending millions of £’s for them, yet the roads are so dangerous and costly for cars, who pay through the nose for the “torture” of it, tax, vat, mot, insurance!
Maybe if so many “delivery” cyclists as well as the regular , not all of them, had to insurance for start, then things might change.
I have absolutely nothing against cyclists, but these days there are far too many idiotic cyclists who wouldn’t give a shit if they caused a crash, just cycle away with zero comeback.
Don’t even start me on these junkies on their wee electric scooters 🙈😡😡😡

The cyclists that get on my tits are the ones who cause tailbacks on the main road when there's a fucking cycle track right next to the road but the fuckers are on the main carriageway.

A combination of shops closing, bus gates and LEZ making the centre less convenient or desirable to visit. But like Edinburgh, the powers that be don’t seem bothered.
They only want the tourists, their revenue and the services to support them.

Citizens of Edinburgh are secondary in particular those who need accessibly.

The 'millions' being spent on cyclists is a nice soundbite but is a drop in the ocean compared to road spending e.g. the £120 Million upgrade of the Sheriffhall Roundabout, the £7 Billion project to dual the A9, even the £1.5 Billion Edinburgh trams. Also given how much they charge I'm sure most tradies could spring to buying a newer van that's compliant given it's a vital business expense- might even reduce the fumes being belched out by 20 yr old white transits getting ragged around Edinburgh in 2nd gear all the time!

The cyclists that get on my tits are the ones who cause tailbacks on the main road when there's a fucking cycle track right next to the road but the fuckers are on the main carriageway.
I’m a keen cyclist and our town bypass has a well-surfaced foot/cycle path alongside it for about 3 miles - in fact the surface is much better than the road - yet I keep passing one guy in particular, often battling the wind, with a queue of cars and lorries behind him. It’s as if he’s saying “F*** you” to the motorists when there’s no need.

The 'millions' being spent on cyclists is a nice soundbite but is a drop in the ocean compared to road spending e.g. the £120 Million upgrade of the Sheriffhall Roundabout, the £7 Billion project to dual the A9, even the £1.5 Billion Edinburgh trams. Also given how much they charge I'm sure most tradies could spring to buying a newer van that's compliant given it's a vital business expense- might even reduce the fumes being belched out by 20 yr old white transits getting ragged around Edinburgh in 2nd gear all the time!
😳
Have you seen the price of materials lately?
Guys in the trade work hard, if anything trades need paid more..
Lots overheads and costs to be in the building game..
I wouldnt advise anyone to go into it.

I came out of Dalmeny Street last winter on to Leith Walk, it's dark and I had to stop to give way when this cyclist with no lights on his bike and wearing dark clothes came down the road, tried to brake, and almost went over my bonnet. At least he had the good grace to apologise but if I'd been moving forward he'd have been under my wheels and I'd have got the blame.

Lets be honest. All this shitshow going on with the roads and cycle lanes in Edinburgh is payback for not voting in a congestion charge. Petty and vindictive pricks.
Exactly, i remember saying at the time that the idiots in the council will look to f*** the city over for daring to go against their ill intended money making scheme

The referendum on the Congestion charge was in 2005.

This isn’t just an Edinburgh thing,Roads are closing,LEZ and Cycle lanes in every major city in the UK and Europe.
World is changing wether we like it or not

The referendum on the Congestion charge was in 2005.
I know… 🤷‍♂️
They have been slowly but surely adding to the nonsense…. Some hair brained schemes, nearly all making it harder and harder to navigate through the town. At the same time, making folk having to drive further to get to their destination… that’s really good for the air pollution 😼

Maybe they’ll expand the Edinburgh one soon on the back of this
Got any figures for Edinburghs "air polution"? Think St Johns road is a mair right enough. We are next to the sea also. This gives us wind.

The population of London is reaching fecking 10,000,000. Comparing any city in Scotland to london is ludicrous.

Get cyclists tae fuck

Got any figures for Edinburghs "air polution"? Think St Johns road is a mair right enough. We are next to the sea also. This gives us wind.

The population of London is reaching fecking 10,000,000. Comparing any city in Scotland to london is ludicrous.

Get cyclists tae fuck
London also has the tube. You really don't need a car in London

Good point. Then again, if i was a lahhhndoner i might want to visit pals or relatives who dinnae stay in london, or go a holiday somewhere else in England for example

Naturally. Indeed a man such as yourself would surely need a vehicle capable of supporting a variety of adventures and bold exploration.

But you don't need it for getting about town down there. Edinburgh's bus service is excellent but it simply doesn't compare

Get cyclists tae fuck
Na,I’m no that fussed tbh but it’s inevitable that it’ll happen because most parties are in favour and there's too many cars coming into Edin from out of town ruining our beautiful roads and poisoning folk.
Anything that means my bus gets quicker is a good thing too imo