Edinburgh zoo

Fauldhoose

We took our Connor and granddaughter to Edinburgh zoo last week, had been a few years since we were last there and I (we) were pretty disappointed, lot of empty cages and many of the big attraction animals, giraffe hippos big cats wolfs etc were posted missing, the was pandas but we could not get to see them. Anyone else been?

also as you get older the hill gets steeper :group:

Edinburgh Zoo don't have a lot of the African "big 5" any more - they made the decision on the basis of cost, conservation and animal welfare. An elephant so bored it shows stereotypical behaviours is cruel. Places like Prague Zoo specialise in elephants now - anyone ever over there should go and visit, an amazing facility. Giraffes have been away from Edinburgh for a wee while for similar reasons. Polar bears were moved to the Highland Wildlife Park for the same, ditto the wolves. The facilities for those animals up there are excellent. Well worth the trip :thumbgrin

The "main draws" at the zoo these days are the Pandas, the chimps (Budongo Trail is excellent?) and the koalas and meerkats. And the penguins still draw people. It is where the money is made to undertake the conservation of the less "sexy" species they also house.

Zoos have changed from being a Victorian-born place to go look at the animals to places driven by conservation and research - so the emphasis and our own childhood experiences are very different. Not that seeing a pacing, demented polar bear or elephant was ever much fun.

:hmmm

Blair Drummond Safari Park is a much better day out imo. Can get free tickets for the Zoo through my work, never bothered getting them.

I have a yearly pass so I can take my young Daughter but it's not what it used to be and not worth the entry fee. The yearly pass however is cracking, cone and go as you please for 4 odds a month. Always fancied Highland Wildlife Centre, might take a trip.I far prefer the five sisters zoo.

The yearly pass however is cracking, cone and go as you please for 4 odds a month. Always fancied Highland Wildlife Centre, might take a trip..

You'll get in free with your RZSS annual pass. Well worth the trip if you can spare the time :thumbgrin

Edinburgh Zoo don't have a lot of the African "big 5" any more - they made the decision on the basis of cost, conservation and animal welfare. An elephant so bored it shows stereotypical behaviours is cruel. Places like Prague Zoo specialise in elephants now - anyone ever over there should go and visit, an amazing facility. Giraffes have been away from Edinburgh for a wee while for similar reasons. Polar bears were moved to the Highland Wildlife Park for the same, ditto the wolves. The facilities for those animals up there are excellent. Well worth the trip :thumbgrin

The "main draws" at the zoo these days are the Pandas, the chimps (Budongo Trail is excellent?) and the koalas and meerkats. And the penguins still draw people. It is where the money is made to undertake the conservation of the less "sexy" species they also house.

Zoos have changed from being a Victorian-born place to go look at the animals to places driven by conservation and research - so the emphasis and our own childhood experiences are very different. Not that seeing a pacing, demented polar bear or elephant was ever much fun.

:hmmm

Agreed re: Highland Wildlife Park. We try to get there every year. Much more natural settings for the animals and never so busy that you can't get to see some of them. Went to Embra Zoo the day before the Cup Final last year and was very disappointed.

Dinnae go tae Gorgie zoo, it's only got 1 animal, a dug. It's a shitzu.
I'll get ma coat:sadwalk:

Went last year was pretty pish. Luckily the kids are that young they enjoyed it. Decided on blair drummond and deep sea world this year.

Both good choices bud, but unless yer loaded I would pack a healthy lunch and take some snacks and juice, both expensive when yer there :thumbgrin
Infact, Blair Drummond has the barbeque area which you can use, ideal if there is a few of ye going mate

Both good choices bud, but unless yer loaded I would pack a healthy lunch and take some snacks and juice, both expensive when yer there :thumbgrin
Infact, Blair Drummond has the barbeque area which you can use, ideal if there is a few of ye going mate

Cheers bud. Was at deep sea world 2 years ago and prices didn't seem too bad although I was earning a lot more than I am now so maybe a good shout :thumbgrin