SKII
Without going into the educational pros and cons...I wonder where the capacity is in secondary schools? Most schools in the secondary sector are full or near full too thanks to post-16s staying on in the largest numbers ever due to lack of prospects. Over 100 kids in many school's S6 years now - unheard of.
And, as the bottle neck moves up the problem just shifts...
Without going into the educational pros and cons...I wonder where the capacity is in secondary schools? Most schools in the secondary sector are full or near full too thanks to post-16s staying on in the largest numbers ever due to lack of prospects. Over 100 kids in many school's S6 years now - unheard of.
Spot on, deck chairs, Titanic and all that.
I saw a few days ago that the UK sent their kids to school a year or two before other 'civilised' western/European/developed countries.
The baw is ready tae bust, the political parties are just wondering on whose shift so they can allocate blame.
Nationally, the most severe shortage is in primary. It makes some sense to move this bubble up the where there is more capacity rather than spend money on new/extended schools which will then be under capacity in 10 years.

On the bright side, irs a good problem to have - more Bonnie Bairns is exactly what Scotland needs if it is to have a future.
To the problem at hand, is there still the imbalance with some schools half empty while the demand for faith schools is through the roof? If so, a partial answer may be to change the former into the latter and spread the load?
Wouldn't it make more sense to redraw catchment areas to relieve some of the hardest hit areas and stop this dumb practice of allowing parents to apply for schools outwith the areas they live in?
The article is about specifically about Edinburgh schools. The capacity is not there in many high schools due to an increase in pupils staying on to S6. There is certainly capacity in schools in Wester Hailes and Craigmillar but I don't think that's where they're thinking of housing these kids. And they don't have an over-capacity problem in the local primaries there.
Other than there has been a history of rise and fall in school populations in the past is there a specific reason you think these schools will be under capacity in 10 years time when Scotland's population is at its highest level ever and this is in main due to immigration - and an influx of young people of child bearing age?![]()
I know that this is talking about Primary schools, but I think there are circumstances when it makes sense to apply for schools outwith your catchment area. Firstly, there are 4 and a half years between my younger brother and I. If we had moved to a new catchment area when I was in P3, then my brother and I would been at different schools, and would have complicated things for my parents and for us.
Also, and I know we're talking about primary schools but still, my friend from primary school was like the scenario above, he moved just out of the catchment area (three doors to be exact) but still stayed on at our primary. Then, when it came to high school he found he was in the catchment for Boroughmuir and not Firrhill, where all of his friends were going. It seemed only natural that he apply to come to Firrhill also.
Kurt - average age of a first time mother is 29.5 so if your theory is correct id expect to jump up 30 year from th 0-4 spike and see a corresponding one; instead there is a dip