Early Opening Edinburgh Boozers

AndyM

Bouncers, I wonder if you can help.

I have a couple of mates coming over from Dublin for a stag do and they will be here early doors on Friday. They are looking for boozers that will be open early on. From my student days I remember a pub called the Penny Black that was open at 6am but its been a long time since then for me.......

Any recommendations for AM watering holes please ?:drinking::party40::beer_1_pr

I wouldn't necessarily "recommend" any of them...:lookaround:

I used to go to the Penny Black (or the Scotsman in Coburn St), many years ago for a beer ot two on my way home from nightshift, but not sure if it's still open early.

Graduated on to Tommy Youngers (as it was more local and used to open at 5am!) but it's now the Harp and Castle and doesn't open early.

Likewise the Boundary bar is now the City Limits and doesn't open and the Old Salt is now Priscillas.. and even if it was open I'd have to be pretty desperate to go in there!:Elephant:

If I'm tempted these days, it's the Brunswick in Elm Row that I go to, not sure just how early it opens these days though... I think JP's MAY open early (can anyone confirm?) .. and Stratfords in Gorgie may still be an early option (if you want to see how the other half live!)..

Early morning drinking can be an interesting experience, but bear in mind that your mates will likely end up smashed by lunchtime and may miss out on bevvying in the evening, when it's much more civilised :beer_1_pr (with non jakeys for company.. and possibly even some girlies on the razz that you can chase after!).. Edinburgh has a fair few watering holes that open late at night and IMHO this is a better time to be out and about than early mornings.:burp:

Penny Black is still open early, and fairly sure The Scotsman is too.

Aye, the Scotsman bar on Cockburn Street not the Hotel on the Bridges (just clarifying for Andy).

And the Phoenix (Broughton Street), the Vine Bar (continuation of Great Junction Street).

SG7nil; JP's opens earlyish but duznae sell booze 'til about 11am.

The Scotsman on Cockburn Street is usually a better shout than the Penny Black in my opinion.

Is that pub The Marksman on Duke Street still goin? Pretty sure that used to open at 5 or 6.

Marksman opens at 6am mon-fri and 9am sat.

Passed it this morning and there was a big notice to that effect on the window.

I'm sure Gladstones opened at 6am aswell, that may change with the new laws that have been brought in though:dunno:

I pass the Brunswick in elm row at about 7am each morning and its doing a roaring trade!!!

Was working in the Penny black today and can confirm it opens at 6am.

Still a hole of a pub though.

Was working in the Penny black today and can confirm it opens at 6am.

Still a hole of a pub though.

How's the new job going mate ?

Bank hotel 9am on a Sunday I thought it was 8am so had a good hour wait. Ohh I'm a stop oot lol place was rockin by 9.30 :rollfloor

The Volly on Leith Walk is open at 7am till the Balfour at 9 both of them are busier in the morning than they are at night.

So I just google searched 'pubs open 6am Edinburgh' and this thread appeared. Excellent. Couldn't let it go without moatying it. If any of you lovely folk are up, an up to date list of these boozers would be very handy, as I now contemplate a 2 hour wait for my next pint.

Otherwise, fuck the hearts.

I just remembered about this thread - in preparation for this weekend, does anyone have an up-to-date boozer that they know opens early on a Sunday?

Apologies for the (re)moatying.

I just remembered about this thread - in preparation for this weekend, does anyone have an up-to-date boozer that they know opens early on a Sunday?

Apologies for the (re)moatying.

What's happening Sunday, like?

Ha, I did say that as if there was some kind of public event happening huh! Sorry.

I have an event at the weekend Aggie and I know I'll most likely be up, along with a few friends. I failed the last time to find somewhere and it'd be good to get a heads up this time around. Done any early morning shifts recently? Google seems to think the Volley opens at 7 but it's an old post and not sure if it's still the case.

Ha, I did say that as if there was some kind of public event happening huh! Sorry.

I have an event at the weekend Aggie and I know I'll most likely be up, along with a few friends. I failed the last time to find somewhere and it'd be good to get a heads up this time around. Done any early morning shifts recently? Google seems to think the Volley opens at 7 but it's an old post and not sure if it's still the case.

Hehe. Well, I haven't done early morning drinking since my chemical days when it was the Walk Inn, Old Salt or another one which I think was called the Clan Tavern. All now sadly defunct or in other more "civilised" guises.

ZOK and Haruki are our resident early opening boozers, occasionally joined by Beefy.:rascal:

think its mostly just hotels, social club type places have a sunday morning early licence..

Hehe. Well, I haven't done early morning drinking since my chemical days when it was the Walk Inn, Old Salt or another one which I think was called the Clan Tavern. All now sadly defunct or in other more "civilised" guises.

Yeah that seems to be the case now eh? Sad times. The Penny Black was quite an experience, actually had some cracking sessions in there. Shame its gone too.

think its mostly just hotels, social club type places have a sunday morning early licence..

I didn't think about hotels right enough.. Further digging required. Ta

Murrayfield Hotel's new pub 'The Bothy' opens at 10 am.

Mibbes 'Dianes'? My mate was in there at 8am a couple o' days ago. Dunno about Sundays though?

Murrayfield Hotel's new pub 'The Bothy' opens at 10 am.

Mibbes 'Dianes'? My mate was in there at 8am a couple o' days ago. Dunno about Sundays though?

Ooh, that's jogged my memory. I was on a job a flat at Haymarket this summer, and that Spider's Web gaff seemed to be open well early.

The beer was howling though. :spew

Ooh, that's jogged my memory. I was on a job a flat at Haymarket this summer, and that Spider's Web gaff seemed to be open well early.

The beer was howling though. :spew

Aye, they sell McEwans lager... Boak!

I can update the list by saying Penny Black doesn't exist any more - arranged to meet someone there the other morning, thought the closing would be front page news.

Some amount of characters darkened they doors through the years.