Drink driving limits to be reduced in Scotland before Christmas

Stupid idea. Now means having 1 pint you cant drive.

Drunk drivers are surely well over them limit in most cases of accidents. Changing the limit is only going to punish people that had 1 pint or 2 shandies and were unlucky enough to be stopped.

"The latest estimates are that approximately one in 10 deaths on Scottish roads involve drivers who are over the legal limit.

Research has suggested that just one alcoholic drink before driving can make you three times as likely to be involved in a fatal car crash."

I'd have brought it down to Zero but apparently there's good reason not too.

Don't drink and drive.

"The latest estimates are that approximately one in 10 deaths on Scottish roads involve drivers who are over the legal limit.

Research has suggested that just one alcoholic drink before driving can make you three times as likely to be involved in a fatal car crash."

I'd have brought it down to Zero but apparently there's good reason not too.

The "good reason not to" may be so that it remains a good revenue stream.

However, speaking on BBC Radio Scotland, George Goldie from the Institute of Advanced Motorists, said he did not believe the change would improve road safety and he questioned the motivation behind it saying it would "increase income" gathered from fines.

He added: "We have very few statistics, if any, to show how many accidents are caused by people who are marginally over the limit. Most of the accidents are caused by people who are blatantly blitzed.

"I'm much more concerned about improving driving, as opposed to improving the one in 10. I am much, much more interested in improving the nine in 10."

According to UK-wide figures from the Department of Transport, there were an estimated 6,680 road accidents involving illegal alcohol levels in 2012, making drink driving a factor in 4% of all accidents.

I think Mr Goldie raises a very valid point. What is causing the other 96% of accidents ?

Don't drink and drive.

Sound advice.

Good move , even one drink is too much if your driving , about time , in fact i would prefer it at zero tolerance

Hope you don't consume many foods, mouthwash, other oral hygiene products and medication that contain traces of alcohol. And if you do, that you know.

I'll be honest I had one pint on Saturday and then had to shift the van. My head was cloudy. I can't really argue with the policy of reducing the limit, the timing is convenient as a revenue gathering measure though. What is absolutely needed though is clear and readily available guidelines as to when you are likely to be over the limit and when you are not simply as a safeguard for those who are over the limit from the night before. The government guidelines are befuddled at the moment.

Hope you don't consume many foods, mouthwash, other oral hygiene products and medication that contain traces of alcohol. And if you do, that you know.

Like most athletes have to do you mean ?? they manage , sometimes they get caught out and it gets passed as a one of , you learn , just dont drink and drive , be aware.

I'll be honest I had one pint on Saturday and then had to shift the van. My head was cloudy. I can't really argue with the policy of reducing the limit, the timing is convenient as a revenue gathering measure though. What is absolutely needed though is clear and readily available guidelines as to when you are likely to be over the limit and when you are not simply as a safeguard for those who are over the limit from the night before. The government guidelines are befuddled at the moment.

Just drink no alcohol , then you do not have to worry about guidelines , only them that risk it have to worry

There can never be a guaranteed hard and fast guideline. Whether you are over a limit will depend on your age, sex, weight, size of body and other factors unique to you. They can and only ever will give a rough guideline. What this change does is pretty much mean don't consume liquid alcohol and drive. It only allows for you really to be safe having used mouthwash and taken some cough mixture. This is pretty much a don't drink at all and drive measure.

Like most athletes have to do you mean ?? they manage , sometimes they get caught out and it gets passed as a one of , you learn , just dont drink and drive , be aware.

The point is you can never have a guaranteed zero alcohol in your body. I have explained in another post the problems people will face in even trying to judge this with having only half a pint. It isn't going to work.

Not sure what that has to do with athletes.

The point is you can never have a guaranteed zero alcohol in your body. I have explained in another post the problems people will face in even trying to judge this with having only half a pint. It isn't going to work.

Not sure what that has to do with athletes.

I have found that over the years the ones that argue are the ones that will take the risk , at the cost of others lives , the reason i mention athletes is many are scrutinized for drink and drugs and have to also watch what they take even in the way of medications of any kind and most manage.

My point was dont drink if you are driving and you have nothing to worry about whether a half put you over or not , if you cannot even get through life without a half, till you get home and the car is parked up nice and safe then you have something to worry about thats deeper than half a pint .

I'm sorry after losing family friends years ago to someone who thought , its only a little i'll be alright , i have no sympathy at all

Like most athletes have to do you mean ?? they manage , sometimes they get caught out and it gets passed as a one of , you learn , just dont drink and drive , be aware.- - - Updated - - -Just drink no alcohol , then you do not have to worry about guidelines , only them that risk it have to worry
So if I never drink alcohol again ever in my life I'll be fine? Thanks for that! Clearly if there is a limit in force there what that limit is likely to be should be made available. I understand that it can be different for each individual but there are factors that can be calculated to help people decide for themselves. If I had 4 pints last night, finished at 10pm and drive at 10am the next day am I still over the limit? Am I the spawn of the devil if I do? Should I have the information available to make the decision? Or, again, should I just never drink again for eternity just to make sure? A driving license or a bottle of Rioja? That sort of thing.

I have found that over the years the ones that argue are the ones that will take the risk , at the cost of others lives , the reason i mention athletes is many are scrutinized for drink and drugs and have to also watch what they take even in the way of medications of any kind and most manage. My point was dont drink if you are driving and you have nothing to worry about whether a half put you over or not , if you cannot even get through life without a half, till you get home and the car is parked up nice and safe then you have something to worry about thats deeper than half a pint .I'm sorry after losing family friends years ago to someone who thought , its only a little i'll be alright , i have no sympathy at all
I'm sorry that you lost someone to drink-driving, it's such a waste in that it is wholly avoidable. I don't argue from the standpoint of someone who is happy to risk it. I absolutely don't and that is why I'm happy with the new limit. What I don't think is fair though, is those that are inadvertently over the limit and are done for it. Information is the key here, them there can be no excuses and no arguments.

So if I never drink alcohol again ever in my life I'll be fine? Thanks for that! Clearly if there is a limit in force there what that limit is likely to be should be made available. I understand that it can be different for each individual but there are factors that can be calculated to help people decide for themselves. If I had 4 pints last night, finished at 10pm and drive at 10am the next day am I still over the limit? Am I the spawn of the devil if I do? Should I have the information available to make the decision? Or, again, should I just never drink again for eternity just to make sure? A driving license or a bottle of Rioja? That sort of thing.

I am not saying that, and for you to take that away from such an important subject as this i am surprised , the no limit is just my wish , as its not, feel free to use your mouthwashes etc to your hearts content , but if you choose to risk a half and hope it does not put you over ,because you have been overdoing the mouthwash then thats your choice and i truly hope no harm comes to you or your family .

I'm sorry that you lost someone to drink-driving, it's such a waste in that it is wholly avoidable. I don't argue from the standpoint of someone who is happy to risk it. I absolutely don't and that is why I'm happy with the new limit. What I don't think is fair though, is those that are inadvertently over the limit and are done for it. Information is the key here, them there can be no excuses and no arguments.

Good point if it was reduced to zero , again ,only my wish, i am sure people would adapt , as its not then its only a what if scenario

I'm sorry after losing family friends years ago to someone who thought , its only a little i'll be alright , i have no sympathy at all

If you think implementation of this law will make the roads any safer, you are grossly mistaken.

It takes, on average, about one hour for your body to break down one unit of alcohol. So, if you know what the units are in the drink of your choice and multiply that by the total number of drinks (and be sure of the measures) you can in theory work it out.

4 pints of average beer would contain 2 units for lager, 3 units for stronger pint. So 8 hours or 12 hours on average for your system to be clear. A bottle of wine is 9-10 units - so again 9 to 10 hours. Super strength beers are 4 units - so 4 of those would take 16 hours to clear your system. Large glass of red wine is 3 units...and so on.

This is actually in both the biology and chemistry syllabus for secondary pupils and is also covered in PSE lessons. So hopefully increasing numbers of young people will remember that they can work this out and remember how to access the information about the content of each type of drink in order to make their calculations.

Good point if it was reduced to zero , again ,only my wish, i am sure people would adapt , as its not then its only a what if scenario

Reduce it to zero and people won't be able to use mouthwash and drive. Or take cough meds. That's the point.

Good move.

now, how can we hammer all the pricks on their mobiles phones while they drive ?? It not big and its not clever. Those who insist on doing it are pricks.

4 pints of average beer would contain 2 units for lager,

Not debating your other points J but this is a common error that people make. I know this from working for an addiction service. A pint of lager/bitter has to be of a mere maximum 3.5% strength to measure only 2 units. That strength is wholly atypical of what we see served on draft in pubs. See the following:

Pt Carlsberg 3.8% - 2.2 units

Pt Carling 4.0% - 2.3 units

Pt Coors Light 4.5% - 2.6 units

Pt Stella Artois 4.8% - 2.7 units

Pt Peroni Nastro Azzurro 5.1% - 2.9%

Source: Drinkaware

If you think implementation of this law will make the roads any safer, you are grossly mistaken.

I do not disagree with you , for there will always be arseholes who dont give a flying one what state they are in when they get behind the wheel , but its at least a start

Not debating your other points J but this is a common error that people make. I know this from working for an addiction service. A pint of lager/bitter has to be of a mere maximum 3.5% strength to measure only 2 units. That strength is wholly atypical of what we see served on draft in pubs. See the following:

Pt Carlsberg 3.8% - 2.2 units

Pt Carling 4.0% - 2.3 units

Pt Coors Light 4.5% - 2.6 units

Pt Stella Artois 4.8% - 2.7 units

Pt Peroni Nastro Azzurro 5.1% - 2.9%

Source: Drinkaware

Was rounding down Stu for the likes of the 3.5-4% beers and I did cover my erky by mentioning there are beers which are closer to 3 units but you're spot on. The Drinkaware website is the one kids are advised to use. :thumbgrin

Reduce it to zero and people won't be able to use mouthwash and drive. Or take cough meds. That's the point.

Again it is only my wish for zero , i do not believe that is what it has been taken down to , so feel safe in the knowledge that you can swill your mouthwash and meds to your hearts content.

More than happy to leave you with your never-going-to-happen wish :thumbgrin

Was rounding down Stu for the likes of the 3.5-4% beers and I did cover my erky by mentioning there are beers which are closer to 3 units but you're spot on. The Drinkaware website is the one kids are advised to use. :thumbgrin

Yes I know :thumbgrin I think my point, probably not very well made, is that very few people drink pints of lager of 3.5% strength these days. The nature of the choice available has changed and strength (and expectations of strength) of beer has changed over the years. To this end there are many out there driving after 'a couple of pints making 4 units' imagining that they are legal but probably aren't. It's interesting that we saw the drinks trade respond to the trend of growing strength of beers by producing lesser strength products such as Stella 4% and Beck Vier - both less potent than their 'big brothers'.

I think there are many good things about the advice Drinkaware give and I like their ready reckoner online tool/phone app which are both excellent as diary keepers but their guidelines to cutting down tend to be a bit rigid for some people trying to decrease their alcohol intake and I have found with clients this can be a little discouraging and can be counter-productive. Anyway, that's another issue! :)

It takes, on average, about one hour for your body to break down one unit of alcohol. So, if you know what the units are in the drink of your choice and multiply that by the total number of drinks (and be sure of the measures) you can in theory work it out.

4 pints of average beer would contain 2 units for lager, 3 units for stronger pint. So 8 hours or 12 hours on average for your system to be clear. A bottle of wine is 9-10 units - so again 9 to 10 hours. Super strength beers are 4 units - so 4 of those would take 16 hours to clear your system. Large glass of red wine is 3 units...and so on.

This is actually in both the biology and chemistry syllabus for secondary pupils and is also covered in PSE lessons. So hopefully increasing numbers of young people will remember that they can work this out and remember how to access the information about the content of each type of drink in order to make their calculations.

I was going to reply to [MENTION=12031]Shades[/MENTION] and simply say you're talking shit :wink: [re the 4 pints by ten oclock/driving at 10 a.m. vibe] but you beat me to it :wink: You should take in to account that you wouldn't be guzzling the 4 pints at 10 oclock and it's quite likely that by the time you got to pint 4 you would have already lost a unit, perhaps 2 units of the alcohol you had consumed. Call it a head start :Sparkle_Cool:

I do not disagree with you , for there will always be arseholes who dont give a flying one what state they are in when they get behind the wheel , but its at least a start

You contradict yourself. You agree the new law won't make a difference to road safety and yet you say it's a start. A start to what ?

I'm glad the limits been brought down.
if you don't want to get done, don't drink (even 1) and drive.

If you've had a drink the night before, don't drive the next day. Simples.
50mg you continue on your way but 51 gets you done. How can such a small difference be such a big deal?

I'm glad the limits been brought down.if you don't want to get done, don't drink (even 1) and drive.If you've had a drink the night before, don't drive the next day. Simples.
So don't go to work if I've had a glass of wine with dinner the night before?

I feel some sympathy for those caught the morning after now and will be the same when the new limit comes in.

As others have said there are too many factors there to work out how well the body recovers and while you might feel fine, or really good, it would be dead easy to be over the limit.

There are breathalyser machines available for less than 50 that will give an indication, obviously not as accurate as the police machines. I might have to get a battery for mine :-)

No sympathy for folk who get done at the time. For those done more than once I'd be brutal, just take their licence away.

I once interviewed a guy who had been done 5 (five) times! It was only on the 5th occasion he was jailed and then only for 3 months.

At present 81mg will see you get done whereas 80mg won't so i'm not sure what your point is about the limit being lowered.- - - Updated - - -Sorry I didn't phrase that particularly well. When I say a drink the night before, no I don't mean 1 drink, I mean a fair few.So if you're going out on the lash on a Friday/Saturday/Sunday night then yes, you shouldn't drive the next day.
For years anything up to 80 and you'd be on your way suddenly they decide to change the law and create criminals of anything above 50. The ones you read about being 4 or 5 times the limit will still be that, although now 8 or 10 times. How much carnage is caused by drivers in the 50-80 band for this to be such a concern that a change in the law is required? Other areas of potentially dangerous driving would be a better target.

Yep, I would ban women doing their make up whilst driving before decreased the limit to 50 mg. Look out for it while you drive to work in the morning, there will be at least one woman putting on make-up while driving, some [not just women now] will be blethering on non hands free phones and perhaps drinking that essential morning cuppa.

I realise that all governments need to be seen to be doing something occassionaly but I'm not overly convinced that lowering the limit is the way to go. I don't give a fukk how sanctimonious someone wants to be on this matter but your average joe is not going to be drunk enough on one pint so as to not be in proper control of a vehicle.

Yep, I would ban women doing their make up whilst driving before decreased the limit to 50 mg. Look out for it while you drive to work in the morning, there will be at least one woman putting on make-up while driving, some [not just women now] will be blethering on non hands free phones and perhaps drinking that essential morning cuppa.

I realise that all governments need to be seen to be doing something occassionaly but I'm not overly convinced that lowering the limit is the way to go. I don't give a fukk how sanctimonious someone wants to be on this matter but your average joe is not going to be drunk enough on one pint so as to not be in proper control of a vehicle.

If you know your going to be driving next day , just dont drink , its not that hard. The excuses drink drivers make is disgraceful , i would like to know what Beagle thinks about the limits, and the drink dependant people on here crying because they cannot get a drink , sad , i have not found any meds that will give a positive breath test either so no to the meds excuse , and really how bad is your breath if your drinking mouthwash of the quantity for it to show up ???? Its dead easy drink and drive and pay the penalty , hopefully with your life and not some poor innocent bystander, for anybody on meds that worried , most would have their meds on them anyway so just give them to the police if quizzed. ok some on here argue that size ,weight etc need taken into consideration , but here is the easy solution DONT DRINK AND DRIVE .FULL STOP

If by any chance you have taken sufficient mouthwash or meds , you are by law given a 20 minute period from taking anything before you are put on the evidential at the station

If you know your going to be driving next day , just dont drink , its not that hard. The excuses drink drivers make is disgraceful , i would like to know what Beagle thinks about the limits, and the drink dependant people on here crying because they cannot get a drink , sad , i have not found any meds that will give a positive breath test either so no to the meds excuse , and really how bad is your breath if your drinking mouthwash of the quantity for it to show up ???? Its dead easy drink and drive and pay the penalty , hopefully with your life and not some poor innocent bystander, for anybody on meds that worried , most would have their meds on them anyway so just give them to the police if quizzed. ok some on here argue that size ,weight etc need taken into consideration , but here is the easy solution DONT DRINK AND DRIVE .FULL STOP

If by any chance you have taken sufficient mouthwash or meds , you are by law given a 20 minute period from taking anything before you are put on the evidential at the station

Just shit stirring here, but hopefully in a positive way, and not aimed at you.

The authorities are very careful when giving stats to say drink was a factor in x% of [road] accidents. What they don't say and are careful to avoid is saying in how many of these the driver was under the limit but the victim would have been over the limit.

Is there a case for pedestrians to stay within certain alcohol limits in the same way drivers are now?

If you know your going to be driving next day , just dont drink , its not that hard. The excuses drink drivers make is disgraceful , i would like to know what Beagle thinks about the limits, and the drink dependant people on here crying because they cannot get a drink , sad ,

Who has done that on here?

i have not found any meds that will give a positive breath test either so no to the meds excuse , and really how bad is your breath if your drinking mouthwash of the quantity for it to show up ????

What do you mean "give a positive breath test"? What was the threshold you used to determine that nothing gives a positive breath test? What are your analytical limits? What technique did you use? As a graduate chemist with over 20 years experience as a chemical analyst I'm very interested in this statement. Listerine, in normal amounts shows up on a breathalyser. At the moment that would not be over the limit. At the new limit, it would not be over the limit but at a ZERO limit it would take someone over the limit. What a waste of resources and time it would be for every false positive under a ZERO limit regime. The new limit pretty much means you can't drink and drive at all - which is what you want - but also means people are not wasting their time dealing with things that are not drink-driving situations. Ventolin inhalers for asthma can give false positives for alcohol. Not an issue at the 50 limit, would be a needless issue at a zero limit.

Not necessary under the new proposed limits though. What a jolly sensible approach.

Sorry but there is some pish being bleated about here. Factual sure, but actual, sod off!

Here is an example: Personally, I like a wee Stella after work. At home.

I`ll have 4 cans, and be done by 8 p.m.

I`m driving at 7 a.m. next day, and am perfectly sober. In fact, I have NEVER in my life even had one penalty point, and have 17 years no claims. (my one claim was due to someone nicking my car way back)

So under the new law, I`ll be a criminal. And in the minds of some, a fucking lunatic who should never be allowed to drive again.

Sorry, but I find this ridiculous and insulting, and think some sense has to be applied to allow some normality into this thread.

If I`m ever in doubt, had a couple more, then I`ll take a taxi. But given the above holy brigade attitude above, I will be getting invited to Central Taxi`s Christmas night out.

Will I still be able to post from my dungeon?

On the spot Lyon Alcometers are calibrated to give a
Green (no alcohol) display - nae moothwash? Ya clarty bassa
Amber (alcohol present) display - nice teeth or reeking the night before?
Red (possibly over the limit) display - You're nicked sunshine

If it's green you're in the clear and it's cheerio.
Amber? You'll get a fright at how close you're alcohol consumption has taken you to the legal limit, and dinnae try to kid anyone you've got the latest super listerine.
Red. It's arrested (purely a technical matter in reality) and it's down to the custody centre for a couple of shots on an intoximeter machine. This is as accurate as it gets. The lower reading is the one that either nails you or puts you in the clear.
If there's any dubiety with the breath analysis at any point, then a doctor gets called out and blood will be taken unless there is a medical reason not to (ie haemophilia). There is no fooling the lab result here and no matter the time delay, from initial arrest to the blood sample being taken, it can be back calculated to establish whether the person was in excess of the limit when they were alleged to have been driving.
There are no grey areas with the legislative procedures in the investigation of drink driving.
As for the changes in limits, whilst it will save a relatively small amount of drink related road accidents, I see it as yet another cynical back door method to drain peoples pockets to help reduce the UK deficit. It's the same with speed cameras. Up until fairly recently, a leeway was allowed before you got a speeding fine because vehicle speedometers are not calibrated and are therefore inaccurate to 10%. This was translated to a 10mph allowance. This was until someone decided that the government weren't making enough money and it was changed to zero leeway, so now you'll get shafted for 31 in a 30.

It's the same with speed cameras. Up until fairly recently, a leeway was allowed before you got a speeding fine because vehicle speedometers are not calibrated and are therefore inaccurate to 10%. This was translated to a 10mph allowance. This was until someone decided that the government weren't making enough money and it was changed to zero leeway, so now you'll get shafted for 31 in a 30.

I always knew there was a slight leeway to allow for the fact that the speedometers are not 100% reliable to the exact mph (and not calibrated). Hadn't realised it had been changed. It raises the question of margins of error on your speedo in your car. If it is not right, in that it underestimates your speed and you think you are driving legally but could well be doing 1 mph over the limit without even knowing...yer done? What about the margins of error of the actual speed camera too.

Did they publicise this Beagle?

Oooyah. I always knew there was a slight leeway to allow for the fact that the speedometers are not 100% reliable to the exact mph (and not calibrated). Hadn't realised it had been changed. It raises the question of margins of error on your speedo in your car. If it is not right, in that it underestimates your speed and you think you are driving legally but could well be doing 1 mph over the limit without even knowing...yer done? What about the margins of error of the actual speed camera too.

Did they publicise this Beagle?

The speed cameras are digitally calibrated so are accurate to an atomic scale . It's never been made public, I only found out to my own cost when I got the fine in the post from a mobile safety camera unit for doing 32 in a 30. When I questioned the 10% leeway with the local traffic inspector he told me it had been removed so that the government could rake in more fines. This is also why you will notice that 'safety' camera mobile units, or static Gatso type cameras, are never deployed in accident black spot areas but are on straight roads where there is no apparent need for a reduced speed limit.

You are awright for a Rozza, dude.

Have some rep. :thumbgrin

If you gonna drink and drive dont. Take your cycle instead. Get hammered and cycle home. And of course when you hit a moving car you can claim you armani suit you had on till yer hearts content from the poor innocent motorist !!!

You are aware there is legislation regarding being drunk whilst cycling?

Actually, the funniest one I ever saw is a guy in Bathgate who got done for drink driving again. He reverted to using his horse and cart to get about as he didn't need a driving licence for it and it had the added bonus of when he went down town for a bevvy, the horse knew the way home again when he inevitably got wrecked again.:rollfloor

You are awright for a Rozza, dude.

Have some rep. :thumbgrin

Cheers ZH. Having 234 days to retirement helps too

You are aware there is legislation regarding being drunk whilst cycling?

Actually, the funniest one I ever saw is a guy in Bathgate who got done for drink driving again. He reverted to using his horse and cart to get about as he didn't need a driving licence for it and it had the added bonus of when he went down town for a bevvy, the horse knew the way home again when he inevitably got wrecked again.:rollfloor

Cheers ZH. Having 234 days to retirement helps too

Aye, yesterday you were a right bastard :coffee:

:wink: